Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A trifle out of date, but overall very close to the mark
A few things in this book are outdated and suggest that the author doesn't visit Scotland as much as he used to - for example annual "Home International" football matches ended years ago, and I doubt many Scots under the age of 30 would be familiar with such terms as "pawkie" - but overall this is a very accurate and entertaining look at the national...
Published on 28 Jun 2002

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light hearted rubbish
I really can not be bothered to comment on this book - it is designed to take the Mickey, which it does well.
Published 12 months ago by Lamu Hermit


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A trifle out of date, but overall very close to the mark, 28 Jun 2002
By A Customer
A few things in this book are outdated and suggest that the author doesn't visit Scotland as much as he used to - for example annual "Home International" football matches ended years ago, and I doubt many Scots under the age of 30 would be familiar with such terms as "pawkie" - but overall this is a very accurate and entertaining look at the national characteristics of the Scots.
The author has a very Scottish sense of humour that laughs with, and never at, Scottish eccentricities. The first half of the book contains the best material with a very perceptive look at the Scottish psyche. I felt it waned somewhat towards the end as he tackled the less interesting, more impersonal areas of politics and constitutional matters, but overall this book is a wee gem. The author's warmth and affection for Scotland and the Scots shines through his writing.
I bought it as a gift for my (American) wife and she enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A short but definitive guide to understanding the Scots, 15 Mar 2002
By A Customer
If anyone wants to understand who the Scots are, what makes them tick, and what makes them different from the English, this is the book for them. It packs an amazing amount of information into such a short space, and makes it entertaining as well as informative. As a Soct (albeit one exiled acroos the North Channel) I can say I have never read a more useful guide to my people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars aye, no' bad, 20 Oct 2010
By 
very interesting,filled with anecdotes,its an entertaining book.Recommend for people seeking some light reading,not suitable for those wishing to research Scottish history etc in detail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scottishness., 19 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this absolutely spot on, so I bought the English and Welsh versions. These are great books, but could do without the separate quotes on each page. I found these a bit annoying, but the books are very accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpfully Amusing, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Xenophobe's Guide to the Scots (Xenophobe's Guides) (Kindle Edition)
I love the Xenophobe's Guides and this one all the more because of my Scottish ancestry. Amusing, seemingly honest and very readable. A great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and true but..., 19 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Xenophobe's Guide to the Scots (Xenophobe's Guides) (Kindle Edition)
Being married to a Scot I found this funny and for the most parts, accurate. But, it is quite out of date with the jokes and quips. Well worth a read though. Would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greaaaaat Read., 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Xenophobe's Guide to the Scots (Xenophobe's Guides) (Kindle Edition)
Captures the essence of Scotland, the Scots and of course yer other National Drink - Irn Bru! Read it and learn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bullseye!, 1 Nov 2003
By A Customer
Hits the mark every time. Painfully accurate (and funny) description of us - here's tae us, wha's like us?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scots Guide, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Xenophobe's Guide to the Scots (Xenophobe's Guides) (Kindle Edition)
This is a good book, well priced and conveniently delivered to Kindle. The rest of this text completes my review quota.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light hearted rubbish, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really can not be bothered to comment on this book - it is designed to take the Mickey, which it does well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews