Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars62
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2012
I love all things Victorian and found this book stirred the imagination leaving the reader with no doubt what life was like for everyone living under a Victorian roof.A very good read which was hard to put down.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2012
As a Downton Abbey fan I thought I would try this book out.
It was an eye opener as to how the downstairs staff were really treated by the upstairs employers. 18hr days ,poor living conditions and sacked at the drop of a hat.

Not quite Downton!!

A very interesting read
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2012
A factual book, interesting and informative. Only a few stories of specific characters. If you enjoy facts and figures this may be for you.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
Good reading reading quite a lot of information about the Victorian house hold very interesting I would recommend this book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
I really enjoyed this book it was easy to read and understand and gives a really clear picture of what life was like below stairs
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
This book is very informative it is no way a novel but basic information and snippets from people who actually did the job. I found it a good read so I would recommend it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
life in a victorian household is a really good read never read any of this author but was a pleasant read
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
My own Grandmother worked as maid in a big house when she was 13 years old. I wanted to find out more about what went on in a Victorian household and found this book an interesting read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
My first read on a Kindle that I got for Christmas. A good read as well as informative about the Victorians.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
Sluggish read, prodded like an uninteresting documentary. Felt it was very sketchy and did not flow well, not a good read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.