Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A flexible prayer book
I loved this prayer book from the moment I opened the parcel. It's got a satisfying feel just to hold it in its soft case and it feels as though it will last.

I've just retired as a vicar and I wanted a short office book that I could use as I adjust to my new life. I didn't want something as full as the Franciscan Office Book (which I already have in short...
Published on 28 Dec 2009 by Yardswoman

versus
24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but disappointing
How big is your biggest pocket? If it is about A5 size then all is well. If it is smaller, this publication will have to be carried in your hand or in a bag. A compact book like those issued for the Book of common Prayer is still not available for Common Worship. This book contains some of the already published texts from Common Worship Daily Prayer. The book was printed...
Published on 2 Aug 2006 by N. P. Lamb


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A flexible prayer book, 28 Dec 2009
By 
Yardswoman (Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this prayer book from the moment I opened the parcel. It's got a satisfying feel just to hold it in its soft case and it feels as though it will last.

I've just retired as a vicar and I wanted a short office book that I could use as I adjust to my new life. I didn't want something as full as the Franciscan Office Book (which I already have in short and long editions)but rather something which would enable and encourage me to pray flexibly. The introductory notes on preparing for prayer are helpful as are the explanations of structure etc. The two prayer framworks are short and use material from Common Worship but encourage use of other material. (I'm using it in conjunction with "Reflections for daily prayer, also published by Church House Publishing.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but disappointing, 2 Aug 2006
How big is your biggest pocket? If it is about A5 size then all is well. If it is smaller, this publication will have to be carried in your hand or in a bag. A compact book like those issued for the Book of common Prayer is still not available for Common Worship. This book contains some of the already published texts from Common Worship Daily Prayer. The book was printed and bound by the Cambridge University Press. The cover is more like Vivella (imitation leather) than the real thing. The cornmers of the pages have not been rounded to match the cover. The spine as seen from above or below is made up of a thick layer of glue. There is no band at the top or bottom. It seems like a ribbon was too much of a good thing to include.

Sorry to be so negative. Church House Publishing has missed a great opportunity to help people enrich their prayer lives outside their own home, simply because the book is too large. The three stars are for the book itself. The content I have not rated.

The price is way too high. This publication will be out of the reach of many people who could benefit from using it.

A tip for Chruch House Publishing: a book half the size for a little more than half the price, nicely finished and with a ribbon and you have a winner.

For those of you with big pockets and well-filled wallets, this book will enrich your faith and guide you day by day through your prayers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to Pray, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time to Pray: (Common Worship: Services and Prayers for the Church of England) (Kindle Edition)
Time to Pray is a real gift to the contemporary Church from the Christian tradition, secure in its regular and ordered worship
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic book! I use it most days especially Compline. It's compact, easy to use and easy to follow. I'd recommend it to anyone who wants a simpler version of the Common Worship Daily Prayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal companion, 12 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautifully produced, light, slim and durable - fits perfectly into a briefcase or "man bag"! Provides a very handy form of the Daily Office either for those on the move, or who, like myself, who need to fit the Office into a broader prayer schedule, and hence find the full SSF Daily Office, or the complete Common Worship Daily Prayer, too unwieldy. The selected Psalms and short readings are good enough to use when travelling, or else can supplement the Lectionary readings when these are available. Can't recommend this too highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to Pray - always, 20 Jun 2009
By 
M. Walsh "marwal" (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book is a little on the large side for a pocket but perfect for a handbag or case. I use the prayer book most days and find it most helpful in my private life and in my work as a hospital chaplain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lightweight and easy to carry about, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really helpful little book, lightweight and easy to carry about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Prayer in your Pocket!, 7 Dec 2007
By 
A. B. Mcmullon "Skypilot" (Sedbergh, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I have to agree with the previous reviewer. Daily Prayer in the Big Book of Common Worship is too complicated and confusing for most users - both lay and ordained! The Franciscan Celebrating Daily Prayer set the standard with their original pocket book which has given me sterling service in many an out of the way place when I was travelling light. I had hoped for a similar pocket book from the Common Worship stable but this is not it! We need a pocket prayer book that does what it says on the cover - actually fits in a jacket pocket (probably no bigger than 5x15cms) with a hardwearing cover (not necessarily leather) and pages that are heavy enough not to have too much show through (which, with the larger size spoils the newer version of the SSF Daily Office).

Now that can't be too dificult - can it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to Pray, 6 Dec 2011
This book has a lovely feel, and is a pleasure to handle. It is comprehensive and convenient to use - all Bible passages are printed in full. It contains a shortened form of Daily Prayer, with Seasonal Options, and a useful Night Prayer for year round use. As a shortened Office I use it (nearly) every day . But I do wish it was available on Kindle - so much easier when travelling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why on earth buy this?, 26 Oct 2012
This review is from: Time to Pray: (Common Worship: Services and Prayers for the Church of England) (Kindle Edition)
Why buy this eprayer book when you can get all of its contents plus so, so much more (like Morning and Evening Prayer, Night Prayer and a full Psalter and set of Canticles plus other prayers, etc. for starters!) for 41p LESS by buying the entire Common Worship Daily Prayer book in the Kindle edition? Common Worship: Daily Prayer (Common Worship: Services and Prayers for the Church of England)

It just doesn't make any sense at all. I can see why you might just want the convenience of a small office book such as this Time to Pray in hard copy, to carry around with you, rather than the much heavier Daily Prayer book, but when we are talking/praying ebooks, it just doesn't make any sense at all.

If you want an even better eprayer book bargain and are not committed to using Common Worship or have any problems with using the 1979 prayer book of ECUSA (obviously Anglican and not so dissimilar from the Common Worship updating of the 1662 Book of Common Prayer), why not consider this absolutely amazing bargain for only (currently) 2.68: THE BOOK OF COMMON PRAYER (Special Kindle Enabled Version): Authorized Edition | Authorised Edition OVER 500 PAGES OF CHRISTIAN PRAYERS (Prayers for Kindle / Prayer Books for Kindle) Check a sample of it which will show you enough of the extensively hyperlinked contents to show you what you get to see in the full copy. Not sure why one reviewer of it complains about how hopeless it is to use when it is so well hyperlinked.

However, this is supposed to be a review/comment on the Time to Pray Kindle edition so I'll say no more about other prayer books. No stars (or the obligatory one star) for the pricing of Time to Pray in Kindle format; probably three or four stars for the actual content of Time to Pray when considered not as an ebook but as a prayer book in its own right and with no consideration of pricing entering into that judgment. Since any review of a Kindle edition of a book that is available in hard copy should, IMHO, take account of its pros/cons as an ebook version (and one of those must fairly be its price), I make no apologies for giving this review the minimum star(s), rather than three or four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews