Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat
This was a real treat, 13 episodes of the first series of Justice, starring the brilliant Margaret Lockwood. This was another early drama from Yorkshire Television, first shown in 1971 and there’s some quality writing and acting on show. Lockwood plays Harriet Peterson a top barrister working in the north of England. She’s a tough, no-nonsense, articulate and...
Published 22 months ago by Anthony Harrison

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated
I bought this on the strength of several positive reviews . I suppose it's all right but I do find that the quality of the acting back then is not a patch on today's. For example, compare this with "Accused" which I just reviewed (5 stars--wish it could have been 10). There is simply no comparison. These stories are pretty good but the whole thing just is covered...
Published 17 months ago by David Reid


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat, 26 April 2013
By 
Anthony Harrison "Interceptor7" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This was a real treat, 13 episodes of the first series of Justice, starring the brilliant Margaret Lockwood. This was another early drama from Yorkshire Television, first shown in 1971 and there’s some quality writing and acting on show. Lockwood plays Harriet Peterson a top barrister working in the north of England. She’s a tough, no-nonsense, articulate and intelligent professional, not easily intimidated and always prepared to fight for what’s right. Lockwood’s performance is a revelation, so measured, finely judged and very convincing; if this series does nothing else, it reminds us what a fantastic actor she was. In an era when recording drama on video tape meant that re-takes were expensive, time-consuming and positively discouraged, I didn’t notice one fluffed or stumbled line of dialogue, or poorly timed cue, from her.

For the most part each episode was tightly written and tightly performed, although a couple of the earlier ones are slightly laboured and suffer from too much going-nowhere dialogue. But that’s a relatively minor quibble; most of the stories maintain a good dramatic pace, but they are very much focused on the specifics and mechanics of each case to drive the narrative forward. There’s little focus on Harriet’s private life, few ‘soapy’ elements, which is refreshing. However, I would have liked a little bit more about her as a person and what motivates her to be the professional she is. I struggled a little bit with the lack of context and setting at times though; a barrister of her status would have worked out of a chambers and have had a clerk and juniors, I am sure. Yet for the most part, none of this is mentioned – there’s not even a secretary in sight. We assume she’s working in a major Yorkshire city, say Leeds or York, but I don’t think there was one name check, so it’s hard to be sure. Mostly, the locale was referred to as “The City” or “The Town”. Still, perhaps this was rectified in the second series.

I enjoyed this very much, if nothing else for Margaret Lockwood’s performance; what a loss to acting she was. I will certainly be buying the next set of discs issued by Network. Highly recommended.

© Koplowitz 2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good to see Harriet in action again!, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I second everything 'Amazon Bookworm' said in the previous review.

I loved this series when it was first aired, and I too have waited decades for the series to be released. I've often wondered WHY inferior (to me) series have long been available when 'Justice' wasn't. Oh, well - it's here finally. It IS very expensive, but worth every penny to me, and I can't wait for series 2 and 3 to be released after watching series 1 over two evenings.

Margaret Lockwood is simply superb in the role of Harriet, and there are plenty of familiar British actors supporting her here in episide after episode ; Anthony Valentine (pre James Elliot - the fellow barrister role he later played), Richard Beckinsale, and William Franklin to name a few. I particularly enjoy the scenes between Harriet and Dr. Ian Moody, but the 'whole' is simply a great show from an earlier time. It might not have the slick production values and special effects of today's dramas, but it has admirable, likable characters and good storylines that pull you in - and from memory it just gets better and better in series 2 and series 3.

Btw, anyone else think that one of the opening title 'statues' looks very like Michael Wilding? It's him to a T! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost Given Up Hope of Seeing This Again, 9 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Justice - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this series when it was first aired and never missed an episode, so pleased it's out on DVD at last - and not a moment too soon. Excellently acted especially by the late, great Margaret Lockwood. A little expensive but didn't stop me from purchasing. Hoping for series 2 & 3 and happy to buy them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A woman's view of justice, 13 Aug. 2012
By 
J. C. Gibson (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD contains the first season (13 episodes) of "Justice", a 1971 - 74 English series which covers the professional and personal life of Harriet Peterson (played by renowned film star Margaret Lockwood), a woman barrister working principally as a circuit prosecutor in England in the early 1970s. The message of the series is that for members of the legal profession, law and justice are not always the same thing, and that for women, the demands of the job, in terms of lost friendships and loneliness, can be high.

Unlike the more superficial "The Main Chance" (1969 - 75), "Justice" shows Harriet Peterson not just winning but losing cases,at times being berated by members of the bench, and even being unable to find solutions to problems, such as the schoolfriend who consults her about the death of her son, a famous scientist. The series has an almost frightening degree of relevance to modern issues in its depiction of dishonest practices by lawyers ( the theme of "Witnesses Cost Extra") and the incompetence of lay magistrates (the theme of "By order of the Magistrates").

All successful TV series need to have URT ("unresolved sexual tension"), and "Justice" is no exception. Harriet has two suitors, Dr Ian Moody (played by John Stone, Margaret Lockwood's partner in real life) and the head of her chambers, Sir John Gallaher (played by Phillip Stone). She and Dr Moody meet when she cross-examines him, an experience he does not enjoy, but he is so smitten he drives 100 miles to ask her to dinner. Soon afterwards, he asks her to marry him, but there is a catch - he wants her to give up her profession to be a stay-at-home wife. (In 1971 this was still a problem for many women, but most modern viewers would not be too impressed! Fortunately, by series 3 he gives up this request, and they do in fact marry; at this stage she has taken over as the head of chambers, and the idea of her giving up a brilliant career would have been ridiculous). The other (and to my mind more convincing) candidate for her hand is the head of her chambers, Sir John Gallaher QC. She detests him, and asks her instructing solicitors not to brief him as her leader. He is too brilliant, too superficial and too lacking in compassion for his clients, she tells one of them. Sir John is at once fascinated and confronted by her, but never succeeds in winning her over.

Also rating a mention is Harriet's ex-husband, who appears in the first episode of the series. A former solicitor, he has been struck off and gaoled for offences of dishonesty. Harriet says he "almost destroyed" her 7 years ago, and she warns Dr Moody that she never wants to repeat the experience of betrayal that she suffered from this man. The writers of "The Good Wife" must have been watching this series, because Harriet is in many ways the "good wife" who soldiered on to raise the children while the husband was in disgrace and in gaol.

Highly recommended for anyone who enjoyed "The Good Wife" or television drama where the emphasis is on ideas rather than car chases or inter-office romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best. What a woman, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Harriet Peterson, simply the best. What a woman. Margaret Lockward surpassed herself in this role. She made it hers. The best legal drama covering a traditional barristers life in the early 70's. Better than Rumpole in my opinion, covering a more realistic portrayal of how barristers would have conducted themselves in a range of different matters. There is enough inside court drama balanced with the goings on in other parts of Harriets life and relationships that is probably just right for a sensible real legal drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Justice, 12 Mar. 2014
By 
Ms. A. Esson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The above was nice to watch thanks with friends and a glass of wine will be watching it again later on thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like this box set very much, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I like this box set very much. I'm from America, and I love the old British tv series, I think they're wonderful, with interesting stories, beautiful scenery, and sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Series But Why so Expensive?, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
To all the pedants out there who say these reviews are meant to be confined to the film itself I partly agree. I agree it should not be about whether it arrived in 5 days or 10 or whether the buyer bothered to work out the difference between region 1 & 2 or how it was wrapped, but it is about the sum of what's offered including value for money. This superbly scripted drama from the golden age of television drama comprised thought-provoking scripts that always assumed viewers were intelligent and had concentration spans - unlike today - of an hour at least (rather like Callan in that respect). The idea of a woman working in a non-teaching profession and not subordinate to a man was infinitely refreshing and of its time revolutionary - early 70s so women's lib so far as TV drama went was still all talk and no action although I recall The Liver Birds blazing a trail for forthright independence and yes Upstairs Downstairs which re-watched 40 years on is an amazingly powerful contrast of masculine and feminist attitudes). Anthony Valentine was, as in Callan magnificent too. I was all of 14 years old when this screened and with Crown Court inspired me to a lifetime career in the law. I have been searching Amazon and HMV for 20+ years hoping this would finally see the light of day. If you enjoy top quality drama with high quality scripts, razor sharp tension and a sense of being mentally stretched - but without (a) special effects; (b) mood music to tell you how to react; (c) fake studio audience reaction; (d) boy-band/girl-band lookalike leads; or (e) gratuitous sex or sexual innuendo then you can't go wrong here. TV for the over 40s - something you almost never see nowadays (why? is it that the young as advert targets are thought more easily separated from their money or that those over 40 with families are thought not to have any?).

Of course there were three series of "Justice" and this is the first. I can imagine Network are watching sales carefully to see whether to bother with the other two - it would be a TRAGEDY if these incredibly powerful dramas - I hesitate to exaggerate but yes "national treasures" - languished any longer in the vaults - 40 years is FAR TOO LONG - so please don't hesitate. Buy and enjoy with confidence - and try not to get irritated (as I am and justifiably so I feel) that these cost nearly £30 for 4 discs (thanks Amazon by the way - launched last week at £28 you've already increased the price. You sell things by REDUCING prices not increasing them). But that apart don't be deterred. £28 for 2-3 weeks of wonderful evenings of intelligent entertainment works out at less than a £10 a week (I don't smoke but I hear that's not much more than the cost of a packet - and you won't die painfully from these DVDs!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable era,standards will rarely rise to this level again, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Everyone loves it and I share the gratitude and enthusiasm of the masses.

What more can I say that has not been said already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated, 1 Oct. 2013
By 
David Reid (Míjas, Málaga, Spain.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this on the strength of several positive reviews . I suppose it's all right but I do find that the quality of the acting back then is not a patch on today's. For example, compare this with "Accused" which I just reviewed (5 stars--wish it could have been 10). There is simply no comparison. These stories are pretty good but the whole thing just is covered with cobwebs.
One bright spot was in the very early full-length story set in Scotland, which was a sort of prequel to the series. (I forget its name but it's on disk one--see that first of all). The judge was played by Private Fraser, of Dad's army fame. That brought many smiles!!
Overall you need to be in the grip of nostalgia for a "black and white" 60's style era (at best early 70's) and then you will probably find this sits well with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Justice - The Complete Series 1 [DVD]
Justice - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] by James Ormerod (DVD - 2012)
£23.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews