Customer Reviews


313 Reviews
5 star:
 (223)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read
Really enjoyed this book I like Paul and thought it would be and was a very interesting read would recommend this to others
Published 6 months ago by Mrs d

versus
51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste of time
Yet another biog that has bee thrown together by a journalist keen on making a quick buck. Cobbled together from
out of date newspaper interviews, this inaccurate account isn't worth bothering with. Buy O'Grady's own story if you want a good read, At my Mothers Knee...and other low joints, very funny and gives a real insight to the man. You can hear his voice as you...
Published on 12 Oct 2008 by ryan


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste of time, 12 Oct 2008
Yet another biog that has bee thrown together by a journalist keen on making a quick buck. Cobbled together from
out of date newspaper interviews, this inaccurate account isn't worth bothering with. Buy O'Grady's own story if you want a good read, At my Mothers Knee...and other low joints, very funny and gives a real insight to the man. You can hear his voice as you read. Simpsons is a load of badly written pap. Give this book a wide berth, you learn nothing from it.Paul O'Grady: The BiographyPaul O'Grady: The Biography
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the real thing!, 13 Oct 2008
OMG! If like me you have been watching Paul O'Grady talking about his autobiography all year on his show - DON'T BUY THIS BOOK! It has been written by some journalist, it isn't his book and it's not even very good!!!! His REAL BOOK is called AT MY MOTHER'S KNEE and is brilliant! It's Paul o'Grady through and through. If you love Paul, you'll love it. Make sure you buy the right one!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul O'Grady - The Biography: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book I like Paul and thought it would be and was a very interesting read would recommend this to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing document, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul O'Grady - The Biography: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
I am a huge fan of Lilly Savage. The problem is not with Lilly or Paul O Grady. The problem is with the gushing sycophantic stile of the biographer. A more balanced style of writing more in the style of Paul would have much more appeal to me. A story that could be told better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bridge!, but an okay biography, 11 April 2008
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I can understand why people have rated this perfectly average biography five stars, no doubt Paul O' Grady fans are delighted to have a book out about this very talented man. Personally, I see it only as a bridge for those who want something to read prior to his official biography, which we soon be published.

'Paul O' Grady - The Biography' is one of the better unauthorised biographies on the market. Neil Simpson is clearly a big Paul fan, whereas some hacks try to dish the dirt on their subject, this author is mostly full of praise for his. He tells the story of Paul O' Grady from childhood to present in outline form, with quotes made by friends, family and the man himself. I know for a fact that there is a lot of truth in here, but as most biographers relay a lot (and I don't doubt that so has Neil) on old press articles, I can't help but wonder which parts aren't accurate or aren't true at all, this is was always a problem with such books. Also, as Paul is a very funny man, people reading this book will find it rather dry, and nowhere near as amusing as it would be if it had been written by him.

Well, I enjoyed it, it is clearly a fan's account of Paul O' Grady, and it was easy to read. However, I wouldn't pay full price, and if you only intend to buy one book on Paul, then wait for his official autobiography to be released, that will be a far superior book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul O'Grady: The Biography, 25 July 2007
By 
Mrs. P. Buckle "tisha_buckle" (Reading , Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This put is so hard to put down. As you are reading it you can almost hear Paul saying the words that are written. A must for all Paul O'grady fans.

Very funny and just excellent a must to purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful !, 6 Aug 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Paul O'Grady's biography made me laugh out loud and burst into tears with each chapter.
It's been a long time since i have read a book full of such hidden emotions.
You have to purchase this book whether you like Paul or not, if you aren't fond of him, then you soon will be after reading this book.
So impressed that i've just pre-ordered his next one, At my mother's knee.
Well done to Neil Simpson for the brilliantly writen book.
I couldn't put the book down!!
This book should have a health warning on the cover:
IF YOU ARE GOING TO PUCHASE THIS BOOK, YOUR HOUSEWORK WILL SUFFER!
The world will be populated with rats due to lack of housework!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best entertainer, 1 Oct 2007
what a great book about a great man - Paul O Grady is a classic entertainer. His roots are in old fashonied variety shows and even vaudeville which is why his afternoon show is such a showcase for ordinary people with a bit of guts and talent. What this book does so well is to show why Paul supports ordinary people and underdogs. His history is amazing, you can almost sense him watching the women at market stalls and magistrates courts when he put Lily Savage together. But Lily was only a stepping stone - it is clear he always wanted to be himself and give other people a chance to shine. The emotional stuff in the book is heartbreaking without being intrusive. Paul has quietly got on with life when all has been falling down around him. Just like the survivors he has always admired. what a showman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britain's got talent, 27 April 2008
What's the connection between the grandfatherly paul o grady on his chat show today and the mad old lilly savage from the 80's? It's the amazing characters Paul knew when he was a boy, his need to escape from reality when he got to london and his simple love of talented variety performers. Lily was a means to and end. The real Paul O Grady is the one we see on TV today and he's a surprisingly more thoughtful and quieter individual than I had expected. There's a lot of sadness in his life, and in this book. But it's made me an even bigger fan. My only question - why isn't he a judge on Britain's Got Talent - he'd be brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul O'Grady - The Biography: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable but a lot of repetition from previous books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews