Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album! Deluxe edition totally worth it.
In a period where, in my opinion, 'popular' music has almost reached rock bottom, plagued with records that sound all exactly the same like they were done by the same guy on the same Mac with the same Logic instruments, here we have a guy that's managed to put something out there that's actually of great quality. Jason writes amazing lyrics and his melodies are very...
Published on 25 May 2012 by Fedor

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Safety First
Fans of the earlier material will be disappointed with this album, which sees Mraz serve up a set of bland pop songs that are highly polished, easily digestible yet also instantly throwaway.

The surprise commercial success of "I'm Yours" gave Mraz a taste of the bigtime and boy does it show - "Love is a Four Letter Word" is chart-friendly fodder for the exact...
Published on 19 April 2012 by aMusings


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 20 Jun 2012
this album is great. the extra cd with the deluxe edition is defiantly worth it. highly recommend :)

the album came in a cardboard sleeve as opposed to the plastic cd case but that's not really a problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely buy, 8 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Is A Four Letter Word (Audio CD)
Really impressed with this CD. Had no problems with the seller and the Cd is wonderful.
Great music, as expected from jason mraz, came very quickly, would recommend to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great follow on from we sing, we dance, 23 May 2012
By 
Pinkyogi (Beckenham Kent) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a little unsure when i heard the album for the very first time- Apart from the obviously beautiful song i won't give up...BUT, i wasn't unsure for very long. Its a lovely album and i pretty much guarantee, that if you liked his previous one, you won't be disappointed. Lovely!s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars middle of the road and middle aged, 28 April 2012
This review is from: Love Is A Four Letter Word (Audio CD)
I agree entirely with Highfive. After "we sing,we dance we steal things" i was looking forward to the new release, but it is undoubtedly a disappointment. The quirkiness, variety and fun has gone and instead we have a colledction of middle of the road, middle-aged songs with little to distinguish them. It would be a shame if this great talent continues down this middle path, as Mraz I had previously thought a very original talent who stood out from the rest. Not here unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All loved up - I'm afraid, 21 April 2012
By 
Huw Roberts (Cardiff, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Is A Four Letter Word (Audio CD)
I'm a big fan of Jason Mraz. I love his wit, his guitar playing, snazzy horn arrangements and his voice. His first three albums were great. Really great. He can also reproduce it live - checkout Beautiful Mess for how a live recording should sound. This time he's produced a CD mostly of love songs. Fine - why not? His biggest hit was a love song. The problem with these though is that they're just not very good. A collection of B standard love songs. There's little humour, they're full of predicatable clichés, and the music is just bland. Frank D Fixer is just awful, embarrassing. There are a few saving graces. Freedom Song and 5/6 deliver more of what we're use to. But as for the rest, they're just a bit loungey, a bit lothario and just not that great. For most other artists this would be a great album. Coming from Jason Mraz - it's a bit lazy; a bit disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mraz is a 4 letter word!, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Jay Schufman (Little Falls, MN USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I luv Jason Mraz! But I've been living in an alternate reality and missed him, until he showed up at the Kennedy Center Honors for Ellen DeGeneres, and played his AWESOME f'in' song! This double album is (Thank you, Universe) available to you in the UK; the USA is too puritanical to supply the double album. To be sure, Disc A is very, very good, and heavily produced. Disc B is f'in' Brilliant! Live! Jason Mraz as he should be listened to! And a nice video to boot! Simply LUV this album! A poet, a lyricist, an amazing guitarist, and and inspiration with love in his heart! I have been missing Jason Mraz for at least six (6) years; Don't miss him, or this double-album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Lazing Music, 26 April 2012
By 
C. Davies (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Is A Four Letter Word (Audio CD)
Really enjoyed his last album especially when on holiday on a sunbed around a pool or on beach, this will be going onto the ipod for the same purpose this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eargasm!, 16 April 2012
By 
Eric Kwan (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Is A Four Letter Word (Audio CD)
I was never a Jason Mraz fan but this album totally blew my mind away! This is one of the best albums he has ever produced. He has maintained his style in this album. "LOVE is a four letter" is definitely for roadtrips and (domestic conflicts) busy day, it totally calms you down and makes you reminisce about good 'ol times! Hope you find this review useful :)

To those who have bought this album, CONGRATULATIONS for making the wisest choice of your life. To those who haven't, just GET IT already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An album steeped in '70s soul. Your summer ear candy! Enjoy!, 18 April 2012
This review is from: Love Is A Four Letter Word (Audio CD)
Underneath his tongue-twisting wordplay, Jason Mraz fancies himself a loverman -- and given that his greatest success came from the sticky sentiment of "I'm Yours", who can blame him for thinking this way?
Nevertheless, he's never made a full-blown makeout record until "Love Is a Four Letter Word", an album steeped in '70s soul.
Mraz doesn't neglect his acoustic guitar nor does he abandon his showy verbal gymnastics, but apart from a cut or two -- including "BLANK", the album's first single -- they're buried underneath stacks of luxurious strings and thick, insistent grooves, touches that tie the record together with elegance.
Mr. A-Z has hinted at soul before but he's never placed music over words, a shift of emphasis that delivers great dividends.
He can still be a nasally, hyperactive twit, too eager to succumb to clever-clever puns and quips, but there's an acknowledgment that even if he can't change who he is -- witness the terribly titled "Fred D Fixer", an ode to a grandfather who lived by his hands, not his wits -- he can build upon this foundation.
If all he adds is color and flair, not some serious depth, that winds up being enough: by making alterations and affecting his pose, Mraz pushes himself into new territory, creating music that's perilously close to sounding seductive.
What holds "Love Is a Four Letter Word" from actually being seductive is that Mraz seems more lech than Lothario -- there's always a sense that he's around for nothing longer than a night.
But, as "Love Is a Four Letter Word" plays, Mraz can convince you that his pleasures are a bit more than fleeting. It may be a lie, but it sure sounds good as it's told. S. T. Erlewine

We Sing. We Dance. We Steal Things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Mraz. You've Done It Again, 18 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well firstly, i must say i am a massive fan of Jason Mraz. So i was looking forward to this album as soon as he announced he was recording one. And it does not disappoint one bit. From the opening lines of his cover of "The Freedom Song" to the final notes of the hidden track after "The World As I See It", there isn't a single weak track. There is a brilliant mix of slow and faster tempo'ed songs across the 55 minute play time. However, if you are looking for any of his faster "Rap" tracks, there are none here at all.

All in all i give this album (like all the others) 5 out of 5. Well worth the wait, and well worth the money.

If your wondering about getting it, why wonder? Just get it already :)

Also, the deluxe version has a 2nd cd, which features Live tracks, an early demo of "I Won't Give Up" and the CD-Rom video of "I Won't Give Up".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Is A Four Letter Word
Love Is A Four Letter Word by Jason Mraz (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews