Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars68
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2010
A small but well formed book. Short and very sweet.

Christopher Giddall once took me around Hampton Court and passed the tourist red rope barriers both physically and verbally. He showed me how the people lived there and managed to serve the difficult Kings. This little gem of a book captures all the life in the Palace and should be used as a reference to fill in the gaps that the larger Tudor historical books miss.

A great read for an evening, then add it to your library in a place that's prominent because you will be diving for it everytime you write Tudor history.

Ray Irving
The Henry Tudor Drama Company
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2011
Agree with the first review, but no reason not to award 5 stars.

This book leads you through a day at the palace, and is full of practical information presented with the simplicity that only an expert can carry off.

Lots of feasting, naturally. What surprised me was the prominence of hunting in the king's everyday life.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2012
I found this book a very good brief introduction to Tudor life. Having an interest in Tudor life (I do Tudor re-enactment), I thought it could be quite interesting. I wasn't disappointed.

Well set out in an easy to follow way, this certainly makes you think on how easy we have it today. Ranging from the person tending the garden to the King himself, and how things fitted into their daily lives, it certainly was a busy time at Court.

Recommended read for reference.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2012
Interesting little book. Has all the little details that you really need to know that history books and novels often skim over. Goes into a day at Hampton Court when Henry VIII lived there. All the people from the scullions to Henry VIII and his Groom of the Stool. A bright idea that works really well.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
Although short, this book provides the kind of basic, factual account of a typical day lived in a Tudor palace. It does exactly what it says, giving a clear and concise rundown of the everyday routine and practicalities of court life. Covering all ranks of people, from the king himself to kitchen servants, this work is invaluable to anyone making a serious attempt at researching this time period. Would give five stars but deducted one, as I felt that the book could have been longer and more detailed, and lacked references and pictures. Overall, would enthusiastically recommend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2015
Short but helpful book for anyone interested in Henry V111 and dictators generally. If everything is arranged around YOU, it would be impossible to remain balanced. Special food, being dressed by others, everyone bowing and scraping plus a 'groom of the stool'.... Can't bear to think what this poor aristocrat had to do. Every morning.

On the evidence of this book, the king was thoroughly spoilt. No wonder Henry had tantrums when he couldn't get his own way. 'Life in a Tudor Palace' is written in straightforward factual style but it fired up my imagination, suggesting parallels with modern corporate organisations and celebrity worship. Fascinating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
This is a fantastic book. I love history of the Tudor age and to find out exactly what life was really like when Henry VIII was living in his palaces is amazing. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
Love the Tudor period and this was surprisingly interesting. Presented as a timetable for the day, with references to historical documents and anecdotal information.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
You really get the impression from the words written how awful life was then. Great if you're in charge, but miserable otherwise. Great detail and very well written.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
A straightforward account of life in Tudor times if you live in a castle or pass notes on living in Hampton Court.
Basically does what it says on the cover.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)