Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, easy to read, historical book
I read one of Alison Sim's Tudor books and enjoyed it so much bought the other two I could find.
This is an accessible and yet detailed book that gives a view into the society that doesn't fill the famous histories, that of women. Well worth a read if you have a general interest in history. A definite read if you are interested in Tudor times.
Women may have...
Published on 25 Mar 2010

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Kindle edition
Interesting text, with plenty of fascinating detail about the lives of women in the 15th and 16th centuries, but it's a real shame that the publisher did not include any of the images from the print edition. It's frustrating to read text that says, for instance, 'see plate xx' or 'see reproduction of original, without actually being able to see the images referred to. I...
Published 23 months ago by NHinLondon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Kindle edition, 12 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudor Housewife (Kindle Edition)
Interesting text, with plenty of fascinating detail about the lives of women in the 15th and 16th centuries, but it's a real shame that the publisher did not include any of the images from the print edition. It's frustrating to read text that says, for instance, 'see plate xx' or 'see reproduction of original, without actually being able to see the images referred to. I realise that Kindle isn't exactly set up for images, but nevertheless some publishers make a reasonable fist of including them in their Kindle editions - and when viewed on an iPad rather than the Amazon Kindle, images are reproduced perfectly well. So why leave them out?

Publishers should start to pay more attention to the details when publishing Kindle editions. And Amazon should be applying pressure to get them to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, easy to read, historical book, 25 Mar 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Tudor Housewife (Paperback)
I read one of Alison Sim's Tudor books and enjoyed it so much bought the other two I could find.
This is an accessible and yet detailed book that gives a view into the society that doesn't fill the famous histories, that of women. Well worth a read if you have a general interest in history. A definite read if you are interested in Tudor times.
Women may have had limited life options compared today, but not as restrictive as it would seem. Running households, like anytime in history, is like running a business and in some cases women were running major businesses and making significant decisions financial and political. I will be rereading it soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A walk in another woman's shoes, 9 May 2011
By 
Taryn East - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tudor Housewife (Paperback)
Readable and fascinating look at the various aspects of the life of women in the Tudor period. From child-bearing to education, running businesses to being a good, religious women... this book takes you through what we know of how women lived during this time. When I picked it up I feared it would be yet another dry, academic tome, but it was surprisingly readable. Worth a look if this is a topic of interest to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An factual insight in the lives of Tudor women,, 16 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tudor Housewife (Paperback)
this book gives so much to both the social and the studing reader. Set out clearly, we are taken through the lives of Tudor women, from the childbearing to the business women. this book shows clearly the restrainghts placed on women in the early modern period while highlighting their important role in society. I would recomend this book to anyone studing this period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loads of interesting stuff, 21 Jan 2013
By 
A. Garrod (Aberystwyth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudor Housewife (Kindle Edition)
this book has lots of info about how households were run, the kind of education women had, how their daily lives were. Life wasn't quite as bleak domestically as we sometimes imagine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent general study, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudor Housewife (Kindle Edition)
This is a very good overview of the life of women in Tudor times. For me the author gets the tone just right - neither too academic, nor too simplistic, she brings her subject to life. There are plenty of quotes and references to particular women, which you could fairly easily follow up if you wanted more detailed information. The writing style is straightforward and involving, although I suspect that the transfer to ebook format has - as is all too common - messed about with some of the layout. I also gather from other reviews that the ebook does not have the illustrations of the paper versions, and this is very disappointing. Overall though, a great introduction to the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudor Housewife (Paperback)
I love the Tudor era and I did enjoy this book.
It was very informative and written in an easy to read style.
Very good.
Get the cocoa on, get the fire lit and spend Sunday with your feet up and this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tudor skills, 4 May 2011
By 
C. Berry-Davies "eager costumier" (Weston-super-Mare, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudor Housewife (Paperback)
This book came to my notice when I was ordering another book from Amazon. When it arrived I was amazed at the amount of information that it contained and my wife found it fascinating reading too. Want to know what housewives did in the Tudor period, then get hold of this little book - you will find it a tremendous resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Illustrations have vanished, 19 Jun 2014
By 
Ann Swinfen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudor Housewife (Paperback)
I'm sorry to have to give a negative review to what should be an excellent and informative book. However, the constant references to illustrations which simply aren't there is very frustrating. I have the paperback edition, not the Kindle, so there is no excuse for this omission. Even the quote on the back cover refers to it's being 'finely illustrated'. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read..., 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudor Housewife (Paperback)
Arrived quickly and was 'as new'. I really enjoyed this as it gave a real insight to how things really were in Tudor times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tudor Housewife
The Tudor Housewife by Alison Sim
5.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews