Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars8
3.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2007
Whether you are a gambler or not, and I am a veteran one, the scam stroies in this book are absolutely excellent, extremely well written, easy to follow, and make a great entertaining read.

If you have ever wondered what goes on behind the scenes when some of these great coups have been pulled off, this book is for you. I particularly enjoyed the story about the trio who pulled off the audacious con against the Ritz Casino for in excess of a million pounds, and also the story about rigged football matches. I always thought that football was immune to corruption - obviously not!

This is a great book, and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Top marks to the author for putting together such fascinating and entertaining adventures.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2009
This book is a collection of well written and entertaining short stories about true moneymaking schemes. It is an easy read and contains some great scams from the past. An excellent book for anyone interested in gambling.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
This book contains a total of thirteen examples of a kind of scam. Two or three cases are interesting (including the well know Black Jack coup pulled off by MIT students) to read but I would not classify them all as gambling scams. Securities fraud, ponzi schemes or dubious letters from the “Nigeria connection” are not gambling scams in my opinion. The description of the horse racing fraud is quite confusing as it reads like a rambling just about names and who met whom.
Other than that, it is short entertaining read but I expected more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
A good pick-up, put-down read. Each story in itself could, of course, be gone into in a lot more detail and in a few cases there is books that do that for each. Ideal introduction to the subject and will let you know if it's a genre you'll like before delving in further with the more complete stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
Perhaps i'd read about too many of the scams in this book beforehand but this seemed a pedestrian plod through the subject. Probably be better for a newcomer to the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
a very interesting read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
Great Gambling Scams was an intriguing and light introduction to the world of gambling scams. I do feel that there was a missed opportunity to explore deeper the various scams the author covers, especially with the use of more humorous real-life examples. There was a fair bit of repetition between chapters, which I just had to skip, hence the lower rating. Overall, a fairly good midnight read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
Whilst the book provides you with some good stories you feel let down as they author doesn't go into enough depth. You almost feel like you want to finish each story quickly just to get through them as you dont feel for the people that are being talked about. There are many more books like this which are far superior
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)