Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A view from the author
First of all, I would like to tell you that my name is Jonathan and not John Falconer.

This book, by the very nature of its size (small), can only hope in 15,000 words to scratch the surface of such a big subject. No, it doesn't tell you anything radically new about the Battle of Britain. It is a primer on the subject, aimed at a teen and general readership,...
Published on 9 July 2007 by Mr. J. R. Falconer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting - but brief
Among so much material on the Battle of Britain now available this had some worthwhile insights but several important omissions and mistakes - to take just one example at random, the original gun harmomisation range specified by Dowding for both Hurricane and Spitfire was 400 yards or more, not 200-250 as stated here, which was the range specified by the more experienced...
Published 20 months ago by David Owen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A view from the author, 9 July 2007
First of all, I would like to tell you that my name is Jonathan and not John Falconer.

This book, by the very nature of its size (small), can only hope in 15,000 words to scratch the surface of such a big subject. No, it doesn't tell you anything radically new about the Battle of Britain. It is a primer on the subject, aimed at a teen and general readership, intended to give a brief but comprehensive appreciation of what it was like to be an RAF fighter pilot in the Battle. If viewed in the wider context of the Sutton 'Life' series, readers will appreciate this fact. It is not intended for the die-hard historian or aviation enthusiast. The hope is that readers will use my book as a stepping stone to read more about this seminal event in Britain's 20th century history.

To compare my book to the successful Ladybird series of titles, I will take as a unintended compliment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting - but brief, 26 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life as a Battle of Britain Pilot (Kindle Edition)
Among so much material on the Battle of Britain now available this had some worthwhile insights but several important omissions and mistakes - to take just one example at random, the original gun harmomisation range specified by Dowding for both Hurricane and Spitfire was 400 yards or more, not 200-250 as stated here, which was the range specified by the more experienced and confident pilots. And the discussion of the 'Big Wing' controversy doesn't really go into the drawbacks of the concept - the delays in getting into action, invariably when the Luftwaffe was on its way back to base having done the damage, and the overclaiming inevitable with large formations which risked skewing the statistics needed for planning the next step in the campaign. Overall too brief to provide the coverage needed for such a well reviewed subject.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings everything about the Battle of Britain to life,, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life as a Battle of Britain Pilot (Kindle Edition)
Puts everything about the Battle in perspective, rather like 'A Hurricane's tale'. It is a timely reminder what sacrifice these young boys made and just how vulnerable we in Britain were in 1940, so thank you, Jon Falconer. This is a must for writers', historians, and should be top of the list of school text books.

Tina.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of an essay than a book, 24 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life as a Battle of Britain Pilot (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book to test the Kindle iPhone and iPad apps before committing to more expensive purchases from Amazon rather than the iBooks store. I bought this book specifically because it was cheap and is in my general area of interest.

This book is very short and offers a cursory glance in five chapters of Battle of Britain fighter pilots with only one of which covering 'a day in the life of...' and the others including 'What did fighter pilots wear?'

I felt to book read more like a school child's eassy about fight pilots rather than an insight into the life of a RAF of Luftwaffe pilot of the Second World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life as a Battle of Britain Pilot (Kindle Edition)
very good reading . eye opener will order from you again. keep up the good work thank you for a great service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life as a Battle of Britain Pilot (Kindle Edition)
Loved it but wasn't long enough for me could have made a great novel, great on detail well done, to J. Falconer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Life as a battle of Britain pilot, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life as a Battle of Britain Pilot (Kindle Edition)
A good account but it's basically a list of missions. It doesn't really give any kind of insight into the pilots role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bravest of the brave, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life as a Battle of Britain Pilot (Kindle Edition)
We often read about the exploits of the pilots in the Battle of Britain, and to some extent it has been glamourised mainly through films etc. but when you read this book and see how badly equipped the pilots were it paints a different picture, they were simply very brave young men who gave up everything for us. Thank you all , may you be remembered always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another view of the actual Few, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life as a Battle of Britain Pilot (Kindle Edition)
Whilst factual and helpful at filling in some of the gaps in my knowledge (I have read quite extensively on the Battle) this probably will not appeal to those not following the same route through the history of 1940.

However, glad I bought and read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book by a good historical author., 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life as a Battle of Britain Pilot (Kindle Edition)
I have read 2 other books by Jonothan Falconer and I have enjoyed them both so I purchased this one too. I wasn't disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life as a Battle of Britain Pilot
0.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews