Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tempus fugit!, 8 April 2013
By 
G. Wylie "george11171" (Scottish Highlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acctim 77078 Middleton Mantel Clock, Gold (Kitchen & Home)
If you have to keep track of time then this very attractive timepiece is certainly worth considering. It is slightly larger than I had expected, which is excellent, and is easy to read sitting on our mantlepiece. My wife is absolutely delighted with the clock which replaces a smaller one of similar design. I have had a couple of Acctim radio controlled wall clocks for several years now; one in the kitchen and one in my study, and they have both supplied brilliant service. When we needed a replacement for our mantlepiece it really was a no brainer. It does need one AA battery. After fitting the battery, although it moved into the receive mode, it didn't set right away and I had to leave it overnight to pick up the stronger radio signal. Next morning it was ticking away beautifully. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Middleton Radio Controlled Carriage Clock, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acctim 77078 Middleton Mantel Clock, Gold (Kitchen & Home)
This was an attractive clock of reasonably solid construction. The case front is of glass. This pleased me because I was worried it might be plastic as no mention of this was made in the sales literature.
The main features are spot-on accuracy coupled with automatic time change when clocks go forward or back.
A tip when first setting up, is to manually set to the approximate time then leave running. The clock will automatically adjust to the exact time when it later receives a time signal.
Overall I am pleased with my purchase and would recommend this item to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value clock, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acctim 77078 Middleton Mantel Clock, Gold (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this clock because most modern mantel clocks look rather cheap and unattractive. The radio controlled aspect appealed as it gives excellent accuracy.

First impressions are very pleasing. It is larger than you expect which makes it easy to see and quite imposing. The quality of construction seems good, and it is reasonably heavy thus imparting a sense of solidity. The rear of the clock is fully enclosed so you do not see the plastic internals or battery compartment from the side. The glass front panel make it less likely to be scratched. The clock face is ornate but still clear and has a dead accurate second hand.

Another reviewer mentioned setting the clock manually at first, and this is a good idea as the clock finds it easier to lock into the radio beacon at night when atmospheric conditions improve for radio transmissions. This all depends how far away you live from the transmitter, of course (it is situated in Cumbria).

Although no worse than many other carriage style mantel clocks, be aware that the case is tall and slim, and so could easily topple over if knocked. If it fell on the floor it could be a disaster.

Another plus point is that the clock is virtually silent. No loud ticking or clonking noises that you sometimes get.

The reason why I am giving it four instead of five stars is because the feet could easily scratch furniture. They have foam inserts, but on my example they were too thin so the metal of the foot could contact any surface the clock sat on. This was remedied by buying thick felt feet to replace the foam inserts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acctim Mantel Clock, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acctim 77078 Middleton Mantel Clock, Gold (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this as a present for my Mum, she is delighted with it. It has a bigger face than a normal carriage clock, so is easier to see, but not too big. The set up went perfectly and it seems to be keeping excellent time. It arrived on time and well packed. All in all a very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Acctim Middleton clock, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acctim 77078 Middleton Mantel Clock, Gold (Kitchen & Home)
The clock is quite light and is made of a metal treated to look like brass. The clock is elegant in appearance and looks good sitting on our mantel shelf,
When the battery was first inserted the hands moved to the 12 o'clock position. I waited all evening for the clock to synchronise its self to the time signal but nothing happened. Next morning I went to the clock and was pleased to see it registering the correct time.
When the clocks went back in October I was disappointed to see the clock was still showing summer time. I left it for a couple of days to see if the clock would correct its self; It didn't. At this point I took the battery out and then put it back in again. the clock went through its previous routine of moving the hands to 12 o'clock but overnight the clock did not start, nor did it start for the next few nights. Over the next few nights I moved it around the house to see if it would start up in its new position. At last after several tries I found a spot at which the clock responded; once started the clock was placed back on the mantel shelf where it continues to track the correct time. I now wait to see what will happen when the clocks go forward next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acctim 77078 Middleton Mantel Clock, Gold (Kitchen & Home)
very pleased with this clock , well worth the money, very heavy and good quality,good good good good good good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Radio Controlled Mantle Clock, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acctim 77078 Middleton Mantel Clock, Gold (Kitchen & Home)
Living on the North Wales Coast have no trouble in receiving the Cumbrian radio signal. Put battery into clock and left it to its own devices - soon picked up a radio signal and set itself to the right time. The white face is easy to read. Clock is stylish but quite slim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PRESENT, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acctim 77078 Middleton Mantel Clock, Gold (Kitchen & Home)
bought this as a 70th birthday present and my husband really likes it as it is so accurate and doesn't need winding or batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Acctim 77078 Mantel clock, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acctim 77078 Middleton Mantel Clock, Gold (Kitchen & Home)
Stylish and accurate what more can one need! Would recommend this clock. Problems getting it to start but once I realised there was a pin holding the hands it was all go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another chinese time piece, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acctim 77078 Middleton Mantel Clock, Gold (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this clock for my wife,to replace her favourite English made,Smiths, timepiece which had succumbed after forty years of sterling service.I have no complaints about the design or construction of the clock,which is fine,but why do old-established British firms find it necessary to outsource manufacture to China,especially when the item is not cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews