Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Highly Recommended
This is an informative and entertaining book on the love of Jack House's life - the city of Glasgow. The city's history is told in a very interesting way and with a great sense of humour, which will appeal to Glaswegians and 'outsiders' alike. The book is packed with facts and detail and so requires relatively slow reading but it is never dry. Anyone who genuinely...
Published on 8 July 2005 by fmr281

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fact or fable
Some of what is written, as with most stories dating back to the 17th and 18th century may, or may not be a work of fiction therefore it's up to you to decide if some of these tales are tall or not. I guess the only ones who will ever know are those who were around then!

A little repetitive in parts, and possibly too many stories from the theatre days for my...
Published 19 months ago by Minimoo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Highly Recommended, 8 July 2005
This review is from: The Heart of Glasgow (Hardcover)
This is an informative and entertaining book on the love of Jack House's life - the city of Glasgow. The city's history is told in a very interesting way and with a great sense of humour, which will appeal to Glaswegians and 'outsiders' alike. The book is packed with facts and detail and so requires relatively slow reading but it is never dry. Anyone who genuinely loves Glasgow, or just wants to know more about this city of great character, could not do better than this. Jack House wrote around 70 books and the others will be worth searching out. He was an authority on the Madeline Smith case, which is described in his 'Square Mile of Murder' book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Heart of Glasgow, 3 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The Heart of Glasgow (Hardcover)
Product just what we hoped for in terms of its coverage of Glasgow. It's been well received by it's recipient who remembers the author as a much respected journalist whose writings about the city were very poplular and eagerly anticiapated by fellow Glaswegians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heart of Glasgow, 19 Dec. 2011
This review is from: The Heart of Glasgow (Hardcover)
a fantastic read. few people knew as much about Glasgow as Jack House.
written in an entertaining style. This is a must read for all glasweigens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heart of Glasgow (Kindle Edition)
As a Scot, i was fascinated to read and learn information all about a city i thought i knew. A wee gem all done in a conversational style as though he was relating the story directly to you over a single malt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fact or fable, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heart of Glasgow (Kindle Edition)
Some of what is written, as with most stories dating back to the 17th and 18th century may, or may not be a work of fiction therefore it's up to you to decide if some of these tales are tall or not. I guess the only ones who will ever know are those who were around then!

A little repetitive in parts, and possibly too many stories from the theatre days for my liking, still, this was a good wee read and even I, a born and bred Glaswegian, learned a thing or two. I'll be sure to pay a little more attention when I'm next in the city centre to those little bits of history that are fortunate to still be around today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heart of Glasgow (Kindle Edition)
A very entertaining book, by a good story teller. I wouldn't necessarily believe all the stories, but I have certainly enjoyed reading them. For those who know Glasgow well, this book is a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good information and easy reading, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heart of Glasgow (Kindle Edition)
Very good read for anyone who had connections with Glasgow in the 50 / 60
Filled in gaps in history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Glasgow, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heart of Glasgow (Kindle Edition)
Coming from Glasgow I was extremely fascinated by the old stories and it grew from small suburbs to the city it is now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend, 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heart of Glasgow (Kindle Edition)
Great read and coming from Glasgow I could really get in to the story ..
amazing read highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 18 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. H. Grainge (West Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heart of Glasgow (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book but I should explain that I grew up near Glasgow in the 1920/30s and worked in Glasgow in the 1930s so it has a certain appeal for me. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Heart of Glasgow
The Heart of Glasgow by Jack House
£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews