Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's Roll!, 11 April 2012
By 
J. Cross (Patterson, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stalingrad [Ltd. Cd+dvd] (Audio CD)
Stalingrad picks up where Blood of the Nations left off and shows what talent is all about. Stalingrad is Accept's best work to date. This album is definetly guitar oriented. Wolf Hoffman soars and his solos are plentiful. Mark Tornillo sounds much stronger and more confident here. There are many times that his voice sounds like Udo's back in the glory days. The songs on Stalingrad are very diverse, from classic ballads such as Shadow Soldiers to modern metal speedfreaks like Flash to Bang Time. Get this album and go see them on tour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This kicks ass, big time., 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad (Audio CD)
I stopped listening to Accept in the mid 80's, the last album I bought was Metal Heart. German metal in the 80's was fast and heavy and full of attitude. It was also a welcome change to the current crop of NWOBHM that was slowly finding itself in second place thanks to the rising glam metal scene of Los Angeles. I heard a leaked version of the title song, Stalingrad and it blew me away whilst at the same time had me reminicsing about my misplaced youth. This album is really heavy and Accept are really faithful to their origins. My fave songs on this album are Stalingrad, Hung drawn & Quartered and Revolution. They have a very fresh sound whilst still maintaning an original metal sound, this really really is a fantastic album. I am ashamed though to have stopped listening to Accept, I will certainly start to re-explore Accept from where I left off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In its own way better than BOTN, 10 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad (Audio CD)
Cracking follow up album, musically ever so slightly more adept, but bloody brilliant again how do accept do it/? nothing to sy of fo fourteen years ish, and then two Behomoths of Albums all other metal bands take note, you got lots of catching up to do. to get to Accepts level, a definate must have for metal fans...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid & decent, rather than stand-out, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Mr M.R.Watkinson (Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad (Audio CD)
Of the 2 new albums, with new singer Mark Tornillo, Blood of Nations is slightly the better, but only slightly. What Accept did between Metal Heart & BotN, I don't know, as they rather faded away in the interval, although I gather it wasn't great. With these two albums, they return very much to the signature sound of their two best albums, Balls to the Wall and Restless & Wild. Even the new singer has been chosen to sound as close to Udo as possible. He shrieks a couple of tones lower than Udo did & has a bit more stylistic range i.e. he can actually sing clean, something Udo always struggled with! To my mind, the best tracks on Stalingrad are the opening two and Revolution. By comparison, I've listed 5 tracks on my BotN review as worthy of mention, so you can see why I think this is just slightly less good. As I don't think BotN is quite worth a 5* rating, Stalingrad inevitably also isn't. But it is a good solid 4* effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIGHTNING DOES STRIKE TWICE, 17 April 2012
By 
Mr. Nr Delve "SIMON (CRUSADER)DELVE" (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stalingrad [Ltd. Cd+dvd] (Audio CD)
I WAS A LITTLE WORRIED BEFORE I PLAYED THIS FOR THE FIRST TIME,I SHOULDNT HAVE BEEN BECAUSE LIGHTNING HAS STRUCK TWICE.THIS IS FOR ME EVEN BETTER THAN BLOOD OF NATIONS WITH ACCEPT AT THE TOP OF THERE GAME.THERE'S NO NEED FOR A TRACK BY TRACK REVIEW AS THERE'S NOT A BAD TRACK HERE AND THE PRODUCTION BY MR SNEAP IS TOP NOTCH AGAIN.

BUY IT PLAY IT LOUD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accept - Stalingrad, 30 April 2012
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stalingrad (Audio CD)
Stalingrad is the thirteenth full-length studio album by the German Metal band Accept, and their second since reuniting and working with new frontman Mark Tornillo (of T.T. Quick fame) following up on the critically acclaimed comeback album Blood Of Nations from 2010.

The quality of the songwriting is excellent and the band make a superb job of mixing ballsy up-tempo tracks of purely driving classic Heavy Metal and longer dynamic tracks that shift tempos and explore clean and acoustic territory as well. There is enough variety so it isn't all just the same, but enough consistency that you're getting a pure and succinct experience.

Like Blood Of Nations before it, Stalingrad takes the classic Accept sound and modernizes it slightly. Don't misunderstand, it isn't overly contrived to be youthful, but it is energetic and vital with any cheesiness removed. The record touches on a few metal styles, with hints of Thrash, Speed and Power Metal all creeping in in small doses alongside the classic Teutonic Metal style off the early Accept albums.

Basically; imagine all the best elements of bands like Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Motorhead, Megadeth, Overkill, and others condensed down into one album of tasteful guitar melodies and soaring leads, gang-backing-vocals and hard crunchy riffs. Mark's gravely low voice and occasional high notes come across as a brilliant mid-way point between Lemmy influenced singers and Halford influenced singers and suit the music remarkably well.

The production, from Andy Sneap is also utterly perfect for the album and makes the music sound both powerful and clear, with crunchy feeling on the palm muted riffs and a clean sound on the leads. It isn't as dynamic as a 70s or 80s production job but it is a fantastic example of what a modern job can sound like when done right.

Overall, if you like Accept and especially their new line-up then this is a must-have record; if you like traditional heavy metal then this is really worth exploring and finally if you like any other metal in general then you should consider giving this record a chance. Its solid, its meaty, it's the perfect mixture of very Hard Rock and straight-up Metal and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flattened, 14 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad (Audio CD)
If they ever started drag racing Steam Rollers, and you were slowly crossing the track, the resulting impact on your physiology would be similar to your first listening to this album, turn it up to very loud n let it rip. Pobably Accepts finest work to date and by a band truly on top of their game. Simply outstanding heavy rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing double coloured red vinyl!!!, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Amazing double coloured red vinyl, it comes with poster too!!! It's double 180 gram LP red, the music is very good, it's heavy metal 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, 7 Jan 2013
By 
AbAdDoN (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad [Ltd. Cd+dvd] (Audio CD)
The order had no delay.
The cd case was not broken.
Recommend it to all metalheads. Great album ! ! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accept are as good as they have ever been. Awesome., 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad (Audio CD)
Accept - Stalingrad is an excellent album of classic metal. Purchase the special edition as you get a couple of extra tracks namely "Never Forget" and "The Galley".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stalingrad [Ltd. Cd+dvd]
Stalingrad [Ltd. Cd+dvd] by Accept (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews