Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Saddest Anime Ever!
I bought this from Amazon.com; at the time (a few months back) it wasn't available in the UK (It is the US region version that I have - the one to be sold by Amazon UK will be a UK edition).

The first thing you notice about this series is the stunning picture and sound quality (even for blu-ray!). The animation is utterly superb; the opening sequence (of Kanade...
Published on 3 Mar 2012 by bozeman1941

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, but somewhat manipulative and incomplete
This is the kind of series that, upon finishing the final episode, will make many if not most people want to write a glowing review. Me included. And with good reason: the storyline is powerful and gripping, as is the soundtrack. The animation quality is very good, as is the voice acting (in Japanese, at least). And even though I'm a veteran of many extreme war and horror...
Published 19 months ago by M. R. Munter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a gr8 series, 24 April 2013
this series was gr8 tje first time i watched it so i had to get this dvd set. ive always loved this series and have watched it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch it, love it., 19 Mar 2013
After watching a few episodes I knew I had to buy it and I was not disappointed. It exceeded my expectations and flew into one of my all time favourites. The music, art, story, everything, this is simply a must. Arrived fast and in brilliant condition, hugely recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel Beats Complete Series Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I got recommended this anime by a friend.
In brief its a must watch.
The anime explores a group of students experiencing purgatory like world where their life is in transition to move on.
The cast all follow a girl who leads a group by the name of not dead yet battlefront.
You see how the lives of each of them change through this series and how one person has the will to guide everyone down the right path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angels,not dead then ?, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Roy Williams "mid point" (Croydon,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit weird this one.It's about what MAY happen when you die.But then again.........
Teenagers arrive in the afterlife dazed and confused.Is it any wonder when there's a marks woman pointing a gun next to you when you come to ?! It seems there's group who oppose taking orders from senior angels and have to gun them down or loose the will........to live ?! I said it was different.So,plenty of afterlife school type events to try to dominate just the one senior angel.This angel follows them into an 'underground' arms manufacturing plant so they must destroy it and move to another.
Erm,this doesn't sound like it's going anywhere,does it..? I've only watched three episode so far so it's no good asking me.
It's OK though.Animation's good and it's sort of James bond,for young people.You never know what will happen next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched an episode online, and just had to buy the dvd, the story line and action is brilliant, theres tears laughs and thought provoking moments, the opening is beautiful and the music in this series is fantastic i loved every moment of this series a full five stars. even for adults
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great dvd, 26 Nov 2013
good dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, but somewhat manipulative and incomplete, 27 Jan 2013
By 
M. R. Munter (Apeldoorn, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the kind of series that, upon finishing the final episode, will make many if not most people want to write a glowing review. Me included. And with good reason: the storyline is powerful and gripping, as is the soundtrack. The animation quality is very good, as is the voice acting (in Japanese, at least). And even though I'm a veteran of many extreme war and horror movies that contain heartrending scenes, the final scene of Angel Beats still left me in tears.

After a night's sleep, it occurred to me that this series can be viewed on at least two levels, so that my review should cover both levels. (I have done my best to keep both reviews spoiler-free.) Level 1 means that you take everything that happens in this series at face value and you do not question any of the explanations that are handed to you. Level 2 means that you look a little harder at the facts as presented in the story, including some odd ones that most characters seem strangely willing to forget about, and make up your own mind about the explanation. In order to do this, it helps to treat every `revelation' about the backgrounds of certain characters with a few grains of salt, so that they do not draw you in to their own personal dramas too much. In the level 2 review below I will give my own interpretation, which is neither disproved nor explicitly acknowledged by any events in the series, so that it does not spoil anything.

Level 1 review
On this level, I found that I could not obey my initial urge to write a rave review and give this series a 5/5 score. Why? Mostly because on the whole, the characterization is simply too weak to really make you care for the few characters that are actually fleshed out to some extent. I won't spoil any of the details, but the few back stories (6 by my count) that actually were revealed were either rather melodramatic (e.g. Yui's) or so extreme that they're basically the equivalent of suddenly having the volume turned up to 100% in an attempt to blow the viewer away (e.g. Yuri's and Otonashi's). As another reviewer points out, this basically *forces* the viewer to empathize with the characters involved, since you wouldn't wish the kind of misery they have undergone on anyone. And that's basically lazy storytelling, in my opinion.

Adding insult to injury, this series contains more than a few action scenes (entire episodes, even, come to think of it) that are more than a little superfluous. To the extent that they feel like filler. Meanwhile, more (and more thorough) characterization falls by the wayside. And that leaves a bad taste in my mouth, as if the writers really didn't care all that much about the people they're writing about. But are asking me to care about nonetheless. Forcing me to care about, even, through the use of extremely emotional music and some extreme back stories. Instead, this left me feeling somewhat manipulated after the initial emotions had subsided.

All in all, I feel that a classic movie like "The Crow" handles this kind of story better. Perhaps an odd comparison, but that's what this series reminds me of most.

Level 2 review
On this level, the very first scene of the first episode is crucial for an alternative understanding of the series. Distilling it to its bare essentials, it amounts to:
1. The young man Otonashi waking up on a concrete pathway, not knowing who he is.
2. When he looks up, he sees that he is in an almost empty schoolyard at night.
3. A girl (Yuri) is sitting crouched behind some plants with a sniper rifle aimed away from him.
4. Yuri tells him that he is dead, has reached the afterlife and invites him to join her team, which is fighting an angel hell bent on erasing every soul who winds up there.
5. Otonashi peers out to see who Yuri is aiming at and sees a rather short girl with silvery hair (Angel) standing some distance away. He walks over to her and tells her that a gun is being aimed at her by someone who claims that he is dead and is in the afterlife, which he does not believe.
6. In response, Angel passively intones the words "Guard Function: Hand Sonic", upon which a sharp blade materializes as an extension of one of her wrists, with which she stabs Otonashi in the chest. Later, he wakes up in the headquarters of Yuri's team who explain to him that he really cannot die because he is already dead.

My initial interpretation (so before I watched the rest of the series) was that Angel was some sort of automated security robot or hologram. Since I allowed myself to be drawn in by all of the action and drama that followed, this first impression soon slipped my mind. But at some point, Yuri's Anti-Angel Team manages to get into Angel's bedroom and there they find a book called "The AngelPlayer Manual" next to her computer, which explains how her special powers work...
This is simply shrugged off by those who find the book, but it seems that there is only one rather radical explanation that fits all of this: this so-called "limbo world" is really a computer game in which the player assumes the character of Angel. And that would mean that the other characters consist of Non-Player Character (this term is openly used by the Anti-Angel Team to describe the `normal' students) and Potential Party Members. From that perspective, "Angel" stabbing Otonashi is simply her way of rejecting a Potential Party Member. And yes, by that I do mean that *anyone* except Angel is simply an NPC or a scripted Potential Party Member and not the spirit of a real person. Otonashi, Yuri, everyone, they were *never* real to begin with... This would also explain some of their rather super-dramatic back stories, since those are fairly typical for characters in Role Playing Games. And "Angel" developing more powers during the series is simply her character being "leveled up" by whoever the actual gamer controlling her is.
Too radical? Well, perhaps. I actually like this explanation better than these characters and their enormous suffering having been "real" (by the standards of this fictional world).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AngelBeats!, 25 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good simple blu-ray series. Its 2 discs, Eng subs and you are good to go!

A good 13 episode Anime for any Otaku!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not a review!, 24 Oct 2012
This is not a review of the DVD, i Just wanted to know, is this DVD in Japanese, or is it dubbed?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Mar 2012
This review is from: Angel Beats Complete Series Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I watched this series after watching Clannad and Clannad After story. I loved this anime, it had a great story and some really emotional scenes with some great comody thrown in to lighten things up. I later founs out it involved almost all of the same voice cast as Clannad and Clannad After story and was also written by Jun Maeda from Key and produced by the same group who also made Haruhi Suzumiya, Lucky Star and K-On!. If you liked any of those series you will likely love this too and if you like Clannad then this is definitely for you. However I will say it was unfortunately shorter than it should have been but 5 stars nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angel Beats Complete Series Collection [Blu-ray]
Angel Beats Complete Series Collection [Blu-ray] by Seiji Kishi (Blu-ray - 2012)
28.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews