Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as everyone says it is.
I have to say it wasn't as bad as everyone says it was, if you have ever seen any other Frankie Chan films like Outlaw Brothers, Oh Yes Sir and Burning Ambition you know what to expect, I think the action was rather good and it was great to see the great Cheng Pei Pei and Yukari Oshima back on screen I just wish they had more to do in the film. The behind the scenes...
Published on 7 Oct 2012 by Mr. Adam Stiles

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THERE'S NO CRYING IN THE YANG FAMILY,
If you have ever seen a Chinese action film you know they have several things in common. First is that they love bright colors. The martial art fighting special effects include slow motion and sped up sequences which feature indifference to the laws of gravity and physics in general. The English translation sounds like an old Japanese Godzilla film. Fighters are the...
Published 16 months ago by The Movie Guy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as everyone says it is., 7 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. Adam Stiles "Upfrontbear74" (Derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legendary Amazons [DVD] (DVD)
I have to say it wasn't as bad as everyone says it was, if you have ever seen any other Frankie Chan films like Outlaw Brothers, Oh Yes Sir and Burning Ambition you know what to expect, I think the action was rather good and it was great to see the great Cheng Pei Pei and Yukari Oshima back on screen I just wish they had more to do in the film. The behind the scenes footage was great, and you get another great informative commentary by Hong Kong movie expert Bey Logan, so if you are expecting an all time classic you might be dissaopinted but take it just as a kind of popcorn martial arts movie like the heyday in the late 80s early 90s, you will enjoy it.Legendary Amazons [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THERE'S NO CRYING IN THE YANG FAMILY,, 20 July 2013
This review is from: Legendary Amazons [DVD] (DVD)
If you have ever seen a Chinese action film you know they have several things in common. First is that they love bright colors. The martial art fighting special effects include slow motion and sped up sequences which feature indifference to the laws of gravity and physics in general. The English translation sounds like an old Japanese Godzilla film. Fighters are the Chinese version of our old western movies. They can shoot 2 spears from one bow and get two kills. A sword can go through 3 people with one thrust.

When word reaches the Emperor that General Yang has died defending the western border, he commands his son to lead an army to protect the land in what appears to be a suicide mission. The son's fighting sisters join him in order to afford him protection. There is also a dragon staff somehow involved in the tale, and like most Chinese films, there is something I lose in the cultural exchange.

The story does have a plot you can follow. I found the fight scenes to be inane. The ending credits included outtakes. The reason why I watch Chinese pop culture films is for the themes, i.e. what is the message they are sending? In this one the message is China can defeat the overwhelming evil armies of the west. Family is important, but the people of China are also family and of greater importance. Women have their place in society as equals with men (i.e. stop killing girl babies).

No sex or nudity. There was something that sound like the F-word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars corny colourful and very Jacky Chan, 17 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legendary Amazons [DVD] (DVD)
this film is corny colourful and very Jacky Chan. I didn't like much about this film to be honest. funny clips at the end are good but would deffo not recommend this film to martial arts fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 2 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legendary Amazons [DVD] (DVD)
I wasnt impressed with this, acting ok, action ok, price ok Meh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent film, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legendary Amazons [DVD] (DVD)
one of the best action film ever . I liked it a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I really wanted to like this film, but sadly it did not deliver., 19 Jun 2012
By 
Dad "Just a DAD" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Legendary Amazons [DVD] (DVD)
I really like a good Kung Fu film but for me (my opinion) that not even the sight of female warriors going to war on pogo sticks, yes pogo sticks! is enough to like this film.

Legendary Amazons has no charm and fell short for me.

I really wanted to like this film, but sadly it did not deliver.

Will stick to IP Man!! one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars soo bad, 15 Feb 2014
By 
G. Madden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legendary Amazons [DVD] (DVD)
Very bad acting badly dubbed to the speech, the worst visual effects I have ever seen you can see they have used cardboard boxes.can't even say the story line saves it.couldn't watch all the way through it was awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Legendary Amazons, 24 Jun 2012
This review is from: Legendary Amazons [DVD] (DVD)
I love jackie Chan but this was a big disapointment. I was looking forward to a good old martial arts film like Shoulin. I'm afraid I fell asleep half way though out of bordom..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legendary Amazons [DVD]
Legendary Amazons [DVD] by Frankie Chan (DVD - 2012)
£2.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews