Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (157)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking good read!
I have been an avid reader of a wide range of subjects from an early age but, history never being my strong point at school, historical works whether fact or fiction, have been sadly lacking in my repertoire - that is, until I was introduced to "The Italian Chapel" by Philip Paris. The powerful Prologue had me hooked and I immediately settled down for a most enjoyable...
Published on 31 Dec 2009 by Phyllis Lemoncello

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting subject turned into a novel
An easy and enjoyable read based on great subject matter, though it didn't quite do it for me as a novel - rather superficial characters and lack of depth in the storyline.

In the end, a true historical account of the Italian POWs' lives on Orkney during WW2 might have suited me better as I knew nothing about this fascinating story before coming across this...
Published 12 months ago by M MYDDLE


‹ Previous | 115 16 1721 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grandpa's Chapel, 29 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Italian Chapel (Hardcover)
Philip Paris contacted me some time ago to research my grandpa's part in the building of the Italian Chapel when he was in charge of the POWs on Orkney. This chapel has been a huge part of our family's life for as long as I can remember so I thought I knew a lot about it. I had been looking forward to reading it but was not prepared at how moved I would be - the storytelling merges brilliantly with the factual events to create a very real atmosphere of hope triumphing over despair. A book I found hard to put down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars slow moving, repetitive, 11 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Italian Chapel (Kindle Edition)
A bit boring. No real climax or emotion inducing storyline. A bit bland despite all efforts that may have been to the contrary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Historically interesting, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Italian Chapel (Kindle Edition)
This book has helped to understand more about the events in WW2 in an easy to read format. I recommend reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars V Good, 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Italian Chapel (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the book very much. Enjoyed the history of the chapel and Italian prisoners of war. I would strongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a. very inherent ing book, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Italian Chapel (Kindle Edition)
Most interesting. An excellent description of life in a POW camp. A little long and repetitive bat times but a god read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Italian Chappell, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Italian Chapel (Kindle Edition)
The book was interesting to read and I could not put the book. Well researched by the Author
An excellent story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and realistic, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Italian Chapel (Kindle Edition)
Having visited I can only say that it really must be based on facts and a great insight into the characters lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true labour of love, 7 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Italian Chapel (Hardcover)
having visited the Italian chapel last summer and seen first hand what these guys had done I had to buy this book to find out the whole story and I was far from disappointed.A true labour of love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it but wasnt overjoyed, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Italian Chapel (Kindle Edition)
A really interesting book, if only for the factual information it contained. Enjoyed it but wasnt overjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read - based on fact, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Italian Chapel (Kindle Edition)
Well written and an inspiring read. A window on our recent history with people's lives woven in to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 1721 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Italian Chapel
The Italian Chapel by Philip Paris
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews