Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars58
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2013
Well - written and well - directed. Worth every penny! Truly there is something rotten in the state of world economics and the DVD goes a long way to diagnosing the disease. The experts interviewed were no mean men! What came out of it for me is that the crisis is more than an economic one, but a moral one too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2012
There are two big lies around at the moment. One is that there is no via alternative to free market capitalism; and the second is that everything is under control. The film primarily tackles the second lie. Things are not under control, and the people in charge do not understand this. This documentary follows in the footsteps of Chomsky's Manufacturing Consent and indeed features Chomsky.

A series of experts indicts free market capitalism from a number of points of view, and the films weaves this into a narrative. And yet most of the commentators are capitalists. The alternative is not socialism, it is another form of capitalism.

The director invokes the symbols of the Apocalypse which might seem like hyperbole, but once you've seen the film I'm sure you will agree that the signs are ominous. The present crisis is likely to be a prelude to much greater chaos unless we act decisively to change the way we do business.

The first lie is tackled more in the book that accompanies the film: Four Horsemen: The Survival Manual. This outlines the problems more analytically and suggests a program for change.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
Went through a big hassle breaking into, re-writing the code and burning it onto another DVD so that we could watch it on our American DVD player. After that was done, loved it. Would have given 5 out of 5 but wished this would have been posted prior to purchase.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
I loved this political documentary. It was well put together - clear, succinct and intelligent.

I would highly recommend to anyone who wants to understand what is really happening globally from a political perspective!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
Not whistles and bells, but informative - if like me you don't understand economics or the current unending crisis. Contains some popular well known figures - don't regret purchasing it. Necessary viewing really.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
Not for the faint-hearted, this documentary discusses a wealth of factors behind the current economic shambles. Expertly put together, I would recommend anyone interested in he subject to watch this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
As stated there "This film is such a thorough and well presented look at the current world situation and what to do about it that I have been fired up to talk about it and get it seen by as many people as I can. It is well balanced and well paced. The book is also excellent and fills in some of the holes. For example the film seems to imply that the returning to the gold standard would be a good thing but the book makes it plain that this is not what is being advocated.
Buy it, watch it, show it to your friends."
I would also add that it is very easy to follow and understand. The extras are also worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
It was stolen from you - you are presently suffering because of what this film reveals. So, EDUCATE yourself more in just an hour or so than you were done in all of your schooling. A must see if you want to understand the lies and the biggest theft in history - a heist from you!
Don't let the title put you off. This is nothing to do with Biblical end-times; no eschatology nor religion here, just plain common sense education - dynamite!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
This is a well put together film about the financial crash what contributed to it and also offers some advice as to how we might all contribute to cleaning up the mess.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
a bit too much music and graphics, but interesting information that is not usually discussed on tv.
especially about FIAT banking. worth seeing
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)