Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 3 of the Hew Cullan mysteries
Eagerly anticipated book 3 of the Hew Cullan mysteries as I found books 1 and 2 very addictive...... Having just finished 'Time & Tide' it was certainly a worthy follow-on to the previous books in the series. In fact the characters are developing nicely now and the feel of the natural and political landscape is excellent. 'Time & Tide' would certainly make an excellent...
Published on 23 Dec 2011 by GMR

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
Not what I was expecting. This is a very limp episode, almost like the writer was forced to knock out a story rather too quickly. Hew Cullen did not solve any great mystery in this one, which is a shame because i loved the first book.
Published 1 month ago by Huge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 3 of the Hew Cullan mysteries, 23 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Eagerly anticipated book 3 of the Hew Cullan mysteries as I found books 1 and 2 very addictive...... Having just finished 'Time & Tide' it was certainly a worthy follow-on to the previous books in the series. In fact the characters are developing nicely now and the feel of the natural and political landscape is excellent. 'Time & Tide' would certainly make an excellent film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A glimpse into different times, 22 July 2014
By 
S. Light (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time and Tide: A Hew Cullen Mystery: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this very much. I'm not usually a reader of medieval crime fiction and this is the second book in the series that I've read. While it took me a while to get into the period in the first one, this came much more easily and I found it simpler to understand the vast differences between then and now. The characters are well developed and the relationships between them interesting. Quite startling in parts to realise how subservient women were and how tenuous their hold on life could be when stepping out of line. It made me feel very grateful for being part of the twenty-first century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better and better, 29 Nov 2012
By 
John Beattie (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time and Tide: A Hew Cullen Mystery: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
The Hew Cullan series just gets better and better.
Ranging from St Andrews to Ghent, this book tells an authentic and intriguing story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where the wind blows, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time and Tide: A Hew Cullen Mystery: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
Another gem by shirley Mckay Hew is at his best looking for the answer to the mystery surrounding a windmill and two deaths have the town in a state of panic, all is settled by a trip to Holland and some shrewd acting on hews behalf
A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable adventure within the 'Hew Cullen' series., 13 July 2014
By 
R. Long (Bolton, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time and Tide: A Hew Cullen Mystery: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
I am enjoying the story, and how the different recurring characters develop from book to book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed the first book in the series and have not ..., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time and Tide: A Hew Cullen Mystery: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the first book in the series and have not been disappointed with the three following books. Hew Cullen is an interesting character and it is fascinating to watch his character develop during the series. Look forward to reading more of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Time and Tide, 27 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time and Tide: A Hew Cullen Mystery: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
Like all the Hew Cullen books, this one is a good read. My only criticism is that I find difficulty in keeping track of the characters, and who is speaking at any given time. This problem may be mind rather than the author's. I recommend the book to anyone interested in historical mystery stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well-written and researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good Hew Cullen mystery, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time and Tide: A Hew Cullen Mystery: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
If you like period mysteries, this series of books is sure to please. Grips you from the dramatic opening. Cullen and the other main characters grow pleasing through the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time and Tide: A Hew Cullen Mystery: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
Not what I was expecting. This is a very limp episode, almost like the writer was forced to knock out a story rather too quickly. Hew Cullen did not solve any great mystery in this one, which is a shame because i loved the first book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews