Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2010
As a keen golfing fan I picked the book up at the weekend and by Sunday evening had finished it!

Gary's story is very different to that of many golfers. I enjoyed his memories of playing with Arnold Palmer at the US Masters and 'Taming' Tiger Woods at Porthcawl!

After reading this I have a great deal of respect for Gary. Having played in six Walker Cups and devoting his life to his country he set a real example of being a true sportsman as opposed to many of the 'stars' of today. It seems he has entered a new chapter in his career and has got off to a great start!

If you want to read a truly different account of the golfing world and in particular the amateur game then this is just the book- a fascinating read!
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
I have been following Gary for some time, as an amateur his achievements are unique in the modern golfing world. The book is an interesting insight into the man, however unless you are a keen golf fan then stay away!

Gary admits to a lot of things in the book and can come across as slightly bitter to the way he has been treated over the years. I enjoyed the book & read it in only three sittings, you do need to have you own view on Gary but you cannot deny his talent. I wish him well in the future....
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
This is an autobiography of probably Britain's greatest every amateur golfer. His list of achievements is staggering including beating Tiger Woods 18 months before Tiger burst onto the scene by smashing the records at the Masters. There is unlikely to be another amateur this good again because anyone this good will probably turn pro long before they reach his records. However the author has paid the price for staying an amateur for so long and not turning pro until 50. I found the book interesting from the perspective that the author was able to be so successful despite being a short-hitter. It just goes to show how far you can go being a great chipper and putter! Most golfers would find this an interesting read.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2011
I found this biography to be a very interesting insight to amateur golf at the highest level altho. at times it was probably only one sided. A good read.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
Want to see how the high end golfers perform when they are not getting paid for the sport they love? Well check this out. No way a rags to riches story but a true to life explanation of how someone got to the top and didnt earn a penny getting there.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
Not the best written book in the world but an interesting , honest resume of the game and it's characters with which I am partly familiar.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
An interesting read about a complex character and his trials and tribulations with the game and its ruling body. It reveals how he was driven to try for perfection and his near intolerance of those who did not measure to his high standards, his love of representing his country and disappointment of not being able to use his expertise and experience in developing a new generation of amateur england players. Overall, an informative read about one of our greatest amateur golfers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
An interesting look at a sportsman who although obviously had the ability to turn professional left it until much later to join the paid ranks. Also a insightful look at the amateur game and the sacrifices made to stay at the top level. Well written and a good read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Gary gives a wonderful insight into what it takes to be an all-time great amateur golfer plus an interesting look into the workings of the amateur game at the highest level.

I really enjoyed it and found it inspiring
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Very interesting read.
Very opinionated, but not in an egotistical way.
Refreshing to read about a golfer who to all intents and purposes is a career amateur.
Gary understands what golf is really all about.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse