Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling read for anyone who loves golf!
As a keen golfing fan I picked the book up at the weekend and by Sunday evening had finished it!

Gary's story is very different to that of many golfers. I enjoyed his memories of playing with Arnold Palmer at the US Masters and 'Taming' Tiger Woods at Porthcawl!

After reading this I have a great deal of respect for Gary. Having played in six Walker...
Published on 21 Oct. 2010 by Paul

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For the golf fan only
I have been following Gary for some time, as an amateur his achievements are unique in the modern golfing world. The book is an interesting insight into the man, however unless you are a keen golf fan then stay away!

Gary admits to a lot of things in the book and can come across as slightly bitter to the way he has been treated over the years. I enjoyed the...
Published on 11 Oct. 2010 by Carlos


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling read for anyone who loves golf!, 21 Oct. 2010
As a keen golfing fan I picked the book up at the weekend and by Sunday evening had finished it!

Gary's story is very different to that of many golfers. I enjoyed his memories of playing with Arnold Palmer at the US Masters and 'Taming' Tiger Woods at Porthcawl!

After reading this I have a great deal of respect for Gary. Having played in six Walker Cups and devoting his life to his country he set a real example of being a true sportsman as opposed to many of the 'stars' of today. It seems he has entered a new chapter in his career and has got off to a great start!

If you want to read a truly different account of the golfing world and in particular the amateur game then this is just the book- a fascinating read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For the golf fan only, 11 Oct. 2010
I have been following Gary for some time, as an amateur his achievements are unique in the modern golfing world. The book is an interesting insight into the man, however unless you are a keen golf fan then stay away!

Gary admits to a lot of things in the book and can come across as slightly bitter to the way he has been treated over the years. I enjoyed the book & read it in only three sittings, you do need to have you own view on Gary but you cannot deny his talent. I wish him well in the future....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insight into amateur golf, 24 July 2011
By 
Hamish Ewan (Inverness, Highland, GB) - See all my reviews
I found this biography to be a very interesting insight to amateur golf at the highest level altho. at times it was probably only one sided. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Britain's Greatest Amateur Golfer?, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long and The Short of It: The Autobiography of Britain's Greatest Amateur Golfer (Kindle Edition)
This is an autobiography of probably Britain's greatest every amateur golfer. His list of achievements is staggering including beating Tiger Woods 18 months before Tiger burst onto the scene by smashing the records at the Masters. There is unlikely to be another amateur this good again because anyone this good will probably turn pro long before they reach his records. However the author has paid the price for staying an amateur for so long and not turning pro until 50. I found the book interesting from the perspective that the author was able to be so successful despite being a short-hitter. It just goes to show how far you can go being a great chipper and putter! Most golfers would find this an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life long amateur tells it as it is, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long and The Short of It: The Autobiography of Britain's Greatest Amateur Golfer (Kindle Edition)
Want to see how the high end golfers perform when they are not getting paid for the sport they love? Well check this out. No way a rags to riches story but a true to life explanation of how someone got to the top and didnt earn a penny getting there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of amateur golf, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long and The Short of It: The Autobiography of Britain's Greatest Amateur Golfer (Kindle Edition)
Not the best written book in the world but an interesting , honest resume of the game and it's characters with which I am partly familiar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the great british amateur, 28 Oct. 2012
By 
A. Morgan (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long and The Short of It: The Autobiography of Britain's Greatest Amateur Golfer (Kindle Edition)
An interesting read about a complex character and his trials and tribulations with the game and its ruling body. It reveals how he was driven to try for perfection and his near intolerance of those who did not measure to his high standards, his love of representing his country and disappointment of not being able to use his expertise and experience in developing a new generation of amateur england players. Overall, an informative read about one of our greatest amateur golfers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and a good read., 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long and The Short of It: The Autobiography of Britain's Greatest Amateur Golfer (Kindle Edition)
An interesting look at a sportsman who although obviously had the ability to turn professional left it until much later to join the paid ranks. Also a insightful look at the amateur game and the sacrifices made to stay at the top level. Well written and a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great insight into elite amateur golf, 27 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long and The Short of It: The Autobiography of Britain's Greatest Amateur Golfer (Kindle Edition)
Gary gives a wonderful insight into what it takes to be an all-time great amateur golfer plus an interesting look into the workings of the amateur game at the highest level.

I really enjoyed it and found it inspiring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amateur legend, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long and The Short of It: The Autobiography of Britain's Greatest Amateur Golfer (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting read.
Very opinionated, but not in an egotistical way.
Refreshing to read about a golfer who to all intents and purposes is a career amateur.
Gary understands what golf is really all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews