Customer Reviews


412 Reviews
5 star:
 (175)
4 star:
 (97)
3 star:
 (65)
2 star:
 (49)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bourne legacy
Wow what a great movie.Anybody who enjoyed the first three movies will love this.
I dont understand all the bad reviews and i am so glad i didnt let them put me off buying this.Its very clever how they have tie this story line into the first three movies aand is a worthy addition to the first three Bourne movies.BUY IT.
Published 19 months ago by Shrimper

versus
126 of 139 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bourne less
The Bourne Legacy isn't a remake or reboot or rewhatever of the Bourne movies. It's a continuation of the series with a brand new lead actor and characters. Past events from previous films are mentioned and past characters, appearances from David Straithairn, Albert Finney and Joan Allen as their characters from the movies ensure continuity yet the whole film starts...
Published 23 months ago by Mr. R. W. Graham


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bourne legacy, 29 Dec 2012
Wow what a great movie.Anybody who enjoyed the first three movies will love this.
I dont understand all the bad reviews and i am so glad i didnt let them put me off buying this.Its very clever how they have tie this story line into the first three movies aand is a worthy addition to the first three Bourne movies.BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 139 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bourne less, 16 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The Bourne Legacy isn't a remake or reboot or rewhatever of the Bourne movies. It's a continuation of the series with a brand new lead actor and characters. Past events from previous films are mentioned and past characters, appearances from David Straithairn, Albert Finney and Joan Allen as their characters from the movies ensure continuity yet the whole film starts afresh with a new assassin, Aaron Cross played by Jeremy Renner on the run from the same government agency hunting Bourne and they are still hunting him according to the movie it's just you don't see it here on screen. Edward Norton and Rachel Weiss are the new cast members and although good they have both done better as has Jeremy Renner as Cross. It's a slow but tense start which sees Treadstone covering their tracks by killing or silencing anyone that could uncover and reveal their work but the 2nd half of the movie has some good action. There are ways the series could continue, either returning Matt Damon to the series or by carrying on with Jeremy Renner but maybe it's time to give the series a rest. Ok and worth a watch just not as good as the first three films in the series especially the excellent The Bourne Ultimatum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bourne Legacy, 7 Jan 2013
By 
David Mee "Dave" (West Midlands U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy [DVD] (DVD)
Could they find something else for Bourne to do "Yes they could" have the others and watch them all the time never get tired of them so got this not knowing what we have or to be honest who the main actor was but first rate film and first rate actor well done one and all. The ending leaves opening for even more and long may the story go on another 5 star film enjoy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


127 of 143 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bourne again franchise, 9 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, so the original Bourne movies ( based on a series of Robert Ludlum thrillers ) followed the amnesiac super-'assassin' Jason Bourne through his attempts to recover his memory and understand how he came to possess a rather interesting skill set (gadget-master; amateur spiderman; martial arts-guru) while simultaneously avoiding the evil clutches of 'bent' US agencies and other similarly skilled bad-guys from Operation Treadstone. The last movie ended as the first one had begun with JB face down in cold water.... alive/dead? - well; if you don't already know, then go and watch one of the best movie franchises to date for the answer.
Nevertheless the premise, that Jason Bourne was not the only one of these agents, was there from the original movie. This is where the Bourne Legacy takes off.
Jeremy Renner plays another agent from Operation Treadstone minding his own business in the icy wastes of North America and getting tooled up to kill and maim; until, that is, that his employers decide that he needs more than just a P45- the operation, and it's agents need to be 'wound up' thanks to Jason Bourne who seems have fallen under the radar of The Guardian (newspaper) - and what follows are a series of "mopping up" scenes reminiscent of The Godfather and Revenge of the Sith- as Treadstoners are sent to 'swim with the fishes'. This is the cue for our man to stand up, and for the mayhem to begin.

What I really enjoyed about the movie was how the thread of the storyline was woven into the fabric of the previous films plot before threading off into it's own original material. Yes this is set firmly in the already well envisaged Bourne Universe with characters from the previous movies (Pamela Landy) still alive and well. (even one of the Dead ones is up and running- albeit briefly!) The pace is superb, with a slow start -which allows for character and plot development - but which cranks up steadily into a truly frenetic climax with action scenes that I thought were purposefully clipped to give the impression of blink-or-you'll-miss-it speed.

The main protagonist Jeremy Renner takes on the lead like he was to the Manor Bourne and shows that Bourne did more for Matt Damon than Matt Damon did for Bourne; and the fine ensemble cast do themselves proud.

The movie also does a fine job of explaining the basis of how the 'Jason Bourne's' of this world get their skills - and the underlying science of it all isn't too badly handled either.

All in all a fantastic movie to watch on the big screen, and as good as any of the Bourne sequels. I really do not know why it has received such a mauling in the UK press (2 stars Empire magazine? Shame on you!) - but audience figures seem to show that the franchise does not need a star who was Bourne in a manger to make it work.

And thanks to Moby for a revamped version of Extreme Ways!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bourne Again, 16 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy [DVD] (DVD)
Well I have to say I'm taken aback by the ferocious negativity of the three reviews posted here so far. I thought that Renner and Weisz made a great team and injected fresh vigour into a series that seemed to have run its course. Yes there's too much technobabble, and yes the film sags a little in the middle, as if not sure exactly where it's going, however it is still a vibrant and intelligent spy movie that re-energises the formula and provides further opportunities for the series to live on - provided of course that 'Bourne 5' comes up with an original plot..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NATURAL BOURNE KILLER!, 25 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy [DVD] (DVD)
The Bourne Legacy is a continuation of the Robert Ludlum inspired spy series but without Matt Damon's amnesiac assassin as its focal point. To many it will feel pointless and just a cash in on the excellent original trilogy. While Tony Gilroy's fourth chapter never feels particularly vital, it's certainly not the cynical cash and grab we might've feared. For one thing it has the always excellent Jeremy Renner, capably inheriting Damon's mantle as another secret agent who finds himself at odds with his shadowy superiors. Introduced as a full bearded mountain man on a training outing in Alaska, Renner's Aaron Cross soon proves himself to be a force to be reckoned with whether dealing with freezing water, snarling wolves or an automated drone plane. He's also no slouch on a motorbike, a climactic chase through the streets of Manila giving second unit director Dan Bradley (a Bourne veteran) another chance to run riot in a teeming urban environment. This thrilling set piece isn't the only Bourne signifier. Like Doug Liman and Paul Greengrass before him, Gilroy gritty camera shaking action comes in the field with testy scenes at Espionage HQ. Here with Ed Norton and Stacy Keach as government suits battling to contain the "infection" that Jason Bourne's exploits have let loose. Fleeting cameos from Scott Glenn, David Strathairn and Albert Finney further assist the movie's aim to be a logical extension of a pre-established universe. The result is it's surprisingly easy to see Legacy as a parallel adventure, allied to yet not reliant on what's gone before, but the niggle is that some of this intrusion of Jason's outing feels a little shoe horned in. For all Renner's swagger and physical dexterity, his hounded hero simply isn't as compelling a protagonist as Damon's Jason. Robbed of his memory and sense of self, Jason's quest to uncover his nature gave the original trilogy an almost existential element as Bourne strived to reconcile the man he was with who he hoped to be. Aaron's problem is more pedestrian, a chemical dependency on the meds that make him quicker, stronger and brainier. Teaming up with Rachel Weisz's lab technician, Renner effectively conveys sweaty desperation as he races to get the pills on which his life depends. Yet because he's essentially a junkie after a fix, he's a hard man to warm to in a film that, without a human connection, feels noticeably cold to the touch. This is still a first rate thriller, but it's not in the same class as the original Bourne's. Although assured if not inspired, Legacy does keeps the Bourne engine ticking over without reaching top gear. The action's accomplished and Renner's fine. Without Matt Damon, however,it feels a little un-needed. Fingers crossed that in the future Renner and Damon team up.
See if you like......
The Bourne Identity.
Bourne Supremacy.
Bourne Ultimatum.
Casino Royale.
Quantum Of Solcae.
Skyfall
Taken.
Taken 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bourne again..., 1 Jan 2014
By 
Hobbers "NH" (Bromley, Kent UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy [DVD] (DVD)
For me this was a good film but not a patch on the first three with Matt Damon. the first three sit happily together and one of the few trilogies I could watch one after the other. However this seems a like a tacked on addition, entertaining in itself but does make me watch to watch 4 in a row.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great film - terrible post production made it almost unwatchable!, 27 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Kevin P. Teasdale "Kevin Teasdale" (Newton Aycliffe, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
No need to repeat everything that has already been said here but I would like to say that I am a huge fan of the original three films.
This latest film supposedly takes place during the last film and adds to the plot and the background and interleaves new charachters with old and IMHO it does this very well and still leaves room for these characters and Jason Bourne at any time in the future. I liked the ridiculous plot development and the acting is great, I would rate the other films as five stars so why give this one only one star?

