Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars104
4.7 out of 5 stars
Size: 4 x 5kg|Change
Price:£19.99+ £3.99 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2014
I have a York dumbbell set (the popular set found here on Amazon), but I wanted to add a few extra weights to move from my absolute beginner level. I purchased these four 5kg weights, and they fit perfectly with my current set. I was worried that they would be quite thick which would make it harder to put other weights on the end as there isn't much space on the ends of my York bars, but they are barely thicker than my York 2.5kg weights (but a lot wider in diameter!). The 4x 5kg weights cost me just £25, which is the cheapest available anywhere on the net for cast iron, so I have happy.

Would certainly recommend, and will help with any questions you may have.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2012
These fit perfectly with the 20kg york dumbell set I bought recently from amazon. It is worth noting that they appear to be of better quality than the york cast iron weights, which are pitted, uneven and appear to have a thinner coat of paint.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
a very very good price for 20kg of weight, cant say more than that because once its on the bar gravity does the rest
no paint crumbles off and they are very solid
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
Like several other reviewers, I had purchased the York 20 kg dumbbell set
from Amazon a little while ago in an effort to try and get a little trimmer
and stronger if possible. Also, like others before me, I eventually came to
the point where I needed to add more weight to these dumbbells. I looked
around at the various options knowing that I was looking for cast iron
plates to fit a standard 1 inch (25.4 mm) bar which the York dumbbells are.
There were several brands to consider and having been impressed with the
overall quality of the York 20 kg dumbbells my first impulse was to look to
York for the additional plates to further my training.

After a bit of perusing, my short list came down to the York offering and a
corresponding set from Confidence. I had never heard of Confidence before
and yet had heard of York despite my total novice status using weights. York
have been around decades and have a reputation for quality products at an
affordable price. Checking the reviews and the prices, I could quickly see
that these Confidence plates were pretty much a "no brainer" given the
overall positive reviews combined with the lower price so I went with the
Confidence 4 x 5 Kg plates to add to my dumbbells and am very satisfied I
did.

. As touched upon already, the price for these weights as
others have previously stated is about the best you can find for quality
cast
iron plates. Delivery cost too is very inexpensive especially considering
the 20 kg weight. However, if you are in a rush for these weights then you
might want to opt for a speedier delivery service if available. I have no
complaints on this front as I was not in any real hurry but just to
illustrate, I ordered these on Wednesday January 13th and received them
Monday January 18th. I may have gotten them a day earlier if I'd ordered
earlier in the week thus avoid the intervening weekend. However, you are
provided with a tracking number by the Sports HQ which sell this item and I
did notice that despite the package arriving at the local depot on Saturday,
it did not get dispatched until Monday morning. Again, not a negative
observation at all but one that I thought I'd inform any prospective buyers
about in the event it is of some help knowing this.

Each plate in the box is placed inside its own plastic bag but like the York
20 kg dumbbell set I recently purchased, none of the bags are actually
sealed to remain air tight and help keep out moisture which I find a little
odd. Each weight is marked with an embossed weight but no manufacturer name
unlike the York weight plates that came with my dumbbell set. Again,
nothing wrong with that but just an observation of the difference between my
York plates and these. To further the comparison, I inspected the Confidence
plates and could see right away that the casting on these was better than
the plates supplied with the 20 kg dumbbell set mentioned above. Several of
my York plates show casting flaws along the edges of the discs that makes
them look as if they were forged in two halves and in some places not quite
matched up flush. In contrast, the Confidence plates show none of this and
show a smooth rim running all around on all plates. Interestingly though,
the inner surfaces of the mounting holes at the centre of each weight is not
cast so smoothly as the York plates. Running your finger around the inside
of the York plates mounting holes feels generally smooth but it's rougher
with some grooves present on the Confidence ones.

When I received these plates I wanted to check out the paint work on them as
many reviewers have stated that the Confidence plates have a superior paint
finish than the pricier York counterparts. I can confirm that this is so
with the Confidence plates feeling very slightly rougher to the touch due to
the thicker paint coat providing what seems like a finish more likely to
resist chipping and scratching than my York plates which exhibit several
chips already despite being never dropped and laid on a carpeted surface.
Certainly at first impression, it appears to me that the Confidence plates
will wear better than the York ones.

The plates themselves being heavier and therefore larger than the biggest
2.5 Kg weight plates supplied on my York dumbbell set look quite big when
mounted on these dumbbells. This does not impact their use but does look
impressive to anyone seeing you heft these 21 cm diameter weights on a
dumbbell so you have
the added benefit of impressing both
yourself and any one else watching!

If you're in the market for some cast iron plates to fit any standard 1 inch
barbell or dumbbell then you cannot go wrong with these. The only reason I
can think of to opt for the more expensive York plates would be if you like
the York name embossed on your plates for all to see. In which case, spend
the extra money and get those. Even if York reduced their prices to match
the Confidence product then I don't know if I'd want to plump for something
which may exhibit the casting and paint work issues mentioned above and
thus would still
leave Confidence as the clear winner.

Good value and good quality plates at a price that makes sense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
dont spend money on expensive plates these are spot on and only took three days to arrive
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
You can spend a lot on weight plates. These, at just over £/kilo, are better than buying second hand plates on gumtree in my area, let alone new York plates or the equivalent.

They may not be as well cast, and I've certainly got a tiny bit of rust on them in my very damp garage, as well as the usual colour rubbing off - but, really, all that's expected, and there haven't been any issues that I've noticed when actually lifting the things.

I only wish they did some bigger plates too - I'd love them to do 15 or 20 kg!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
I already have a 4 plate 5kg set at home and they are very good plates, look much better quality than the York plates and are cheaper too. I use these with the York dumbbell set that is very popular on Amazon because I wanted more weight and these do the job perfectly! Even for a year of having a set, dropping them on Dumbbells and barbells they have no damage at all apart from the ones you'd expect from lots of dropping if the Concrete floor. Really like this product and will buy again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
Well made with a smooth finish and thick paint. At half the prise of any of the branded plates I will be buying these again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
Good plates, appear well made and fit on my standard EZ-curl bar with no issues. One point of caution, plates come heavily oiled (assume to prevent rusting?). When I say heavily oiled I mean to a point where the oil had soaked into the cardboard packaging and made it wet. Once I had wiped all of the oil off with a rag the plates still left a small stain on the carpet where the plates touched the floor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2015
I've previously bought York branded plates, but the lower price of these Confidence ones tempted me to give them a try. I can't fault them.
They're lumps of metal. They weigh 10kg. They fit on my dumbbell bars.
I haven't experienced any of the quality control issues that a couple of reviewers have mentioned: there are no burrs in the metal and the finish seems fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 16 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)