Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is war, and war is hell.
Any tortured artist type who flops about never finishing anything for fear it might actually expose in concrete terms the limitations of their talent will find this a slap in the face, a kick in the ass and a cold shower all at once. Your list of great excuses for why your novel/screenplay/business start up/big-project-of-any-kind remains unfinished (or unstarted) will...
Published on 9 Jan. 2011 by Sam Keogh

versus
90 of 97 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Resistance is Futile
The War of Art (nice title) is based on the premise that there is something called `resistance', which prevents artists or anyone doing anything to better themselves from getting on with the task. Resistance manifests itself in lots of different ways, but ultimately in work not getting done. Split into three parts, each comprised of several pages which are often nothing...
Published on 7 Aug. 2011 by M. Duncan


‹ Previous | 18 9 1016 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a call to arms! It is short, but that is because it gets straight to the good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its good, but gets a bit religious (ish), 6 Aug. 2013
By 
T. M. Jones (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good kick in the rear. Worth a read esp if you can pick it up cheap - I dont respond well to any religious stuff though which sometimes happened toward the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent way to remove Resistance., 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read about his book on a writers site . I have not been disappointed. But what is interesting, is that it is not only for writers. It is for any professional procrastinator.
Steven Pressfield has produced a solid, informative, yet fun, guide to battling away our 'I will do it later demons.' I love the way he takes the Michael out of all us 'arty' and wannabe arty souls, or dieters, entrepreneurs, anyone in fact who says 'tomorrow'.
The book is essentially divided into three chapters, addressing all the demons from family and friend negativity, to rationalisation.
The pages are short, no excuse or not looking at the next nugget, be it joking or insightful.
It has kick-started me. No more staring at blank pages. Cannot recommend it highly enough.
Mr Pressfield thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 25 May 2013
Great and inspiring read. Really tells it as it is and inspired to start getting things done. Thank you Steve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Grind it out, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's a lot of sense and wisdom in Pressfield's book. One of the worst habits of writers and artists is procrastination. Pressfield's remedy is to turn yourself into a writing machine and surrender to your Muse. Unfortunately, the life of the writer or artist that results seems grim and joyless in Pressfield's book. The journey of mastery of any craft can indeed be a negative experience at times but Pressfield doesn't exactly sell the destination as worthwhile either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life-changing, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is like reading a diary of my life. It's like reading answers to questions you hadn't put into words yet, but needed to ask.

This is a must-read for any burgeoning artist in any discipline, or anyone struggling to find the motivation to do what they need to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet, 11 Mar. 2013
By 
J. P. Brannan "J.P Brannan" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War of Art (Kindle Edition)
I found myself finishing this book in one go so as not to be beaten by the resistance it uncovered within myself. This feels like a turning point in my life in terms of perseverance, and I share this thought only to encourage others to benefit from reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life-Changing, 2 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War of Art (Kindle Edition)
In the time it's taken me to read this short book, I've gone from someone who wants to get into writing but never makes the effort, to someone who sits down every evening after work to write. Never before has a book changed my life in such a tangible way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gets you going on the first step of a thousand, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War of Art (Kindle Edition)
A great book for anyone wanting to create, whether your a artist or entrepreneur. This book let's you Acknowledge and know then enemy that is "resistance" on the creative path and releases that creativity for benefit and propagation of love and humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I liked it a lot, 2 Nov. 2013
By 
J. Van Hoorn "focus_books" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found it interesting, engaging, easy to read and most of all it's a great kick in the butt for anyone who's struggling with the voice in the head that tells you to do anything but get on with your work .I liked the tell it as it is approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 1016 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The War of Art
The War of Art by Steven Pressfield
£4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews