Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb series
Oddly enough, reading subtitles for hours doesn't bother me, in fact I hardly notice it, which says a great deal about the power of these series to enthrall. Also, so much more meaning is conveyed by tone and body language in the original version than by dubbing. Once again, this is brilliantly written and performed, and again, Sarah Lund with her persistence, her...
Published 16 months ago by Alicemay

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Soooooooo disappointed!
Okay - the DVD quality is good. The box-set is stylish. Its all there... except how disappointing! Loved series 1 (if a little long and with a couple too many red herrings). Liked series 2, even if we were able to guess the ending (still exciting). Series 3... well... We guessed the killer (won't say by which episode for fear of spoiling) from the general derivative...
Published 14 months ago by Zuckerbird


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb series, 23 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Oddly enough, reading subtitles for hours doesn't bother me, in fact I hardly notice it, which says a great deal about the power of these series to enthrall. Also, so much more meaning is conveyed by tone and body language in the original version than by dubbing. Once again, this is brilliantly written and performed, and again, Sarah Lund with her persistence, her irresistable gut feelings and reappearing jumpers just stays in the mind like a tortured friend. I'm also utterly grateful for the change from American police heroines - all of them perfectly beautiful, perfectly groomed, perfected educated and perfectly unreal. I also welcome the novelty of Nordic culture in these series, which brings its own freshness. Because the characters feel more fallible and true to life I consequently feel less manipulated, which I often do feel when faced with yet another predictable Hollywood plot. If you enjoyed the previous series, you will love this one - but a word of warning. I find buying the boxed series has the same effect as opening a box of chocolates, i.e. you have one and you can't rest until you have another, and another. I'm afraid I tend to watch them back to back in a Tele Fest and nothing else gets done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Killing, 11 Jan 2014
By 
A. Rumbelow "Love music & books" (Bristol Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I am addicated to these Nordic films and I just think that the actress Sofie Grabol is so good and I can't wait to see further films which should hopefully follow the ending in this series three.Once you start watching these dvd's( films) you just keep asking for more and more they keep you thinking and you are on the edge all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complex, entertaining, fast-moving thriller, 17 Dec 2012
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I agree that unless you are a Danish speaker you need to concentrate hard to read the subtitles, observe people's body language and notice what is happening in the often short scenes which switch rapidly between the various plot threads, frequently leaving gaps for you to fill in. I wish I had thought of making a note of the various characters starting with Episode 1, which you may need to watch twice to grasp the political background of this thriller.

Although you do not need to have seen the previous two series, it is an obvious advantage to have done so. Series 3 may be the best in terms of coherent plot and character development. There are some similarities with Series 1 e.g. the sensitive in-depth coverage of a couple's desperation when their child is kidnapped; a cunning criminal who has a specific and unusual motive rather than being a simple "serial killer"; complex political shenanigans with a charismatic but flawed leader trying to win an election but dependent on trade-offs with small parties ("The Killing" does little to further the case for coalitions) and requiring the support of a major industry, in this case "Zeeland" - realistic when you consider the size of Denmark.

Still driven and preoccupied with the latest case to the point of obsession, Sarah Lund retains the tendency to walk round in the dark with a torch, usually without backup, which has become an almost comical trademark of the series. She is as unconcerned about her personal appearance as ever, although wears a wider range of jumpers - I particularly liked the white one with a striking chevron pattern. She admits to having been a "bad mother", but her attempts to be reconciled with her son are invariably interrupted by a phone call on the latest crisis at work.

Since this is described as the last Series, I anticipated a dark ending, thinking that it would be too tame for Sarah to take a cushy desk job, as planned, and to settle down with a former lover in her "shed". The ending is unpredictable, leaves a good deal for you to mull over and draw your own conclusions, according to your preference. I think it is wise to call this the last in the series while many people may still want more, but perhaps the producers will change their minds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Killing 3 - Perfectly imperfect - just like its main character!, 26 Nov 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
WATCHED ON DR'S WEBSITE, SO YES, I HAVE SEEN ALL EPISODES...

WOW - there's a lot going on in this 3rd and last series! And because I'm such a geek, I actually ended up creating a flow chart after the first episode to try and figure out how they all fitted together... And it turned out to be quite helpful. Not that I had guessed who-did-it early in the game but because there truly are lots of different groups to keep track of and they are interconnected in the most complicated (and, the critics might say, implausible) ways.

We meet Sarah Lund when she is ready to semi-retire to the "OPA" department and spend some time in her new house and garden and hopefully try to rebuild relations with her estranged son. Yet, as per her usual luck, something gets in the way and she is dragged, this time very much against her will, into a murder and a kidnapping case - which may or may not be connected to an old unsolved murder of a school girl. And not only that, she must work with her old flame from The Danish Security and Intelligence Service (PET), Mathias Borch, as well as yet another new, young and ambitious, police partner, Asbjørn Juncker.

At the same time Denmark is warming up to a general election and as the politicians scuffle to dig up dirt on the other parties, evidence comes to light that might be valuable in the investigation. The only question is whether it will be made available to the police in time to save lives.

An important player in the election as well as the kidnapping case is Zeeland - Denmark's biggest and politically most influential group of companies - led by Robert Zeuthen. The Group has threatened to move its operations abroad as the financial crisis has reached the Danish shores and they need to go cheap if they want to stay on top. Mr Zeuthen is against the move whereas most of the members of the board see the benefits. So when somebody close to Mr Zeuthen is kidnapped, the PM puts extra pressure on the police and PET to solve the case so Mr Zeuthen can once again concentrate fully on controlling the company.

I will not go into further details but suffice to say that you need your full attention on each and every episode. Which is far from a chore, because once again it is brilliantly acted and powerfully written - even if it has a few flaws and mistakes that could and should probably have been avoided. I don't care though! I loved it almost as much as I loved the first series. It is just sad that this was the final series and it does feel like a big loss now ½ hour after I finished watching the 10th and last episode.

Also, for those who are interested in such things, Arrow Films have confirmed that "The DVD release of The Killing Season Three does not contain any additional material or bonus features".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense compelling drama easily the best of the series, 8 April 2013
By 
S. R. Cantle "Filmlover" (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Without doubt this is the best of the recent Danish Noir thrillers. More intricately plotted than the previous 'Killing' series, its intensity grabs you early on and just won't let you go. Praise first must go to the writer Søren Sveistrup; who has again produced a cleverly intricate but totally plausible crime story. The main story is again offset by an equally absorbing political drama, which enables you to catch your breath before the main narrative leaps forward again, with the police trying desparately to keep up with the 'killer'.

At the centre of it all is DI Sarah Lund (Sofie Gråbøl), an actress brilliantly able to inject the same convincing intensity to her character as the story she is entwined in. There are many other excellent performances, especially Lund's boss, DCI Lennart Brix (Morten Suurballe), who clearly appreciates Lund's detective inventiveness and is prepared to cut her the necessary slack when her hunches back-fire.

It all makes for compelling television, and sets what might be an impossible standard to better for what might come next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Killing series yet....gripping stuff, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I have enjoyed all three 'Killing' stories however I think that this is the best because the story is more complex and also includes more human emotion elements due to the fact a kidnap of a child is involved and that as usual Sarah is still struggling to cope with her human emotions. As always the politicians do not come out of this very well (do they ever?) as they are all me, me, me. Big business in the form of Zeeland are not much better. The only bad thing about this third series is that it is last. Well done the Killing team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Soooooooo disappointed!, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Okay - the DVD quality is good. The box-set is stylish. Its all there... except how disappointing! Loved series 1 (if a little long and with a couple too many red herrings). Liked series 2, even if we were able to guess the ending (still exciting). Series 3... well... We guessed the killer (won't say by which episode for fear of spoiling) from the general derivative nature (derivative of the previous two series), and unfortunately the stellar acting performances couldn't make up for this. The two stars are for the actors, who are brilliant. I'd like to be able to give separate reviews for the story/script and for the performances, but unfortunately this is not possible. If you love Lund, it's worth watching, but be prepared for a let-down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely brilliant in every way. Keeps you gripped throughout the whole series.Just hope there will be further series of this excellent drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Great entertainment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its The Killing after all, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Its a DVD of the third series, need I write more? If you liked season 1 and 2 you know what you're going to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Killing - Series 3 [DVD]
The Killing - Series 3 [DVD] by Sofie Gråbøl (DVD - 2012)
£19.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews