Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars56
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2012
It's a shame that Upstairs Downstairs has been eclipsed by Downton Abbey - I would urge any Downton-lovers who didn't return for the latest instalment of Upstairs to give it a go on DVD: you are missing something rather marvellous. Series one of Downton was magnificent; but series two was under-powered and sometimes threatened to be a camp travesty of itself. Upstairs, on the other hand, has continued to improve and develop in wonderful and surprising ways as the series progressed.

The worlds of almost every character in Upstairs are beautifully drawn and complex, unlike those in Downton that too often are of the single note variety (Maggie Smith is arch - there is nothing left for her to do than raise an ironic eyebrow). In particular, Lady Persie (Claire Foy) and Mr Pritchard (Adrian Scarborough) are endlessly fascinating and never as straightforward as they appear on the surface. You meet a character such as archaeologist Dr Motteshead (Alex Kingston) and at first she seems every bit the stereotype of the intellectual 1930s lesbian; but then, as the series evolves, expectations are confounded through great writing and an excellent performance.

Upstairs handles its period detail and sense of time perfectly with none (well I didn't spot them) of the anachronisms that irked me so much in Downton. Moreover, it is really engaged with the history taking place as the drama unfolds - I can think of no other drama that has dealt so well with the mindset of Britain on the eve of war. Scenes such as the household watching the streetlights of London being turned off for the final time are deeply moving. Again, I can also think of no other TV costume drama that has been more beautifully designed, lit and shot. This is far more noticeable in series 2.

For me there were 2 downers to Upstairs: the sometimes maddeningly short scenes and the miscasting of Ed Stoppard - a charisma-free zone. But these are minor niggles for a series that has proved so engaging and full of so many rewards.
33 comments|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
It suffered from unfair comparison to another Brit drama out at the time, Downton Abbey, and the major problem was just that it wasn't good enough to stand on its own. The acting and the dialogue was a little too weak, and somehow none of the characters made you care about them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
I really loved the first series and had to wait for the second one which never appeared on the french amazon. After a while I decided to buy it directly on the this amazon.uk and I was not disappointed. I really love it, Both series are short so the scenario is well constructed and all the episodes are equally catchy. It's a shame there is no third series to come. Hope this will help you for your purchase and I apologize if my English is not good(I understand it better than I speak it).
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
This is such a lovely series depicting life in a house which is very different to life at Downton Abbey. The characters are superb and the story lines are excellent. The final episode is one of the best season finale's I have ever seen; had me totally gripped!!!!! I am sooooooooooooo disappointed and cross that the BBC have decided not to produce a third series and show us how the house copes with WW2. This is such a mistake!!!!!
22 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
(Spoilers, I'm afraid, for this one.) I really did enjoy Season One, even more than Downtown Abbey, which was its main competitor. But oh my sainted aunt; oh my paws and whiskers! What DID they do with Season Two? The characters are simply unrecongizable and the narrative goes from realistically uplifting to quite unbelievable trash.

Hallum changes, with no warning, from a noble person with brilliant international insights to an idiot so enslaved to his nether regions that he sleeps with his sister-in-law and allows her to extract information for the Nazis, toward whom she is still sympathetic; Percy goes from being an understandably confused and spoiled adolescent to practically a psychopath. When it finally looks like Pritchard, that kind man, finds love, it is ripped away and he descends into alcoholism; the driver, who had rejected his Nazi leanings, now becomes a blackmailer and potential deserter; Beryl, who had begun to respect her mistress for her better understanding of the servants' situation, turns spiteful. And Eileen Atkins, alas, is put on the shelf (literally) and replaced by her sister--a very sensible, endearing, and wise woman, who, it is clearly implied, has romantic preferences for her own gender (stereotypically very male clothing, etc). Hardly unusual, but here it has to be drawn out and detailed explicitly with a lost lover and a bedroom scene or two. With all this, throw in a botched abortion, equally detailed, and the series becomes, as Lady Agnes puts is so succinctly in the end, "a sordid affair." Not that these issues should have been ignored, but it seems a great deal of valuable narrative time was was wasted on drawing them out melodramatically as a suddenly major focus--while viewers, I suspect, were wondering how the children refugees were doing, the step-daughter at school, etc., all of which were just dropped.

Johnny, the likable footman lad, and the sweet housemaid with glasses, seem to be the only two who stay their kind and believeable selves (though Johnny is listed as 1-A for conscription, so of course such a good-hearted and outdated character will be killed in the war), along with Hallum's disabled sister, who makes a couple of charming appearances. At least the Indian manservant and the cook stay sensibly level-headed, while everyone else devolves into raving bonkers and you wonder if they will all be carted off to Bedlam Hospital. Agnes, in the end, decides, unselfishly, for the sake of the children and her household, to stay with her husband; but her love for Hallum, now esquery for the Duke of Kent after resigning his position at Whitehall, is extinquished.

The last scene, with guns, attempted murder, and suicide--all neatly swept up by the returning Pritchard with an amazing lack of emotion for what has just happened--approaches farce; and is such a sad contrast to the first scene in the series, where the children's refugee home is established. The very fact that a viewer can actually sit through this second series until the end is due entirely to the truly brilliant actors, who had very little material to work with. It is almost as if the scriptwriters were taking their revenge for the series not being continued. Poor Jean Marsh; they really ruined her revival in Series Two. We wish her the very best in her recovery from her stroke, but I doubt the second series will help. She is a genius; these writers were, alas, not.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
This second series follows on brilliantly from series 1. The uncertainties faced by the population under threat of war are mirrored perfectly within 165 Eaton Place. This is not a soap opera "period" drama like Downton Abbey but a classic BBC period drama set at a specific point in history.

It's refreshing to have the period of the "phoney war" as a backdrop, it's a point in history which has been all but forgotten.

A third series has not so far been commissioned which may be a good move. I'd far rather have two excellent productions than spoil the whole series with a poor relation third offering. However, a third series as good as 1 and 2 (same writer, same leading cast, proper historical background) would have me rushing to buy!

Last but not least: this is not a follow on from the original Upstairs Downstairs but a series in its own right so don't confuse the two! Only the house, 165 Eaton Place, is the same.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This follows on from the first series with the obvious time period change. The characters and script are superb. The portrayals of the pre-build up to the second world war are suitably naive in the gradual belief that defeat was unquestionable. The above and below personnel are exquisite.

Cold affection war between the upper crust with emotional obligation from the lady of the house with deceit above board from her husband and affection below founded on the boxing canvas add up to a recipe the cook could not conceive (no more salmon, please). Know your place is the theme, fortunately abused. There is more to come but do not agree with the negatives that have been levelled at the series as it is superb entertainment. I appreciate the writers would develop the drama and they certainly have.Comparisons with 'Downton Abbey' are inevitable but I feel the two have independant attractions and story-lines.

The tee-totaller butler has his love intentions cut off dramatically despite his politely amorous interlude and turns to drink. Chauffeur Harry wants to emigrate to the USA with upstairs's lady maid. Blackmail enters the scenario. Lady Persiphone is a dangerous loose cannon and seems to have become involved with the Nazi build up to the inevitable war whilst plying her guile with the man of the house whose wife has gone away for a thought excursion. Topsy-turvy all over. The nitty-gritty awaits with great anticipation. Whatever happened to discrete courtship? Excellent The anticipated finale happens.Lady Agnes returns to her sham marriage. The downstairs characters come out with more determination.The war looms. Lady Persiphone is causing disturbance.At least the butler has morals.No more spoilers. Excellent series. Undoubtably more to come.
22 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
It's a shame that this series was overshadowed by Downton Abbey. I think Upstairs Downstairs 2 is a very good series ( I wouldn't say excellent) with some minor flaws. I like that they kept the polictical theme throughout it. Especially the sequence with the kindertransport was quite heart-touching. Somehow they lost it in episode 3 (I think the weakest of them all). I whish the BBC would continue this. It would be quite interesting to see how they weather the Blitz and rationing; and I want to know what will become of those who are conscripted. After all, that worked well for Downton Abbey. So BBC: pleaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaase!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
A good series that is gripping and holds the viewers interest. The first series was a little slow to start but this was a vast improvement. It using a real shame that there will be no more :-(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
I loved watching this drama with the servants and the rich family. A good drama showing how people lived during the second world war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)