Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars original source of Quantum Information is missing?
Definitely a very interesting book. What is missing is the original source of the idea of Quantum Information which is not referenced: Quantum Information = first was C.F. von Weizsäcker in the fifties, Vlatko Vedral never refers to C.F. v. Weizsäcker, perhaps Weizsäcker's well known publication and discussion with Erwin Schrödinger was published in...
Published on 19 Sept. 2012 by Rainer von Ammon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring
The treatment of ideas in this book is extremely superficial. If you have even a limited, general-public knowledge of the topic then you will learn very little — if anything at all — from this book.

The author keeps repeating how wonderful or important this or that is, but never actually shows how important it is. You have to take his word for it,...
Published 11 months ago by Robin Berjon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 5 Mar. 2014
By 
Robin Berjon (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The treatment of ideas in this book is extremely superficial. If you have even a limited, general-public knowledge of the topic then you will learn very little — if anything at all — from this book.

The author keeps repeating how wonderful or important this or that is, but never actually shows how important it is. You have to take his word for it, and given the lack of actual information in the book it's a lot to ask.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars original source of Quantum Information is missing?, 19 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Definitely a very interesting book. What is missing is the original source of the idea of Quantum Information which is not referenced: Quantum Information = first was C.F. von Weizsäcker in the fifties, Vlatko Vedral never refers to C.F. v. Weizsäcker, perhaps Weizsäcker's well known publication and discussion with Erwin Schrödinger was published in German, but this would actually not be a reason; e.g. [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant!, 9 Mar. 2010
Inteligent, entertaining, informative, engaging..
Decoding Reality is the best popular-scientific book I've ever read about quantum information .
Professor Vedral debates about the world in terms of information.
He shows it's all about information, every aspect of science, life,economy..
The book has changed the way I see the Universe and the way I think about it.
Definitely a book to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars big ideas but badly explained, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are some wonderful concepts explored in this book, but unfortunately Vedral is a really bad writer.

On the plus side he conveys Von Neumann's ideas about self replicating machines well, and the idea that the information content of something is proportional to its surface area rather than its volume was well put.

But he glosses over too many details, starts on a topic then abandons it, states a conclusion with no reasoning, then several pages later gives the justification, but often in a hand waving way. The reader feels treated like Dr Who's assistant, we have to take his word for things because he can't explain them clearly and precisely.

He also seems to have completely missed the point with global warming, it isn't the waste heat of living that will kill us, it's the greenhouse effect.

However his reading list at the end is wonderful - though I would have included "The non-local universe" by Nadeau and Kafatos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep your brain in gear, 3 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. J. Birkett "johnB" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book.
I've read it twice & after a couple more reads, I think I'll be getting there!

Certainly recommended for those with an interest in the current direction of deep scientific research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking ideas, poor writing style, 4 Nov. 2014
By 
Roz Bailey (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Not being a scientist, but wanting to understand more about this subject, I was somewhat disappointed to find that although Prof. Vedral is obviously a highly intelligent man, he didn't convey his ideas very well - his writing style is just not up to it. At certain points, it took several reads to fully grasp exactly what he was trying to communicate - perhaps his editor should have intervened more.
Having said that, however, I did eventually learn a lot and was enthralled by some of the ideas he expressed once I'd managed to unravel them ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing insight into possibly the deepest level of reality, 26 Sept. 2010
By 
George Morris "George Morris" (Guildford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first parts of this book introduce ideas about information as a fundamental of physics. The later parts expand on this, suggesting that information might just be THE fundamental upon which all other physics - indeed all other full stop! - is based and from which it comes. The author is pleasingly clear in differentiating where he is teaching accepted - but still amazing! - facts and where he is speculating. One gets the impression that the text books of 2100 just might have moved much of the material from this last category into the first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bridge required, 9 July 2010
As a non-scientist interested in scientific developments,the book failed to bridge the gap between,say, the physical reality of a brick and the non-physical idea of 'information'.The result was,that however much I was intrigued by the case presented,fundamentally I remained remained unconvinced.It is too much to expect that views about the importance of matter and energy in our understanding of the universe should be so radically altered with so little by way of preparatory persuasion.It is certainly,though, a most stimulating and challenging book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential mind fodder, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Deserves to be taken very seriously indeed as a first class examination of our understanding of the universe.I've met Vlatko and he is remarkable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 Jan. 2011
This book contains no equations or formulae: fair enough. But it also contains no diagrams or pictures. This means that the book depends entirely on the author's ability to explain things in prose. This is a tall order for such an arcane subject, and unfortunately the author doesn't really succeed in conveying concepts clearly. I ploughed through about three-quarters of it, but increasingly felt I was not being given an adequate understanding of the matters under discussion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews