Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars35
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.02
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2012
Now here is a book to get your teeth into. Geordie Doran is a very modest man who seemed almost uncomfortable with the title of legend but this is what he is.

The book gives great detail into some of the action and the truth that in fact sometimes there was no action just a lot of terrifying experiences. He diesn't try to over egg anything, it comes across in an honest and accurate portrail of a long and distinguished Army and Special Forces career.

I would have liked a little more info about basic training but overall a great book. He gets my vote for 5 stars

Enjoy
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2007
Mike Morgan again captures the essence of a soldier's account during his time in the SAS. This book takes the reader from the North East to the Far East and beyond in a gripping account of adventure, courage, bravery and sheer determination in extreme conditions to get the job done. A witty and honest account of a true Soldier. This is a must for anyone interested in the factual accounts of the Legendary SAS.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2007
As a Special Forces operator I have served with and read the exploits of extraordinary warriors and can tell you the story of Geordie is the benchmark all operators the world over should strive to be or be compared to. Geordie in his long history within the British 22 Special Air Service (SAS) has set the standard and shows us why the SAS is world respected in the special operations community. Before getting into the Geordies exploits with the SAS, Morgan gives the reader some insights of the times covering the early Cold War and the various brush fire conflicts fleering up all over the globe like the Malayan and Kenya Emergences, which leads the reader into Geordies service with the PARAs in Cyprus. All of which sets the tone of the writing and sets up Geordies desire to serve with the SAS. This book covers some of the known exploits of the SAS but with way more vivid insight then must historical works. This book covers some minor details about Para training and SAS selection course not seen in other works. I really enjoyed chapter seven on selection with its detail on the "Fan Dance." Following chapter covers Malaya. Again I enjoyed reading the detail used to explain counter-tracking methods and the patrol routine for jungle living in the hostile rain forest they operated in for weeks on end. The remainder of the book covers little known details involving SAS actions in Oman, Kenya, Borneo, Yemen and the world famous Iranian Embassy seizure that put the SAS in the public eye. As well the there is some extensive information on SAS parachute and driving training and employment from conception of the employment of high altitude parachuting to the adoption of the first modern SAS mobility vehicle (modified Landrover) with its direct linage to the LRDG "pink panthers." Over all I found this work to be a must read for historians, military personnel and the leisure reader looking to elevate their respiration and heart rate from the safety of their home. I look forward to reading more work from Mike Morgan and can also vouch for his early works that also hold the high standard I found in this title. Finally Geordie dared and Morgan won with an outstanding story to tell.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2010
Having a similar north England background I was intrigued to read his early accounts of NE England, moving into his military career.
Much of his early experiences must have been written from memory because I know of no non-officers who have kept a log, but it adds to the realism of life experiences.
Its a very interesting account of years in the regulars then the Paras and lastly '22', and having read dozens of other 22 books, find this probably the best written I've come across.
I dont know how much of this is down to his writer but its a wonderful account of military goings on behind the scenes. Being threatened to be RTU'd because he didn't wear his beret on exercises shows how even '22' can be subject to the same bs that is evident elsewhere in the services.
A great book, not be lent away for fear of being witheld.
Not to be missed!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2012
this man must have 9 lives!! a stunning read. a superb soldier and such a modest man too. the men who were trained by geordie must have great, fond memories of him. a true hero.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
This is probably one of the best books I have read in a long time! No gung ho waffle. "Geordie" tells his story with no unecassary embelishments, no hype. Each action is described extremely well making the reader "feel" the situation.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2012
Such a good read and nice to know that our security is in the hands of such brave men.
Many campaigns I didn't even know the UK were involved in. Very interesting.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
i read this book and expected slightly better. there were some exciting parts but lots of not so bits and towards the end i was becoming a bit bored, SORRY!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
During the 1990's while still serving, I was fortunate to meet Geordie once, at a Regimental Weekend up in the NE and I was very impressed by how down to earth the man was given the respect he was being shown by those who knew him. I haven't read any of the 'Modern History' books for a few years now but when I saw this book and who it was about I thought, why not. The book turned out to be an excellent account of the life and times of genuine and throughly decent man who well deserved the respect shown and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2011
HAVING BEEN AQUAINTED WITH MIKE SOME TEN YEARS OR SO AND HAVING READ ALL OF HIS PREVIOUS WORKS, MIKE,S MASTERY OF
WORD PROCEDURE IN WRITING ABOUT THE MILITERY LIFE AND TIMES OF GEORDIE DORAN IS TOTALLY GRIPPING.
LIKE ALL HIS PREVIOUS BOOKS, MIKE,S NO-NONSENCE APPROACH GIVES THE READER A CANDID OUTLINE INTO MOST ASPECTS OF
SPECIAL FORCES GOINGS- ON RELATING TO GORDIE.
ONCE AGAIN, MIKE HAS DONE HIS HOMEWORK THOROUGHLY AND PRODUCED A BLOODY GOOD READ....... A DEDICATED AUTHOR
TO HIS CRAFT.

BY MICK. B.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)