One reason alone - original or post production camera shake.

I could understand it if all of the participants were fresh out of film school:

- Make it look like you are in the room. (Camera shake does not do this. Unless you have a bobblehead above your neck or a serious medical condition your eyes and head do not jump about all over the place).
- Make it look edgy. (No, building up the plot, the acting, fast cuts and well scored music makes it edgy; you just made me feel physically sick).
- It is a great tool to hide mistakes or production tools such as wires, hidden crew members, etc (so how do other films manage it without resorting to this?)

But these people are seasoned professionals. I honestly felt sick several times during this film (the pointless circling in the laboratory scene after lots of shaking camera shots was one bad example) and I stopped the film each time for a break. I sincerely hope that this 'fad' ends soon, with the rare exception of showing a first persons view it adds nothing to a well made film and removes almost the entire viewing pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing to start with, 11 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy [DVD] (DVD)
One felt you knew where you were and where you were going with the Damon series: Memory loss,discovering you have awesome skills and piecing these factors together to find your identity.
In Legacy its unclear why and what our new hero,Renner,
is doing wandering around the snowbound setting of this latest Bourne episode.
Eventually things become clearer but by then I"d lost a lot of empathy with our hero.
I"m afraid this just did not work for me,even as a stand alone film and ignoring the 3 brilliant previous productions starring Matt Damon.
Bring back Doug Liman and Paul Greengrass(and Brian Cox if possible!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very exciting thriller that is a little light on plot, 23 Jan 2013
I had hopes for Legacy, as Renner's a good actor and a change of performer isn't always the be-all and end-all of a series (look at Bond). On watching it, I'm happy to say that not only is it rich in atmosphere and a familiar sense of never quite knowing who might betray who, but also full of punchy, thrilling action sequences. Renner makes a conflicted, multi-layered hero. At times he seems likeable, at others verging on amoral and bitter. It makes for fun viewing. Weisz's scientist is enjoyable and she gets some great scenes, her chemistry with Renner working pretty well. Norton is good but feels a little wasted as he largely just fills the same role as Chris Cooper did in the Bourne Identity - ie: "Where is he? Get him!"
The integration of Legacy with Ultimatum's timeline (many of the third Bourne movie's events happen in the background or are referred to in TV news reports) enriches the new film and makes it feel part of the same world.
The Blu-Ray quality is very good as well, with the snowy scenes crisp and stark, and the sound excellent.
As a director, Gilroy is terrific, and many of the hand to hand fight scenes carry the same breathless intoxication of speed and heart-in-mouth shock of those in 'The Bourne Identity' - there's no doubt Renner and his director can cope with action.
If the film has any flaws, it's that the new bad guys are thinly sketched, the film is a blatant set-up for a new franchise, and essentially it has no plot beyond "Get him!" - a fact that is so well hidden by the well-paced action that it only really struck me as the credits started to roll and I had a moment of "What...that's it? Where's the big scheme or nefarious plan???"
Nevertheless, it's a great opener for a series that now carries refreshed potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bourne Legacy [DVD]
The Bourne Legacy [DVD] by Tony Gilroy (DVD - 2012)
4.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews