Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book
It is a good book with good humor. It does not cover every single aspect of modern Russia (but it is not supposed to do) and there is a need of some facts to be updated (well, the book was written a while ago) but it does answer the majority of the questions asked about us, Russians. And do not forget you are supposed to laugh while reading this book :)
Published 15 months ago by semargle

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing really special
The author sticks to standard ethnical myths about Russians: that we all do nothing but drink vodka day and night, that our school education is best in the world, that children are brought up by bad-looking but loving babushkas, that under socialism one would go to a concentration camp for any expression of dissenting political views, etc. If you want to get more than...
Published 15 months ago by Assya Ostroukh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing really special, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Assya Ostroukh (Krasnodar, Krasnodar region Russian Federation) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author sticks to standard ethnical myths about Russians: that we all do nothing but drink vodka day and night, that our school education is best in the world, that children are brought up by bad-looking but loving babushkas, that under socialism one would go to a concentration camp for any expression of dissenting political views, etc. If you want to get more than that, you will learn how the poor lived in central Russia 20-30 years ago. Most changes in the lifestyle are ignored (may be due to the author's age). Moscow, Saint-Petersburg and the South live quite differently from what he is telling us. The emerging middle class is disregarded, you only get unfunny jokes about the new rich. Russian humour is also misrepresented in the book: it is far way more subtle and delicate. Overall, it is very unlikely that an average tourist would meet the people described in the book. As a tourist guide for someone going to the country the book is not really helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is part of a series of books, some of which are better than others. I found this one ok but not more: for the amazon price a quick diverting little read, but not worth the full price for 80 pages. Can't really recommend with enthusiasm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No longer the USSR, or is it?, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Xenophobe's Guide to the Russians (Xenophobe's Guides) (Kindle Edition)
As someone who still thinks of our Russian comrades (Can I use that phrase now?) from the days of the cold war, I found this highly amusing and educational and actually thought that Russia was moving forward - until Crimea. Same old same old it appears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent read, 25 July 2013
By 
Mr. B. A. French "bazzafrench" (Hampton Hill, Middx) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Xenophobe's Guide to the Russians (Xenophobe's Guides) (Kindle Edition)
I've read a lot of this series. A decent enough read, but it is impossible to cover Russia in just a few pages. Lightly laced with humour as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a good book with good humor. It does not cover every single aspect of modern Russia (but it is not supposed to do) and there is a need of some facts to be updated (well, the book was written a while ago) but it does answer the majority of the questions asked about us, Russians. And do not forget you are supposed to laugh while reading this book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews