Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack the Ripper
I resently went to Trevor Marriot's live talk about the Ripper which was superb and now reading the book has given me very much more pleasure again. If you have an interest in this sort of thing I would highly recommend this read.
Published 11 months ago by doug B

versus
59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Over-Hyped, below average book
I don't know who wrote the synopsis for this book's cover but I doubt they actually read the book. Mr Marriott DOES NOT solve the Ripper murders. He doesn't even propose a likely candidate. His opinion (which may be valid but is still an opinion that is not backed up with any hard facts) is Jack was a merchant Seaman. Apparently he has spent a lot of time researching...
Published on 12 April 2005 by Mr. K. Nicholson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Over-Hyped, below average book, 12 April 2005
By 
I don't know who wrote the synopsis for this book's cover but I doubt they actually read the book. Mr Marriott DOES NOT solve the Ripper murders. He doesn't even propose a likely candidate. His opinion (which may be valid but is still an opinion that is not backed up with any hard facts) is Jack was a merchant Seaman. Apparently he has spent a lot of time researching shipping logs and proposed a couple of likely ships that COULD have had Jack The Ripper working on board BUT the actual crew lists no longer exist. He readily admits during the last chapter he can't put a name to the Ripper!
The forensic detective insights promised for this book were sorely lacking and, with only a couple of minor details, means this book is, once again, another tomb reeling off the author's pet theory with nothing substantial to back up the claims. Most of the main suspects are written off purely because they don't fit in with his opinion.
It is a real shame because if this book had approached the subject in the way the cover/synopsis had promised it would have been a very interesting and inlightening read. Instead we just have another author cashing in with nothing new to present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This isn't a book that should be tossed away lightly - it should be thrown with great force, 16 Feb 2006
As a Jack the Ripper enthusiast I was keen to see what Marriot could bring to the discussion.

On reading it in the space of just over 2 hours the answer to that question is simple: Nothing.

The large proportion of the 307 page large-print book is filled with already widely availble coroner's reports and witness statements. Very little space is dedicated to logical and insightful discussion of the case.

The "synopsis" is a blatent fabrication - "it can be revealed that up to nine were victims" - Marriot only agrees on the canonical five and "probably" dismisses other victims.

No suspect is put forward in place of the ones he carelessly dismisses and the groundbreaking theory he proposes is far from new! His conclusions were already documented in 1888.

I conceed that this book may be of interest to "newbies", but even then I wouldn't bet on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry - not worth the read, 12 Jan 2006
I saw the hype; I asked my children for it as a birthday present; I unwrapped it with genuine delight (and I'm 45 years old); and I read it in a single day (yesterday).
What a cop-out. Rehashed reprints of court reports, photo's we've seen before, and the last 17 pages with the solution - "he could have been a merchant seaman" - supported by nothing.
Sorry, Mr Marriot - I know you had an impossible task, 115 years after the events, but if this is the best 'a leading CID murder inquiry officer' can come up with ... I'm emigrating for the safety of my family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful book, do not buy, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really should have taken heed of the critical reviews of this book, but bought it anyway.

Everything that has been said on here re the book being a disappointment is true.

The majority of the book simply prints word for word the Coroner's reports for each of the victims - all of which we have read before.

The author makes a big mistake in saying that none of Mary Kelly's organs were removed, but instead left in the room with the rest of the poor woman's corpse. Wrong. The coroner's report clearly states that the Doctor's statement confirms that "the heart is absent".

I honestly am so disappointed with this book and the author's ridiculous findings that I cannot be bothered to review it anymore.

If you want a terrific Jack the Ripper book, full of interest, opinion and evidence to back it up - choose Bruce Paley's book, available here on Amazon second hand. It is everything a Ripper book should be.

Don't bother with this awful offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars First get the evidence THEN write the book, 28 Dec 2011
By 
Charles (DURHAM, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The author has made the oldest mistake in the book. He has certainly stumbled across an intriguing idea, and could have really caught the imagination if he had bothered to gather the evidence before he had written the book.
The idea proposed in this book may have legs, but too many "...and I hope to find this evidence in the future" leaves the reader with a feeling the book is unfinished.
Certainly, the suspect proposed by Mr. Marriot is not as ridiculous as most, and is intriguing to look into, but ultimately there is not one shred of evidence to suggest he has any link whatsoever with The Ripper.
"He may have been in the country at the time" and "He might have been to London" is not good enough. The simple fact that he committed a non-ripper murder in another country is an incredibly tenuous association, and ultimately completely unsatisfactory.
Mr. Marriot, with his links to modern crime detection, should know better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack the Ripper, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack the Ripper: The 21st Century Investigation (Kindle Edition)
I resently went to Trevor Marriot's live talk about the Ripper which was superb and now reading the book has given me very much more pleasure again. If you have an interest in this sort of thing I would highly recommend this read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars jack the ripper-the 21st century investigation, 29 May 2010
By 
R. Reeves "roysie" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
unfortunately this book does not excite the mind as much as the title it mainly rehashes old facts and does not really have a final conclusion there are better ripper books out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 8 Sep 2009
By 
Junius (London, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
There's been worse books on this topic, but many are better, and this is rather thin on facts about the killings. All the usual suspects are listed and dismissed, and the revelation that there may have been more than the usual five suspects is not new. The author suspects a sailor may have been guilty, but doesn't mention that this is hardly novel - Queen Victoria suspected this possibility in 1888. No evidence provided, of course.

On the plus side, it is easy to read and the chapter detailing the differences between a 19th century crime investigation and a modern one are worth reading.

Perhaps it is worth reading as a starter book on the topic before moving onto more detailed ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most credible solution to the ripper mystery, 29 Sep 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has been much maligned by ripper enthusiasts, but it is difficult to see why. True, the author does include a lot of the inquest testimony that will be familiar to most already interested in this case, but I found that was more than made up for by the approach of a former murder squad detective to investigating a case that has been done to death. In particular, he questions several long held beliefs about the whitechapel murderer, such as his alleged medical skill (and removal of organs from the bodies of 2 of the victims) and the belief that he was a local man, and comes up with a coherent and well argued alternative to the standard view on the subject.

The final chapter is not in the hardback edition, and gives a compelling review of the evidence for one Carl Fiegenbaum, executed in New York, 27th April 1896 for the murder of his landlady, as the Whitechapel murderer, as well as many other murders of the time, and attempts to demonstrate that he was, as a merchant seaman, a candidate to have committed any one of them.

Having read many books that attempt to finger 'jack the ripper' I can say that this one gives the most convincing of possible solutions to the mystery, circumstancial evidence to be sure, but the theory that he was a merchant seaman I find more in keeping with the evidence we do have, rather than the 'local resident' argument (that seems to be popular in part because it throws up a lot of known candidates)

'I have for years suffered from a singular disease which induces an all-absorbing passion, this passion manifests itself in a desire to kill and mutilate every woman who falls in my way' thus Feigenbaum to his lawyer. Compare this statement to one made by the Yorkshire Ripper(the serial killer who most resembles jack the ripper) on his arrest, and I think it is clear why Feigenbaum is a very plausible candidate for the title of 'jack the ripper'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but too much filler, 25 Nov 2008
By 
Sauniere (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The last 150 pages or so are good when the author decides to do some writing, but the first part of the book is endless rehashes of court testimony and reports.

In the good second part of the book the author looks at a number of people suspected of being the ripper and then presents his own theory. His theory is interesting and involves a globe trotting serial killer !.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews