Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars7
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£13.29
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2012
Haven't read the whole thing yet, but as a member of the general population as I am referred to in the book, I have to say it is very well written and gives a great overview of current and "classic" AI concepts and ideas.

I am not sure if it is supposed to be a bit funny at times, but I laughed out quite loudly at least a couple of times already.. maybe it is only because I am not a native English speaker but there are some clever wording and examples that make me laugh at least. That is a good thing. One very short example that made me laugh is how aliens that communicate over infrared pulses would see us, the human species, the description of it made me laugh.

Great work, and I would recommend this book to anyone interested in the subject, you do not need any prior understanding of the subject to learn from and enjoy this book.
If you have a basic understanding of English (as I do) and can read this review, you will also be able to understand the book.

Can't wait to finish it over the coming days.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
This book provides an interesting and broad introduction to AI and its history up until now! It is well written and easy to understand without prior knowledge, even if you do not have a technical background.

I was fortunate enough to be lectured by the author, Professor Kevin Warwick for part of a computing module in my first year at university. This book was an excellent counterpart to the topics he covered.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2012
A very readable book which gives a good, up to date overview of all things A.I. If you're looking for something very technical with example algorithms or hardware designs, then this is probably not for you. Kevin covers a wide range of techniques and some of the latest developments, which makes it an excellent introduction to the subject.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
Awesome read, makes a complex subject far more accessible. If you ever had the opportunity to see the author speak the book is written in the exact same style, filled with humorous anecdotes this book is not only fun to read but gives some insight into the entire field of AI
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
This is a very disappointing book. The majority of it could have been written 30 or 40 years ago and it fails to reflect on the fact that the 'traditional' approach to AI has had limited success. By traditional I mean that based on conventional von Neumann computer architecture and symbolic programming languages.

The successes of applications using traditional AI techniques are very important in their own right; for example, game playing, language translation, computer vision, speech interpretation and synthesis. It's just that no amount of progress using such techniques will ever emulate the general processing capability of the human brain. The huge disparity between the power (both electrical and computing) used by digital computers on the one hand and the brain on the other should have given a clue. The predictions made by Warwick and other strong AI advocates are entirely misguided and they seemed to have based their hopes on the relentless increase in computing power.

There is little excuse for this failure to highlight the problems of traditional AI; Hubert Dreyfus identified these problems back in 1992 as did Searle in 1980. Warwick fails to acknowledge this.

To develop a truly intelligent computer needs a completely new understanding of the working of the mind. The latter is becoming better understood - see for instance, On Intelligence by Jeff Hawkins which provides a tentative explanation of how the neocortex operates.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
Great read, nice accessible intro to AI
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
The book gives good introduction in the subject. Would recommend it for anyone to who is interested in the subject
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)