Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too much rubbish
Whilst each case is a unique interesting one, there are way too many facts and nowhere near enough about the interviews. It also gets less and less interesting as the book goes on but still a good read.
Published on 8 Jun 2008 by Mrs. B. Gilbert

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dire
This has to be one of the most disappointing books I have ever read. I expected it to be fascinating. I suspect it hadn't even been proof-read before publication. So many "facts" were at odds with each other, key dates changing from sentence to sentence. Don't bother with it!
Published on 26 Jun 2012 by Getting On A Bit


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dire, 26 Jun 2012
This has to be one of the most disappointing books I have ever read. I expected it to be fascinating. I suspect it hadn't even been proof-read before publication. So many "facts" were at odds with each other, key dates changing from sentence to sentence. Don't bother with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a great deal of talking with serial killers!, 17 Mar 2004
By A Customer
I began reading this book with the notion in my head that it would provide me with an insight into a serial killers mind. The first section starts off brightly and does a good job at getting you interested in the way the book will eventually pan out. However, as I progressed I found that the title was more than a little misleading and that the first section by far and away was the best. The problem with the book is that all in all there is very little conversation with the men and women that the book is based on. The author states that he has had numerous correspondance with the subjects, sadly we see very little of this and only brief statements from the 'extensive' interviews carried out. By all means the book is brought together well and does display in great detail the lengths that these people have gone to in order to continue the killing. This though is pieced together by police records and not from the mouth of the convicts as I would have expected.
The author i have no doubts is extremely talented but I feel that the book let me down as much as I bought a bmw only to find the interior and engine of a cortina.
All in all the book is readable and is worth a look at, as long as you undersatnd it is merely 'a chat with serial killers' and not what you might expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very little conversation involved, 11 Jan 2006
This book should be called ' Why talk to serial killers when you know everything already?' as Mr. Barry-Dee seems to think that we are far more interested in what he has to say anyway. Though he has, apparently, had a great deal of interaction with the people he discusses you would be forgiven for doubting that as he only ever includes a few words from them at the end. It is overly sensational, describing one man as 'a monster in every sense of the word'. I don't see how this can be the case, as one sense of the word is 'a mythological creature' which seems ludicrous unless we all had a mass hallucintion that this man exists. As someone who is studying to (hopefully) become a forensic psychologist, I find books like this one abhorrent as they merely serve to enhance the idea that these people are a different breed to the rest of us, which I find rediculous and not very helpful to those who wish to understand these people better. In addition to this, having read about some of the cases before, I find some of his inferences laughable. This is a man who clearly has his own agenda (pro death penalty, in my opinion). The fact that he takes pains to prove that Henry Lee Lucas is a 'liar' because he contradicts himself seems to suggest that he has little real appreciation of insanity as he judges him on far too rational terms. If you want to learn about this subject, I would suggest 'Guilty by Reason of Insanity by D. Otnow or any of the wonderfully sensative and unsensational accounts of crime wriiten by Brian Masters. Read this is you want to get all the gory details with no genuine thought attatched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it says on the tin., 27 April 2012
Although sometimes there are one or two facts here and there the writer seems more interesting in telling us how he solved this and that by having such an amazing insight in to these psychos minds. Information is given here and there about things but with no explanations after. At times it is badly written and certainly isnt Talking with Serial Killers. Should be called brief sentences if conversations with serial killers. You would be better off reading info of wikipedia. It would be more reliable and informative. At times interesting, other times exploitative and other times just boring and hard keep up with. Took me weeks to finish I got so bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too much rubbish, 8 Jun 2008
By 
Mrs. B. Gilbert "Grief Encounter" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Whilst each case is a unique interesting one, there are way too many facts and nowhere near enough about the interviews. It also gets less and less interesting as the book goes on but still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stop making the book out to be bad!!!, 28 Mar 2010
By 
Sean Hughes "Sean" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think that the book is a great read because it also includes the serial killers story of events. This makes the book great because it shows what the killers thought was happening, even though it is usually wrong, and shows that there is something wrong with them.
However i do think that the book gets a bit boring the more you get into it. Also it focuses too much on the serial killers childhood and not enough about how and why they killed.
I think the book is a good buy thiugh because it gives a great insight into the mind of a killer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, interesting book, 24 Feb 2009
By 
Emanon (London, England) - See all my reviews
This book does not have much 'talking' with serial killers in it. There are some transcripts of conversations, but what is interesting are the life stories of the killers. The author has pieced together each of their stories, showing how they became what they did, and it is this journey that is most interesting. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 10 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is an excellent little book if like me you are into reading about depraved individuals

The book is quick to the point and gives you a little background on the killers and their upbringings before he finally reveals what he shared with them in the interviews.

As other reviewers have said around 80% of this book is dedicated to telling you about the crimes of the killers other than when he is actually talking to them, unfortunately it is neccessary to do so as im sure there are people out there who really wouldnt know who they are, as to be honest its mostly the lesser known serial killers he interviews. But what is said is very intriguing never the less.

On the whole a very good book and reccomended to all serial killer 'fans' out there

I also highly reccomend the book 'in the minds of murderers' by Paul roland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Presenting conjecture and opinion as actual fact...., 6 Mar 2007
A handful of short excerpts taken from interview transcripts constitute the 'conversation' with serial killers in this book. 90% of the book is Mr Berry Dee hypothesising on what actually happened, motivations and psychology, and presenting his own interpretation and opinion as actual fact. I was left feeling contempt for him because this book is mediocre, sensationalist and completely lacks credibility.

If you are looking for real insight into the criminal mind I suggest reading anything by or involving Robert Ressler or David Canter, genuine criminal profilers not authors with ideas of self grandeur and an over inflated sense of importance.

This book gets two stars instead of one because the only good thing it has going for it is that it focuses on less well-known serial killers rather than the big 5, Dahmer, Bundy, Manson, Nielsen and Gein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let the worlds most evil men inside your mind...., 2 Jun 2004
By 
Talking with Serial Killers is fantastic. It's a sickening and exhilerating journey through the minds of people who are quite simply EVIL. The quotes and passages from the killers themselves are a superb compliment to the factual way the stories are told. Very well written and very entertaining. The danger with this book would have been a collection of letters written by deranged murderers(If this is what you want, sorry)CBD avoids this temptation and gets the balance just right. Also interviewed and qouted are the police and judges involved in the cases. A must read for anyone interested in the workings of a criminal mind. A truly frightening read. Buy it now, but expect a few sleepless nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews