Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her best yet!
In Leigh Russell's third installment of 'DI Geraldine Steel' Series we once again see Geralding thrown into a messy and disturbing case. In this particular book, headmistress Abigail Kirby is found dead in a park, but in this instance it seems that her tongue has been cut out. DI Geraldine Steel, along with her colleague Ian Peterson are put on the case, and when a...
Published on 29 May 2011 by Best Crime Books

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Easy Read
It's an easy read which takes you through the old fashioned "who done it". Unfortunately the clues are fairly heavy and obvious so it isn't a surprise when the killer is revealed. Good holiday reading as it doesn't need too much thought. Its builds on DI Steel's character and leaves some avenues open so looking forward to reading more in the next instalment.
Published on 18 Sep 2011 by Aligirlbear


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Easy Read, 18 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's an easy read which takes you through the old fashioned "who done it". Unfortunately the clues are fairly heavy and obvious so it isn't a surprise when the killer is revealed. Good holiday reading as it doesn't need too much thought. Its builds on DI Steel's character and leaves some avenues open so looking forward to reading more in the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her best yet!, 29 May 2011
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In Leigh Russell's third installment of 'DI Geraldine Steel' Series we once again see Geralding thrown into a messy and disturbing case. In this particular book, headmistress Abigail Kirby is found dead in a park, but in this instance it seems that her tongue has been cut out. DI Geraldine Steel, along with her colleague Ian Peterson are put on the case, and when a potential witness is blinded and murdered, the case seems to get out of control.

I admit that I am a sucker when it comes to 'series' featuring the same people. In particular I liked Leifh Russell as I have read each of her books from her debut novel 'Road Closed'. This time around the writing is so much better as the story flows so easily. LeighRussell is a writer that is going from strength to strength with every book she writes.

I found that in the first book we didn't learn enough about Geraldine herself, or the people she worked with. In this book Geraldine's personal life seems to run alongside her career and we get to see the more emotional side to her which I loved. We also see a lot more of Ian Peterson and this is a true testemant to how much better this book is than her first.

The characters have developed so much more and as reader you feel like you are taking their life journey with them. Geraldine is far from perfect but is a complete workaholic who has some serious personal issues that can sometimes affect her judgement. It is things like this that add the touch of realism to this book.

The crimes in the book are as ususal gruesome and bloody, and extremely well detailed, without being too over the top. We see the workings of real police who make some huge errors along the way (which is always nice).

I only have one criticism about the book and that is that I had a sneaking suspicion of the killer around halfway through. Having said that, I do that with many of the books I read. Apart from being suspicious (and then being correct in my assumption) this book is absolutely, 100% the best book Leigh Russell has written so far. I am now eagerly awaiting the next installment and there were major parts of Geraldine's life that are unanswered and I realloy need to know more about.

Thoroughly reccommended and I truly think that Leigh Russell has now created a series that can rival other major crime writers out there. I would suggest starting at book one and working your way through as by the time you get to this one you will be itching to read book 4. Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead End (BOOK 3 in DI Geraldine Steel Series) (Kindle Edition)
As always this series of books makes excellent reading. Very much "can't put down" and "must finish" but never fail to tidy up loose ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead End (BOOK 3 in DI Geraldine Steel Series) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book. Easy reading with no overcomplicated twists but sufficient intrigue to keep your attention. Worked out who the killer was early on but the logic behind his grisly deeds kept the suspense going right til the end. Overall, a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thrilling, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead End (BOOK 3 in DI Geraldine Steel Series) (Kindle Edition)
I thought the story line was great,and it held my interest on every page,and it kept me
guessing till the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead End (BOOK 3 in DI Geraldine Steel Series) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed story line which kept moving along. Couple of twists which kept you guessing. Look forward to next instalment coming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keep Following the Old Ladies, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead End (BOOK 3 in DI Geraldine Steel Series) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the fun side as well as the main story line. An easy read book to go to bed on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead end, 28 Jan 2014
This review is from: Dead End (BOOK 3 in DI Geraldine Steel Series) (Kindle Edition)
Great book did not find out who the killer was until the end which was good will be reading more of leigh Russell's books in the near future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an entertaining read, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead End (BOOK 3 in DI Geraldine Steel Series) (Kindle Edition)
A good page turner although a little predictable perhaps. Enjoy the format using short chapters to pull all the strands together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead End (BOOK 3 in DI Geraldine Steel Series) (Kindle Edition)
This is a good read, although I have not finished it as yet but so far so good. Well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews