Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful Book
Bought this after reading a review in the Sunday papers. It has lived up to the promise. Each chapter addresses a different issue in a direct, simple and informative way. Just dip in as and when you like and be both entertained and informed.
Published on 17 April 2012 by Pale Dog

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An overall view of Britain from the surface
A few more depth on the study of what makes Britain today would be an advantage. But still, I recommend it.
Published 12 months ago by M. Menezes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful Book, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain etc. (Paperback)
Bought this after reading a review in the Sunday papers. It has lived up to the promise. Each chapter addresses a different issue in a direct, simple and informative way. Just dip in as and when you like and be both entertained and informed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R is for Refreshing, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain etc. (Paperback)
This is a quiet bombshell of a book. From its pastel cover and serviceable title we are misdirected into expecting another Brysoneque tour of the nation replete with sketches of village cricket greens and extravagant hats at Ascot. (Sigh). Yet behind Mark Easton's calm, non-judgmental and no-nonsense A to Z tour of current Britain (A is for Alcohol; B is for Bobbie) is a more factual and edgier narrative. His reporter's instinct for a story runs to the counter-intuitive leading to a series of fascinating revelations: alcohol's connection to violence is due to societal conditioning; families are happier now than any time in the last 50 years; there has been no knife crime epidemic; and, my favourite, the mighty dachshund is the most vicious dog of all, the pit bull way down the charts. Easton charts eloquently how public hysteria (often fuelled by the media) forces politicians to act, whether the hysteria is justified or not. To not act immediately, to counsel caution, is to risk your political hide. As a BBC reporter covering the false media circus of alleged crises in knife crime or vicious dogs or the Soham murders Easton has no doubt been forced to go with the news flow. So here is a strong sense of putting the record straight. His best chapter is Y is for Youth, an eloquent, almost incandescent look at how the country has failed its youth. E is for Edgier?
Easton sets out his wares like a street vendor and leaves his reader to judge and value these 26 items on display. Is it a weakness of the book that there is no arc to the story, no attempt to summarise, suggest, or sermonise? At first I thought, yes, but on further reflection I find that it is better as is. After delving expertly into the worlds of media hysteria, spin, false confessions, defensive PR manoeuvres, etc. the contract Easton is making with his reader is more direct and honest. R is for Refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly engaging, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain Etc. (Kindle Edition)
This is a thoroughly engaging book and a great read. Whilst I don't necessarily agree with every detail (it is written by a journalist after all!) it is none the worse for that. My hope is that Mark Easton will put pen to paper more as his style is very accessible. Buy it, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this scepter'd isle, 20 May 2012
This review is from: Britain etc. (Paperback)
A wonderful piece of insightful literature, delving into Britain's eccentricities, obsessions and foibles. Like any good book, it's something I will keep to hand and dip into whenever I feel the need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illumination etc., 16 May 2012
By 
russ_w (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Britain etc. (Paperback)
I can't improve on, disagree with or add much to JMAnderson's excellent review (12 May 2012), so I'll just make a couple of extra points. Mark Easton seems to have researched his book exhaustively, throwing in a comparison with Finland here or evidence from some obscure 1957 report there to support an argument, without ever getting bogged down in a welter of facts or figures. His writing is consistently crisp and drily witty, and I'll excuse the occasional painful pun that he seems not to have been able to resist. He also makes judicious use of illuminating quotes from the speeches or writings of other observers of the national scene or experts in the relevant fields. I came away from Britain etc. with a new and better informed outlook on several key aspects of modern British life and armed with some delightful anecdotes that I plan to sprinkle into my conversation wherever possible. I'm tempted to organise a dinner party just so I can show off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual and informative, 5 May 2012
This review is from: Britain etc. (Paperback)
An informative and entertaining book that approaches familiar subjects in an unusual but intelligent manner. It makes you see topics in a new light - would recommend to all those interested in current affairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain etc. (Paperback)
As a student of sociology this book caught my eye, I enjoy reading about Britain and this gave me a fantastic insight into the histories of the features of the UK that we see every day without thought. I definitely recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain etc. (Paperback)
This book is being read by my brother who can't put the book down. An excellent read which he recommends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars took a bit of getting into, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain Etc. (Kindle Edition)
As a Brit, I was feeling fairly patriotic one day and decided to learn more about the lovely Great Britain. At first, this was a slow going book chocked full of statistics and anecdotes that offered little to nothing on what Britain is truly like. There was a lot of work put into it, obviously, and after further reading it finally picked up and improved. It's a good book, but you do feel as though you have to soldier on. Some of the topics are fairly relevant to the British populous, while others I felt were forced in because the alphabet structure (each chapter is a letter of the alphabet) required a chapter with that letter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars British History as easy as ABC, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain Etc. (Kindle Edition)
An easy read with a wealth of interesting facts and commentary. Not an academic book in the full sense but I found it enjoyable company on boring journeys and waiting rooms. The ABC marks out not only the route, in effect, casually followed but ingenious as a presentation scheme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Britain Etc.
Britain Etc. by Mark Easton
£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews