Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rapid Rise
An enjoyable, but overly long, tale of the amazing rise up the 'ladder' for one Chief Petty Officer. Believable? Maybe. Despite this I look forward to reading the next book in the Bland Brothers sderies
Published 12 months ago by Anthony J. Cokes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cowboys & Indians.
Something easy to read if a bit"BoysOwn" paperish for those old enough to remember. A bit like reading cowboys and Indian adventure only afloat and with a very English accent.
Published 6 months ago by Kable


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rapid Rise, 24 Feb. 2014
By 
Anthony J. Cokes "TeeCee" (Gosport UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HMS VENGEFUL (Brothers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable, but overly long, tale of the amazing rise up the 'ladder' for one Chief Petty Officer. Believable? Maybe. Despite this I look forward to reading the next book in the Bland Brothers sderies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HMS VENGEFUL (Brothers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great book,felt like I was there.could feel the sea and the boat. The whole series make a great read.
P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cowboys & Indians., 3 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HMS VENGEFUL (Brothers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Something easy to read if a bit"BoysOwn" paperish for those old enough to remember. A bit like reading cowboys and Indian adventure only afloat and with a very English accent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CPO to Commander in a couple of years is a ..., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HMS VENGEFUL (Brothers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
CPO to Commander in a couple of years is a bit of a stretch of feasibility. WRNS officer with gold rings in WWII, I don't think so ! Then there's all the typos, DSO becomes a DSC on the next page and many others. The Royal Navy never puts "hours/hrs" after the time, ie. 1800 not 1800 hours, so a little research wouldn't have gone amiss. However, if you want a boys own action dit(Naval slang for story)then crack on as it reminded me of the small action comics I used to read as a boy. I spent 38 years in the Royal Navy so some of the errors grated a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HMS VENGEFUL (Brothers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A bit to much of the same thing,could HAVE had a bit of rough weather,and a side story on the old enginer Tec.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT STORY LINE SHAME ABOUT THE ERRORS, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HMS VENGEFUL (Brothers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was a great boys own story, plenty of action, pity about the mis-spellings and in some places bad grammar, the errors that I spotted did take a little away from this story, such as the Royal navy flies the white ensign NOT the red ensign (merchant navy) the author describes enemy gunboats then refers to them as MTB's and he describes the depart of the big raid leaving port at dusk with the flights of hurricanes and spitfires flying a cap over the raiding force, these fighter aircraft were not designed to fly at night.

If you are prepared to overlook these errors then you are in for a very good read with a story line that draws you in, I was reading late into the night with this story I just might purchase more books by this author hoping for another brilliant story, whoever proof read this story for the author should be hung from the nearest yardarm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boy's own stuff!, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HMS VENGEFUL (Brothers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I am very much into naval literature both fact and fiction, as far as fiction goes there are so many first rate authors O'Brien, Forrester, Reeman (Kent), and so on whose stories capture the imagination and place you on the deck along side the characters. H.M.S. Vengefull does non of that, despite many scenarios each of which could provide a novel of their own it is crash bang wallop with little depth. Very much reminds me of The Wizard, Hotspur, Adventure etc of boyhood days. I have great admiration for all who put pen to paper at any level in pursuit of a literary career, Unfortunately In this case H.M.S. Vengefull must be torpedo'd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HMS VENGEFUL (Brothers Book 1)
£2.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews