Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A completist's dream
I experieced odd snippets of "Public Eye" when afternoon repeats were shown on ITV during the late 1970's, plus a complete one-off repeat in the 1990's, which I later found out was not the best example of the series as a whole. None of these prepared me for the clever, wry and witty writing this intense and totally absorbing series offered. Frank Marker (originally to...
Published 19 months ago by Adie Barrett

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing
I bought this as I remembered the later series as being good. Unfortunately, these episodes are not very good. They are very dated in all respects, the stories are weak and the sets look really false. I like Alfred Burke as an actor and there were some good well known tv actors in most episodes, but I found it seeming more like fifties tv than a decade later...
Published 4 months ago by RWT


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice to see these early episodes available, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Public Eye - The ABC Years [DVD] (DVD)
A selection from early and best series of Public Eye. Not surprising these are the best as they were made by ABC. Alfred Burke was a great actor and the story lines are all strong. Pity there aren't a few more episodes in the set. Once again though we have to endure the offensive STUDIO-CANAL logo before each episode. Why were all these great British shows sold to that French company?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Public Eye, 23 Oct 2013
By 
Kenneth Parsons "angus" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Public Eye - The ABC Years [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a Frank Marker fan like me - you simply must have The ABC Years in your collection.
Highly memorable and atmospheric!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Public Eye, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Public Eye - The ABC Years [DVD] (DVD)
Oh if only we could return to an age when things seemed more simpler. Public Eye was essential viewing lets hope more episedes can be found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Meagre., 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Public Eye - The ABC Years [DVD] (DVD)
Poor value, feel a bit conned with so few episodes. One for the devoted I think. Felt the blurb was very misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Public Eye - The ABC Years [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as I remembered the later series as being good. Unfortunately, these episodes are not very good. They are very dated in all respects, the stories are weak and the sets look really false. I like Alfred Burke as an actor and there were some good well known tv actors in most episodes, but I found it seeming more like fifties tv than a decade later.

Only for real fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE GOLDEN AGE OF TELEVISION, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Public Eye - The ABC Years [DVD] (DVD)
TO FEW EPISODES WERE PUT ON THIS DVD - BUT THE ACTING IS GREAT! RECOMMENDED TO ANYONE WHO APPRECIATES THE GOLDEN AGE OF TELEVISION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb280303c)

This product

Public Eye - The ABC Years [DVD]
Public Eye - The ABC Years [DVD] by James Goddard (DVD - 2012)
8.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews