Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Took me back to my own training
I trained in the early 70s and although it was ten years after Marie it was almost the same.
So many of her memories made me chuckle, some made me cringe as they did her. It was a lovely trip down memory lane.
Published on 6 Jun 2012 by flin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The old ways are the best.
A very abridged book. Which spoiled an otherwise interesting book, as I began my s.e.n. training in 1969 . But I agree completely with her comments about the old ways of training nurses, as they learnt from the basics onwards. Rather than taking a degree, which gives you a certificate, but does not tech you how to give a bedlam, or clean up afterwards. The end.
Published 6 months ago by molly saylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Took me back to my own training, 6 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nurse! Concentrate on the linen cupboard. (Kindle Edition)
I trained in the early 70s and although it was ten years after Marie it was almost the same.
So many of her memories made me chuckle, some made me cringe as they did her. It was a lovely trip down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and Charming, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nurse! Concentrate on the linen cupboard. (Kindle Edition)
A funny and charming book that takes us back to a time when the NHS was run by ordinary people with hearts not money men with calculators. It reminded me of the TV series The Royal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 20 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nurse! Concentrate on the linen cupboard. (Kindle Edition)
this book is exactly as I remember, all very hard work, great friends, great fun and todays nurses won't believe any of it thank you for such an enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A REALLY GOOD READ, 7 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nurse! Concentrate on the linen cupboard. (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read could not put it down. The book had everything, sad, happy and made me smile a lot. Shows how hard nursing was at the time with all the discipline as well. A real history of nursing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The old ways are the best., 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nurse! Concentrate on the linen cupboard. (Kindle Edition)
A very abridged book. Which spoiled an otherwise interesting book, as I began my s.e.n. training in 1969 . But I agree completely with her comments about the old ways of training nurses, as they learnt from the basics onwards. Rather than taking a degree, which gives you a certificate, but does not tech you how to give a bedlam, or clean up afterwards. The end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nurse.Concentrate on the linen cupboard., 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nurse! Concentrate on the linen cupboard. (Kindle Edition)
This brought back many memories of my training days at WCH.How things have changed.Well done Marie for writing this for so many of us we
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like going back to my training, 26 Dec 2013
This review is from: Nurse! Concentrate on the linen cupboard. (Kindle Edition)
A good read, made me quite nostalgic for my training in the 1970's when I spent a lot of time in the sluice and the linen cupboard. It's amazing what memories this book evoked when nursing was not so rushed or stressful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read for any Nurse, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nurse! Concentrate on the linen cupboard. (Kindle Edition)
The book reminded me so much of my training days 50 years ago!! We had immediate and regular contact with our patients. There's a lesson here somewhere for the new Directors of Nursing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nurse! Concentrate on the linen cupboard. (Kindle Edition)
Rather boring style of narrative, I usually enjoy these stories set in a time when I was working in hospitals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure about this one, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nurse! Concentrate on the linen cupboard. (Kindle Edition)
I trained as a student nurse in the mid 1960s, so bought this on kindle. I didn't finish it as I found it scanty and not very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews