Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but flawed
I agree with everything Ms Skinner, the previous reviewer, has already written about highly loosely relevant facts being used as padding, and the rather bizarre array of photographs. In truth, there probably isn't sufficient specific information about Dame Margot's wartime experiences available to justify a biography of her. Readers looking for indepth analysis of her...
Published on 31 July 2011 by R. Davies

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Women, shame about the book
The story of Margot Turner and the women who lived through this period of history is amazing. The book was fairly easy to read but I felt that the author would go off on a tangent. The blurb on the back does say it re-analyses the Pacific conflict, but I found it did'nt really go into any depth to be described as analysis. It would have been okay if now and again it...
Published on 5 Feb. 2011 by Ms Rebecca C. Skinner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Women, shame about the book, 5 Feb. 2011
By 
Ms Rebecca C. Skinner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The story of Margot Turner and the women who lived through this period of history is amazing. The book was fairly easy to read but I felt that the author would go off on a tangent. The blurb on the back does say it re-analyses the Pacific conflict, but I found it did'nt really go into any depth to be described as analysis. It would have been okay if now and again it had a paragraph to say this is what was going on in the wider world and how it impacted on Margot Turner. But at one point she was discussing the lack of American Nurses joining the army in 1945.

I also would say if they do a second edition, please could some one look at the photos. The only picture of Margot Turner in the book was the post-war picture on the front cover. The only nurse in the photos inside was of Vivian Bullwinkel. The only pictures of prisoners of war were men, there are five pictures of ships sinking (none connected to Margots personnel experience)and one picture of Gen. MacArthur who really isn't in the book that much! Even if there are no pictures of Margot to be had, (odd, as at one stage she was the Matron in Chief of the QA's)surely they could get some stock pictures of nursing at that time or of Singapore.

I'm afraid this is not a book that will be staying on my shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but flawed, 31 July 2011
By 
R. Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with everything Ms Skinner, the previous reviewer, has already written about highly loosely relevant facts being used as padding, and the rather bizarre array of photographs. In truth, there probably isn't sufficient specific information about Dame Margot's wartime experiences available to justify a biography of her. Readers looking for indepth analysis of her character, motivation, decisions and opinions will be disappointed, either because she is an enigma, or because she's a fairly typical POW/career nurse of her day and there's nothing particularly enlightening to be said.

However, this will prove an interesting read for fans of the TV series "Tenko" (the rest of my review contains spoilers, so only continue reading if you've watched all three series).

I very much enjoyed identifying elements of the book that were reflected in the series. For example, the books alludes to the problems that were encountered initially by mixing people from different social and racial groups (Sylvia and Christina's scene, and various scenes between Blanche and others), about doctors being forced to falsify death certificates (Beatrice and Sato), about grasshoppers being seen as a culinary treat (Maggie and Dorothy), about prisoners becoming pregnant by the guards and undergoing rudimentary abortions (Dorothy and May), about already-pregnant women suffering stillbirth (Sally), about women coming up with imaginative recipes from meagre rations (Sylvia's marmalade). There are many more. It's explained why Sato might have been frustrated and embarrassed by his role, and why survival rates and morale amongst children were high. We learn that women organised the camps as a sort of liberal democracy, with people forming smaller "families" or cliques; this too was evident in the television series. We learn how the Dutch fit in, and the role played by the nuns. We are also told that Dame Margot didn't enjoy the tv series, claiming that it was unrealistic, although her biographer points out that it was probably because the character who was based on her was portrayed as a lesbian.

In summary, I'd recommend this book as an interesting and compelling light read for fans of "Tenko" but not to those who are particularly interested in Dame Margot Turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational woman, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a present for a family member after investigating how Lavinia Warner was inspired to write the series Tenko. Although 2 family members have already read it in double quick time, I have yet to do so. Apparently some parts are a little dry, but overall I have been told that it is full of information and shows how the indomitable spirit of Margot Turner made her a survivor in terrible circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK!, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surviving Tenko: The Story of Margot Turner (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly recommend reading this book, it is very interesting although it can get a bit too over descriptive of things in certain places. If you want to find out what it was like in the far east before and during the war then you must read this. I thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting story., 11 Mar. 2014
By 
G. Bean "gbean" (europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an update on an earlier book which I have read. Very harrowing story, and a very brave lady, who I had the pleasure to meet years ago in the late 60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Margot Turner, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surviving Tenko: The Story of Margot Turner (Kindle Edition)
Lowest of the low must be told story they should have been held more accountable for there atrocities inhuman behavior
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I like more story, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surviving Tenko: The Story of Margot Turner (Kindle Edition)
Not a lot of story when. In p ow camp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My wife enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Feb. 2015
By 
Ms. Janet D. Manville "JMDM..." (Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
sad but true
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews