Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb series
Oddly enough, reading subtitles for hours doesn't bother me, in fact I hardly notice it, which says a great deal about the power of these series to enthrall. Also, so much more meaning is conveyed by tone and body language in the original version than by dubbing. Once again, this is brilliantly written and performed, and again, Sarah Lund with her persistence, her...
Published 17 months ago by Alicemay

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Soooooooo disappointed!
Okay - the DVD quality is good. The box-set is stylish. Its all there... except how disappointing! Loved series 1 (if a little long and with a couple too many red herrings). Liked series 2, even if we were able to guess the ending (still exciting). Series 3... well... We guessed the killer (won't say by which episode for fear of spoiling) from the general derivative...
Published 15 months ago by Zuckerbird


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Starts off slightly different, with Lund acting (understandably) annoyingly out of character, but then ends up as the most nerve-wracking of the three. Deserves all its plaudits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I'll keep it short K3 is utterly brilliant. Lund returns in a wonderful, edge of the seat series. Just buy it and watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, Lunt, please come back!, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the last series. We will apparently never hear of Sarah Lunt again. But I so want to know what happens next! As usual we are left with a cliffhanger ending which makes you want another series. I thought this series the best of the lot, and I found myself actually yelling at Sarah to "Get your act together you stupid woman!" when she ducks out of yet another opportunity to be in a normal relationship, and writhing in agonies of suspense while the disaster you know is coming, but don't know how, unfolds. I love the way this series, like the others, builds relentlessly from a slow beginning to a crescendo of an ending,though a rising sense of tension and suspense which at times is almost unbearable. This is the best of Nordic Noir, and we need more of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Film noir, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
As excellent as the previous films except for position of sub-titles. The bottom line was'nt visible which I found very frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 24 Nov 2012
By 
Penn (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The series three DVD is as enthralling as the previous two. Watching it was reserved as a treat over the period of a week. What a brilliant way of avoiding what passes for entertainment on most television today. Superb quality, if dark, drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great police procedural, but the political angle does not work, 18 Nov 2012
By 
JOHN GREEN (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Gripping case, especially once Grabol (Lund) gets right back into obsessive mode. However, as with the previous series, the political angle just does not ring true. Here we have a series of impossibly glamorous politicians all talking about this same case (involving the shipping company, Zeeland) and nothing else. It's as if David Cameron and his cronies were talking about the possible relocation of Vauxhall or Land Rover all day long and nothing else - I know politicians are limited, but even they can multi-task a bit more than is shown here!

As before, there is a distinct lack of humour or light relief, but the police characters are well drawn, and Sarah Lund is an excellent creation. She now deserves an easier life (but not in Danish politics - she's obviously not glamorous enough!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing but still OK, 15 Jan 2013
By 
R. Phillips "seagull" (south coast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Not as gripping as parts 1 & 2 but still worth the entrance fee. If I guessed the outcome then ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great crime series., 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this series just as much as the previous two. My only slight criticism is that so much of the action happens in semi-darkness, which can make it a little difficult to follow at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but weak ending, 16 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I preferred this to series 1 as the plot was more intriguing and exciting. The acting was also superb. Having seen this before series 1 you notice how Sofie Grabol has matured into the role of Sarah Lund. The parents of the little girl were also brilliantly portrayed. In summary the child of one of the largest and most crucial sponsors of the leading political party is kidnapped to pressurise the police/ secret service to acknowledge the identity of a murderer who is linked to the political party/sponsor. A real study of human emotions and how not to trust anyone in politics! Beautifully filmed but l was disappointed at the weak ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Show, Best Series Out the Three, 16 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The Killing is the 1st Non English TV Show that I have watched and Im so glad I gave series 1 a go, instead of being worried about reading subtitles rather then being able to understand what was being said... anyhoo back on subject whilst series 2 was greater then 1, I felt I had to review this series as the ending was shocking and unexpected... but awesome :) I also liked the 2 different cases that needed to be solved instead of only the 1.

Whilst this was the last series, season 3 of US the killing has been uncancelled, the US version made me watch the danish version.

Tak for reading my review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Killing - Series 3 [DVD]
The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] by Sofie Gråbøl (DVD - 2012)
£19.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews