Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray Review!
As far as the film goes, I don't think it needs an introduction from me; there are plenty of reviews for that elsewhere. All I will say is that if you are not familiar with it, this is a psychedelic comedy/fantasy heavily larded with classic Beatles songs and some truly iconic animation work that dates very well indeed. I never had the privilege of seeing the remastered...
Published on 6 Jun 2012 by Chinatown Blue

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NTSC not PAL format - check your DVD player
The film itself is great but we also had the problem that the DVD didn't play to start with. The DVD is actually NTSC (US TV format) and not PAL (UK format) as a listed, so it needs a DVD player that can cope with this difference. We had to find a hack online for our six-year old DVD player to enable it to play the film. Given the price of the DVD and reputation this was...
Published on 29 Nov 2012 by sd_mr


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray Review!, 6 Jun 2012
By 
Chinatown Blue "cthulhoid" (S-O-T, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellow Submarine [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
As far as the film goes, I don't think it needs an introduction from me; there are plenty of reviews for that elsewhere. All I will say is that if you are not familiar with it, this is a psychedelic comedy/fantasy heavily larded with classic Beatles songs and some truly iconic animation work that dates very well indeed. I never had the privilege of seeing the remastered dvd edition of this film, but as regards the blu ray I can honestly say it is outstanding. The colours are incredible, far brighter than I remember on my first viewing of the film (and I watched this at the cinema as a child). The painstaking restoration has paid off and this is a work of art.

The sound quality was not quite as much improved, I think, but I don't have a 5.1 system and can only say what it sounded like on a standard stereo set-up. On that basis, it was better than my old videotape by far, but on some tracks could have been improved - there was a noticeable variation in quality. The dialogue, on the other hand, was crisper and clearer than before.

The edition comes in a card slipcase which is nicely decorated with images of the Fab Four from the movie and the interior of the Yellow Submarine, but for something I want to treasure as much as this, I would have preferred a hard case. It includes a nice booklet with lots of illustrations, four film cells and some cute stickers. The extras are an audio commentary by John Coates and Heinz Edelmann; the Mod Odyssey featurette on the making of the film; the original theatrical trailer; three storyboarded sequences, including two never used; original pencil drawings, behind the scenes photos, and interviews with the crew and vocal performers. It claims to be All Region. Sound comes in PCM Stereo, Original Mono, 5.1 in English, German and Italian. Subtitles in English, German, Dutch, Finnish, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Swedish, Danish, Norwegian, Finnish and Polish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pin - sharp, brighter than ever., 2 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellow Submarine [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
A great improvement on my old DVD, colours more psychedelic and sound track much improved. Sound balance is a little exaggerated at times with overly dramatic 'swooping' effects but overall very happy with the Blu-ray edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yellow Submarine, 7 Jun 2012
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to see this film re-released, with apparently every cell cleaned by hand and restored frame by frame. The sound and picture quality are excellent and the whole disc nicely packaged. It comes in a slip case and contains a booklet, with an introduction by John Lasseter, four cells - one of each Beatle - and some Yellow Sub stickers (now adorning my kids book bags). Other reviews have already amply covered the special features - an audio commentary track by John Coates/Heinz Edelmann, Mod Odyssey, an original trailer, storyboard sequences, original pencil drawings and behind the scenes photos - so I won't do more than list them here. It seems a shame to me that more was not made of the special features - the audio commentary was interesting, but I can't imagine anyone other than an ardent fan sitting through the whole interview. It would have been better had they included a new documentary on the making of the film, even though the Beatles involvement was minimal. However, it is great to have this new, remastered version, to enjoy again. At the end of day, although Yellow Submarine has obvious appeal to different age groups, at heart this is a children's film. I took great delight in sharing this with my five and seven year old, who loved it. My five year old asked, "Mummy, did the Beatles make all submarines yellow?" after noticing many picture books had submarines of that colour in them. Indeed they did. Amongst other things, of course. Enjoy the film - oh, and the music is pretty good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, revamped, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well worth getting just for the picture quality, plus 5.1 sound, so a real pleasure to sit through. Nice touch with the four acetate stills from the film and booklet, so a very nice mini box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yellow Submarine, 11 Mar 2013
This review is from: Yellow Submarine [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
This Film is proberbly one the greatest animated films ever made, as it was way ahead of its time when it was done in 1968, and porberbly should be in any anitmated films fans collection as well as any Beatles fans collection.

Ok, assuming you have allready seen this film what do you get?
Well, the orginal negatives for this film were painstackingly restored by hand and then put into 4K resultion to create this Blu-ray. So in short you see alot more detail than ever before. Also the film is now shown in its orginal aspect ratio meaning you see everything the way it was meant to be seen.

The Sound has also been cleaned up as well, and this Blu-ray has many audio tracks. The DTS-HD Master Audio has been put into 7.1 and really makes the film and all the beatles music come alive. But if you want the Orgianl Mono sound track it is there as well.

As well as the orgianl trailers on the disc there are also a couple of documentries about the film on as well.
Also the pack includes a booklet showing how the film was done and then restored, stickers, and some film cells of the Beatles, all presented in a cardbord box shoing the inside of the Yellow Submarine.

All in all this is the best version of the film that you can buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential "60's" Nostalgia Movie, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superbly restored version of this "1960's" classic animation.,
Features crisp clear "Beatles"/"George Martin" soundtrack.
Captures the spirit of the decade when we thought anything was possible.?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic, 5 July 2012
This review is from: Yellow Submarine [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
this is an absolute gem of a film and the main thing that you probably want to know is, is it worth getting on BR the answer is yes! its stunning both visually and sound wise my only gripe is that the special features were not great as another reviewer said i would love to have seen a restoration feature showing the transistion from what the cells looked like to how they look now the packaging is lovely also with some cool prints and stickers etc over all very good only given four stars due to the lack of Special features but if there had been a little more this would be 5* all the way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classc, 23 May 2014
By 
H. May (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a dvd and it works. I liked the extras included, the posters, pictures and so on, good for creating class display
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really?, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You haven't seen it? Tut -tut. It's a little overdue. Watch it with the children and blow their minds.Apparently another word is required so here are two. Far out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blue ray copy at last!, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellow Submarine [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
This wonderful film that I have seen many times, is now seen at it's best in this Blue ray copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yellow Submarine [Blu-ray] [2012]
Yellow Submarine [Blu-ray] [2012] by The Beatles (Blu-ray - 2012)
£20.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews