Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FULL AND COMPREHENSIVE BIO AT LAST!
I, like countless others, have been - since about 1950 - a lifelong fan of Alastair SIM and this long overdue in-depth Biography is expertly researched and produced.

With the help and memories of many notable people who worked with and were personally attached to Mr Sim, it is a warmly felt story with a degree of sadness and triumph.

The author pulls...
Published on 8 Dec 2009 by Eric R. Glasby

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dosen't do the subject justice
It is interesting that the author, or more likely I guess, the publishers, felt that this account of the life of Alastair Sim required a sub-title: 'The star of Scrooge and the Belles of St Trinian's' as though, without this reminder of two of the actor's best known films, the reading public, or, at least, those under forty, would not know who he was.

And yet,...
Published on 30 Jan 2009 by Mr. T. Harvey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One of Scotland's favourite sons, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Christopher Sullivan (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alastair Sim (Paperback)
It is sad that if one were to ask 100 people under the age of thirty who Alistair Sim was it is probable that over 90% would have no idea who he was. Which is a crying shame as he was one of Britain's finest comic actors.
Alistair Sim was born at the birth of the twentieth century in Edinburgh. A plaque commemorating his birth hangs on the wall outside the Filmhouse Cinema on Lothian Road in Edinburgh
This is a delightful biography of a great man and very under-rated actor. Alistair Sim dominated any scene he appeared in even when his co-stars were great actors such as Trevor Howard (Green for Danger), Terry Thomas (The Green Man), Michael Hordern (A Christmas Carol) and many others.
If I had any criticism of the biography is the lack of detail of his time on film sets and what interactions there was with other actors. But, considering the lack of documented information the author had available to him this is a fine tribute to one of Scotland's greatest sons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STILL READING IT., 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alastair Sim (Paperback)
Don't have a lot of time to read so am only at Chapter four. However,it arrived speedily and in very good condition. I am an avid Alastair Sim fan and there is not much about regarding him, so I hoover up all the things I can lay my hands on. So far a very interesting book. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must for a fan, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alastair Sim (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book and the book stayed with the subject matter, would recommend. A must read for any Sim fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and highly informative biography, 28 Sep 2012
By 
Hywel James "Hywel James" (Devon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alastair Sim (Paperback)
Mark Simpson explains in his excellent biography of the actor, Alastair Sim, that he had been working for some nine years on the book. It is fortunate that he started when he did because many of the people he contacted for information about this attractive and intriguing but deeply private individual have since died. Up to the time of the book's publication, 2008, there had been little reliable biographical material about Alastair Sim, for this reason: namely he was a journalists' nightmare in refusing to reveal anything of interest in interview during his lifetime. So Mark Simpson's achievement is doubly welcome in that he has created an interesting, thorough and worthwhile biography, and offers a wide range of revealing and critical observations on theatre and cinema in Britain from the mid-1930's up to the year of Sim's death, in 1976.

Despite some examples of dodgy proof reading undertaken at The History Press, the book's publisher, this biography is highly recommended. It will inform, entertain and throw much valuable light upon a great comic actor whose film work especially will remain to delight successive generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE SEE MY REVIEW VIA THE PAPERBACK EDITION, 9 Dec 2009
By 
Eric R. Glasby (AUSTRALIA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Please see my review under the Paperback Edition if you wish.

MANY THANKS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alastair Sim (Paperback)
Bought as prezzie for my other half and was really glad to find it on Amazon. Going by the info, it will give a great peek into a fabulous actors life. Will look forward to reading it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Alastair Sim: The Star of Scrooge and the Belles of St Trinians, 7 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alastair Sim: The Star of Scrooge and the Belles of St Trinians (Kindle Edition)
While i think the actor Alistair Sim was brilliant i have to say the biography is very sadly boring to read. Perhaps that is why during his life he would not allow it to be written .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alastair Sim Book, 25 Nov 2009
By 
YvonneW (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Ordered, despatched and received very promptly. Securely parceled up, so arrived safely. No problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews