Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail the master....
Little is known about A J Quinnell, although many tend to speculate about his origins. I like to concentrate on the fact the man writes a damn good book. His characters, Creasy, Michael, Maxie MacDonald, The Owl, etc are all three dimensional and you feel like you are taking a journey right beside them; jointly exploring the depths of their experiences and emotions. If I...
Published on 18 Jun. 2005 by tpbw123

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Africa to Hong Kong
Disappointing and predictable plot. Especially after Man on Fire. The characters are superficial and the action scenes are cursory. The main character Creasy is a shadow of his former self and the others have little substance to them. A let down.
Published 17 months ago by HP


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail the master...., 18 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Black Horn (Paperback)
Little is known about A J Quinnell, although many tend to speculate about his origins. I like to concentrate on the fact the man writes a damn good book. His characters, Creasy, Michael, Maxie MacDonald, The Owl, etc are all three dimensional and you feel like you are taking a journey right beside them; jointly exploring the depths of their experiences and emotions. If I have one (slight!) criticism of the great man, it is that he tends to repeat the life history of some of his characters; OK if you are discovering Quinnell and Creasy for the first time, less so if like me you treasure all his books.
This, the fourth novel about the ex-mercenary, sees Creasy drawn into a web of murder and smuggling in Africa and the orient, ultimately pitted against a Triad gang. There are one or two genuine surprises along the way and a real shock for devoted Creasy followers. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Creasy's back, 23 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: Black Horn (Paperback)
In Black Horn, the story starts with the assassinations of a man and young woman, then the killings spill out all the way to Hong Kong in graphic detail. Creasy gets involved when the Mother of the dead woman asks a friend for a reliable man to hunt down and deal with those responsible for the killing, after which Creasy gathers some old friends of his and his Adopted Son, forms a team and goes hunting, while barely able to tolerate his "Paymaster" who is trying to micromanage the entire Operation. Of course, this being Creasy, it turns out what he and his have gotten involved in is much bigger than they first imagined... A welcome return for my favourite ex-Soldier and Mercenary, Creasy set the standard for tough and resourceful characters twenty-five years ago and stills blows character's like Lee Child's Jack Reacher out of the water in comparison. The story is, as always, intelligent, twisted, violent and filled with characters you always want to get to know better. A J Quinnell never wrote a dull book and his Creasy novels are, in my opinion, often examples of his best work. If you like thrillers and tough hero's with stories that you'll end up reading in a single day just to find out what happens at the end? Stop reading this Review and start reading A J Quinnell's books right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Africa to Hong Kong, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Horn (A Creasy novel Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Disappointing and predictable plot. Especially after Man on Fire. The characters are superficial and the action scenes are cursory. The main character Creasy is a shadow of his former self and the others have little substance to them. A let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent thriller, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Horn (A Creasy novel Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
a very good thriller that keeps you on the edge of your seat right to the end. I thoroughly enjoyed the description of African bush. However I was disappointed at the end that Creasy was not more careful as he was usually so very careful and his girl got into trouble. I thought this was unnecessary and uncharacteristic of him. I was also sad that he got rid of Michael which I thought was a pity. Otherwise definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Horn (A Creasy novel Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I cannot stop with this series of A J Quinnell books. Each one is as gritty and unputdownable as the next. Each book can be read independently but understanding the characters for me adds to the addiction. There's a subtle mix of romance, humour added in but predominately they grip you into Creasy's mind and the reason for his actions in a gritty action packed read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Read, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Horn (A Creasy novel Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I will forever link these stories about Creasey to the barnstorming performance by Denzil Washington in Man on Fire.
He perfectly inhabited the persona and all the way through this storey (despite the different ethnicity) I held the image of that tough but vulnerable individual in my head. I promise you won't be wasting your money if you buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific book and I want more, 10 April 2014
By 
Mr. S. A. Dugdill (Merseyside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Horn (A Creasy novel Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed the character of Marcus Creasy and the various situations he and his friends get in to. I've managed to read all of the Creasy books and its a shame there won't be more. As adventure films they could have been a great franchise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Fourth 'Creasy' Novel, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Horn (Hardcover)
Not as good as Quinnell's first three, but still a great read. Quinnell does a wonderful job of character development and his story lines are will thought-out. I would also hightly recommend "Man on Fire" and "The Blue Ring."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a great story teller with plenty of action and his characters ..., 18 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Horn (A Creasy novel Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Such a great story teller with plenty of action and his characters are strong. Loved all of his books that I have read. Plenty of heroic action and Creasy always seems to triumph over evil. Keep on writing Mr Quinnell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I read this through to the end because the plotting ..., 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Horn (A Creasy novel Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I read this through to the end because the plotting is strong but unfortunately the characters are thin and clichéd and the writing uninspired. I won't be investigating this author's work further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Horn (A Creasy novel Book 4)
£5.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews