Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - inspiring
After 30 years in marketing I decided that I was getting stale and needed to re-energise my thinking. Based on the product description and reviews, I bought this volume among others. I need only have bought this one, with hindsight. Superbly written, consultative in style, well supported by examples from history and current experience. Having read it I have created...
Published 15 months ago by P C HEMSLEY

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The USA view
Fine if you're in the US, but it's that HEY!! WOW!! tone of voice that gets irritating after the third sentence.
Published 17 months ago by Peter Fine


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - inspiring, 6 May 2013
By 
P C HEMSLEY (Didcot, Oxfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After 30 years in marketing I decided that I was getting stale and needed to re-energise my thinking. Based on the product description and reviews, I bought this volume among others. I need only have bought this one, with hindsight. Superbly written, consultative in style, well supported by examples from history and current experience. Having read it I have created several new ads for my business completely breaking out of my established patterns and styles: I have thought them through far more analytically and who knows - they may even work! Perhaps most of all, I have hugely enjoyed this learning experience and for me, the book has been truly inspirational.

Just one minor (?) quibble. In such a great book, from a very well respected and experienced publisher, covering such a visual topic: why are the illustrations so appalling? One can discern what the illustrations purport to show, but in many cases, especially in the photographical illustrations, it is largely a matter of conjecture. I would still buy the book, even with this reservation, but the quality of the writing deserves better reproduced illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Ad bibles, 10 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic book, engagingly written and funny. Not dry at all. This new version covers social media and all the other current trends as well as the fundamentals. Very revealing about how a lot of hard work and a bit of luck can really help out in advertising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Definitely recommend this book. Interesting and vey well written. A book that all creatives in the advertising industry must read and have. Insightful and talks about all platforms of media thats needs to be known to keep up with the forever growing social media today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey, Whipple, Squeeze This: The Classic Guide to Creating Great Ads (Kindle Edition)
Though the style is a trifle grating, relax into this book, confirm a lot of what you probably already knew and learn a whole lot more. Not exactly high-brow - it's worth doing some extra reading up on physcology and brain function to get a balanced view - but that's not what this book is about. Engagingly romantic and passionate, it works as a fine motivator to anyone tempted to work in or with advertising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and informative., 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, so well written and really funny. Got in in research of a new job, has helped me tonnes. Great for the information or just a good laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey, Whipple, Squeeze This: The Classic Guide to Creating Great Ads (Kindle Edition)
Good intro to advertising. Really loves the little ad anecdotes interspersed between the text, and the pictures were a nice touch. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for their first intro to advertising
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The USA view, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fine if you're in the US, but it's that HEY!! WOW!! tone of voice that gets irritating after the third sentence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews