Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andy Capp - the TV series
As a long time fan of Andy Capp in the Daily Mirror I grew up with the adventures of the incorrigible Andy, and many of his cartoons from the old annuals are still etched in my mind, even after a few decades. I bought this DVD on an impulse, and have not been disappointed. The casting, locations, dialogue and stories all match how I see Andy, the long suffering Flo,...
Published on 7 July 2012 by Mr. R. Howard

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Andy Cap
A good bit of nostalgia for the older of us, have to say though in my opinion it did not transfer from the paper cartoon to well though the choice of actors/actresses for the characters is brilliant.
Published on 28 July 2012 by Dave


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andy Capp - the TV series, 7 July 2012
By 
Mr. R. Howard (Stockport, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
As a long time fan of Andy Capp in the Daily Mirror I grew up with the adventures of the incorrigible Andy, and many of his cartoons from the old annuals are still etched in my mind, even after a few decades. I bought this DVD on an impulse, and have not been disappointed. The casting, locations, dialogue and stories all match how I see Andy, the long suffering Flo, Chalky, Ruby, the rent man, vicar, etc. James Bolam as Andy and Paula Tilbrook (Betty Eggleton in Emmerdale) as Flo are excellent, and spark off each other convincingly. Unlike a conventional TV situation comedy, each scene is played very much like a cartoon strip, and with no audience reaction or canned laughter. No doubt many people will find this off putting, but this works for me as the comedy is left to one's imagination - just as when reading off the printed page. There was only one series made (in 1988) as the show was probably misunderstood by all those viewers only used to watching comedies made in a conventional manner, but I think many die-hard Andy Capp fans will enjoy and appreciate this DVD as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reg Smythe lives on !!, 8 July 2012
By 
D. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Superb and highly recommended to any Andy Capp lover. This is an extremely scarce and short lived series that shouldn't disappear like so many other Classic comedies. Buy it before it vanishes from the shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Right good laugh!, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs. J. Wain - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is such an excellent programme I can't believe there was only one series. The humour was not only in the script but also very visual, thoroughly enjoyed it! Oh for more like this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Great, 11 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
We missed this when it was on TV so thought we would buy it on DVD. So glad we did its very funny, everything is larger than life and overplayed and that makes it even better. James Bolan is a fab Andy Capp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Oh why did they not make more. This is shere entertainment: the asides to the audience make it a work of art. James Bowlam is as good as ever and oh so Andy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Show Is Smarter Then You Think It Is., 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I grew up reading the Capp books, and I absolutely get what they were doing in this series. Although people tag it as a failure because it only ran one series/season, I think it was a success because of how they approached the material. This is not the first time a show would not be appreciated in its own time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Andy Cap, 28 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
A good bit of nostalgia for the older of us, have to say though in my opinion it did not transfer from the paper cartoon to well though the choice of actors/actresses for the characters is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Good fun for everyone who likes Andy Capp . James Bolam has a little bit different character than Andy Capp from comics but it's still funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Andy Capp, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Always wanted to see these again. Not quite how I remembered them but really enjoyed them. Pity there were so few made.James Bolam was perfect as Andy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comic to comedy, hmmmm., 18 Sep 2013
By 
B. R. Munro "Captain bazza" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Andy Capp is a comic tour de force and translating such a class to a TV series wasn't going to be easy. Essentially, the comic character is all in the reader's mind - James Bolam may well be the only actor to could bring it off and by and large he did. If you are an Andy Capp fan you'll either love it, or hate it. My own opinion lies in the middle.

Bazza
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD]
Andy Capp - The Complete Series [DVD] by John Howard Davies (DVD - 2012)
£5.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews