Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andy Capp - the TV series
As a long time fan of Andy Capp in the Daily Mirror I grew up with the adventures of the incorrigible Andy, and many of his cartoons from the old annuals are still etched in my mind, even after a few decades. I bought this DVD on an impulse, and have not been disappointed. The casting, locations, dialogue and stories all match how I see Andy, the long suffering Flo,...
Published on 7 July 2012 by Mr. R. Howard

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Andy Cap
A good bit of nostalgia for the older of us, have to say though in my opinion it did not transfer from the paper cartoon to well though the choice of actors/actresses for the characters is brilliant.
Published on 28 July 2012 by Dave


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars James Bolan, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I love James, Bolan, he is a great actor, I have watched many a film with him in and he never fails to disappoint me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just sit back and enjoy., 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
James Bolam proves what a versatile actor he is in this adaptation for TV of the comic strip. His portrayal is spot on, memories of the Likely Lads, and the production values are high. Just sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disapponted, 16 Feb 2014
By 
C. Nielsen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Not all comic strip or comic book characters are suited for film or television and Andy Capp is one of them. He only works as a single strip character. There simply is not enough to build a 30 minute episode on. Bolam tries to do a good job but has nothing to work with
aqs the stories are boring and slow. It does not help that the rest of the cast give no support what so ever, and do not care to even make an effort.. A shame that an actor like James Bolam involved himself in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So so!, 27 Oct 2014
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Not James Bolam's best piece of work - bringing a cartoon character to life just didn't work for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the books are better, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Timothy Smith "smith" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
i bought this out of curiosity but didn't find it entertaining, it just dragged on so turned it off, never finished it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars from paper to cd, 7 Feb 2013
By 
A. Maddison (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
not too bad but parts a bit boring. Husband enjoyed it more than me but maybe its a man thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not great, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
not the best that james bolam has done nothing like the cartoon . i did not laugh once at any episode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD], 27 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Not one of James Bolams best works but thats the writers or producers fault for taking a 3 or 4 cartoon captions from a newspaper and trying to elongate them for the tv screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Andy Capp DVD, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Not as good as I expected - not surprised no further episodes were made - acting was good but story lines leave much to be desired. Not worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
great thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD]
Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] by John Howard Davies (DVD - 2012)
£5.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews