Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining tale set in old Edinburgh
This is book three in the Inspector McLevy series and should really be read in sequence as David Ashton has built on the various characters as he develops each of the novels. By book three they transform in to well known and well loved character whose traits are easily rcogniable to the reader.
In this story Ashton weaves Arthur Conan Doyle through the book and one...
Published on 23 Nov 2011 by glasgowhappyscot

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow
I quite liked the book but thought it a bit slow and couldn't like the main character, I like the way Conan Doyle was brought in to the book though
Published 3 months ago by Claudia Kessler


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining tale set in old Edinburgh, 23 Nov 2011
This is book three in the Inspector McLevy series and should really be read in sequence as David Ashton has built on the various characters as he develops each of the novels. By book three they transform in to well known and well loved character whose traits are easily rcogniable to the reader.
In this story Ashton weaves Arthur Conan Doyle through the book and one is left to ponder how much of Sherlock Holmes is reflected in Inspector Mclevy (or should that be the other way around!). There are enough twists in the tale to keep the reader interested right up to the very end.
Hopefully we will see further stories emerge and build further on the characters. Surprised that the books have not made their way on top either the big or the small screen, they have the potential for a lot of humour as well as being murder mysteries and I can already imagine some well known Scottish actors in the various roles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid evocation of Leith in Victorian times, 9 Nov 2010
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got to know David Ashton's stories about James McLevy "inspector of police" through dramatizations by BBC Radio Scotland on Radio 4. As far as I know the author first wrote a series of McLevy stories that were broadcast as short radio plays and then has combined several of the investigations to create this book. I recognized the investigations and as I read could hear the wonderful voices of actor Brian Cox, who plays McLevy, and Siobham Redmond who plays the feisty madam of the Happy Land brothel in Leith. There's a suggestion of a previous relationship between McLevy and Jean but it's never elaborated other than their mutual love of good coffee.

Ashton's writings evoke the seedy underworld that was Leith: the latter an area of dockland that later became incorporated into Edinburgh, which, well into the 20th century was not a place you'd want to walk in alone late at night.
The book has not only a great sense of place and but is also full of humour with dialogue that captures the speech patterns and colloquial language of the area. Some of the latter words will be unfamiliar to many but their meaning is often discernible from the way they sound. e.g., dreich = a dull, overcast day; to boak = to vomit.

A robbery, that may be an inside job; a turf war between Jean Brash and a competing brothel madam; secret agents connected with the American Civil War and a Spiritualist medium all provide threads in this very enjoyable book. The creation of characters and their interactions are the key joys of these stories, not just Jean and McLevy but also the latter's boss, Lieutenant Roach, as a caricature of the upright pillar of Presbyterian rectitude; Constable Mulholland who solemnly quotes his auntie Katie and novice policeman Ballantyne who saves the lives of insects he finds in the station. Real life Arthur Conan Doyle (who trained in medicine in Edinburgh) dots in and out of the story as an enthusiastic participant in the detective work.

I've read that there was a real Leith policeman called McLevy in Victorian times who was friendly with a local madam called Jean Brash, but that the author has fashioned their characters from his imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mediums and Murder, 13 Oct 2010
By 
Mrs. Mary Ellis "Hillockhead" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Another delicious, intriguing McLevy mystery. Ashton's evocation of Victorian Edinburgh is joyous. McLevy, as carnaptious and crusty as ever, educates a young and eager medical student named Arthur Conan Doyle in the interpretation and evaluation of clues, while sorting out murder mayhem and some shady paranormal goings on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cracking good summer read, 25 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In Inspector Mclevy David Ashton has created an excellent addition to the Scottish crime genre. Set in Victorian Leith the grimy and exciting port of Edinburgh.

Flawed as a detective should be he wages his war based on right and wrong rather than just the law.

I have already recommended this series to other Kindle users
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mclevy Mysteries, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One bood of a great detective series. The descriptions of society and atmosphere of Leith in the late 19th Century, in which the book is set, is excellent. The description of Detective Mclevy's emotions and relationships, including with a feral cat, are great.

The interlacing of real characters from history is a bit fanciful, but immediately gives the story a context; however the author also provides a detailed explanation of the context of the story within society of that time . The pace is good and probably reflects the origins of the main character in radio plays.

I should hope for more books of the same characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit harder going than the previous two books, 29 Feb 2012
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trick of the Light (An Inspector McLevy Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Although the title of my review suggests this may not be a good read, I have only criticised it in comparison with the previous two books as they are truly excellent reads. This one, as I say, I found a bit harder going. It seems to me that the author was trying too hard to fit as much as possible into the story and quite frankly the presence of Arthur Conan Doyle, whilst interesting at first, became an encumbrance later on with too many coincidental meetings between Mclevy, Mukholland and Doyle being my main bugbear. Having said all that this is still head and shoulders above the competition and the series should be much more popular than it appears to be. There was probably enough material here for two books with a bit of filling out of character and place, both of which incidentally, is beautifully described in this book as well as the others which makes the series the joy it is. I've just discovered the radio plays on Audible and I can heartily recommend them as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I could have wept..., 8 Jan 2011
By 
C. McNicoll "Colin" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
...when I finished this, the third of David Ashton's excellent McLevy novels. Why? Because it's just so damn brilliant, that I was in mourning for the lack of a fourth book to move onto instantly. Wonderfully written and observed, brimful of characters you can associate with instantly. At once tense, then spiked with humour, mostly inspired by the eponymous hero of the hour. I haven't yet caught up with the audio McLevy's though I intend to. I simply imagined Ken Stott of Rebus fame, as McLevy and it worked perfectly...for me at any rate. Invest in these books. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars atmospheric, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trick of the Light (An Inspector McLevy Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
unlike some detective stories this is neither too graphic nor anodyne. weaving believable fictional characters into a historical perspective seemingly brings to life an era that is long gone. a really enjoyable read with occasional jolts that bring you up sharp as their reality bites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trick of the Light (An Inspector McLevy Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Another well written and easy to read mystery. Good characterization and plots ... more please..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely disappointing, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trick of the Light (An Inspector McLevy Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
I loved the first two books and was thus tempted to buy this one. Wish I had saved my money. The plot is convoluted and boring, too many threads for real enjoyment. Needless to say, this is the last of the series I will be reading. Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews