Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Alex Higgins
This was an entertaining read which gave an interesting picture of Alex Higgins. If you are a snooker fan it is well worth the read.
Published 12 months ago by Susan M

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There is a good book out there waiting to be written about Alex Higgins, but this isn't it!
Being a fan of snooker, particularly back in the 80's heyday, I saw this in my local library and snapped it up immediately. I thought that the mix of snooker funnyman John Virgo and Alex Higgins sounds full of great anecdotes. In the end, I am delighted that I did not spend a penny of my money on this tripe.
It is a messed-up jumble of stories which jump about all...
Published on 20 April 2012 by Andrew Clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There is a good book out there waiting to be written about Alex Higgins, but this isn't it!, 20 April 2012
By 
Andrew Clark (Preston, Lancs, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being a fan of snooker, particularly back in the 80's heyday, I saw this in my local library and snapped it up immediately. I thought that the mix of snooker funnyman John Virgo and Alex Higgins sounds full of great anecdotes. In the end, I am delighted that I did not spend a penny of my money on this tripe.
It is a messed-up jumble of stories which jump about all over the place with little apparent thought. One moment, Virgo will be talking about Higgins playing someone in a match in 1973 perhaps, and then in the next sentence he'll be relating an event from 1982 with no clear point joining the two together. If you are not so aware of snooker's history you'd have trouble working out what match or what year he's talking about.
It's extremely repetitive with same or similar tales told throughout the book in different words. Dates and match scores are often badly mistaken. I just got the feeling that this book was the result of a ghost-writer who knew nothing about snooker sitting down with Virgo for a few hours as he rambled into a tape-recorder. then the guy went away and hashed it all together and Virgo himself must not have bothered to actually sit down and proof-read 'his' own book before publication. Even names are wrong sometimes, with Rex Williams being called both Rex and Ray in the same paragraph. One of the photos in the book is of Steve Davis and Higgins at the 1983 UK Championship Final where Higgins came back from 0-7 down to win 16-15. It's one of the greatest matches in snooker history. However, despite the photo, the match itself is not mentioned once in the entire book! Virgo should be ashamed of putting this rubbish out about his 'mate' within months of his death.
All in all, it reads like a far too quick attempt to cash in on Alex Higgins' death to get a few quid for Virgo, who never really comes across as being exactly close to Higgins to begin with. If Jimmy White had done this instead of Virgo, it'd probably be far more personal and true to character.
Seriously, do not bother with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where's this book going?! Where's this book going?! Straight to the bargain bins, 24 April 2011
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Like him or loathe him, one thing was for certain, it was impossible to ignore the impact that Alex Higgins had, both on and off the snooker table.

John Virgo first met Higgins in the early 1970's and remained friends with him until the Irishman's death in 2010. But being a friend of Higgins was never easy, as Virgo chronicles. Whilst capable of genius on the snooker table, off it Alex Higgins was barely controllable, always ending up in one scrape or another.

Some are quite amusing, most just leave a bad taste in the mouth, such as Higgins' pocketing of a pound note and a pen from a disabled young fan desperate for an autograph and then walking off with the money without providing the autograph.

With two well-written biographies about Alex Higgins already published, by Bill Borrows and John Hennessey, John Virgo's book doesn't add much to what we already know about the Hurricane.

Whilst he lightly touches upon the rivalry between Higgins and the likes of Spencer, Reardon and Steve Davis, he never develops this. Indeed, one of Higgins' best tournament victories, the 1983 UK Championship, where he came from behind to pip Steve Davis, isn't mentioned at all.

Added to this there are numerous elementary errors about the game that make you wonder how Virgo has managed to eke out a living as a snooker expert for so long. For example, when discussing the 1982 World Championship final between Higgins and Reardon he states that Reardon hadn't won a major title for ten years, despite the fact that Reardon's sixth and last World title was won in 1978.

He also believes that Higgins' last World Championship appearance was in 1990, ignoring his 1994 swansong and writes that after Jimmy White's defeat to Steve Davis in 1984 he would have to wait until 1991 to contest another final at the Crucible, despite Jimmy's 1990 World Championship final defeat against Stephen Hendry.

If you're looking for a decent book about Alex Higgins then either The Hurricane by Bill Borrows or Eye of the Hurricane by John Hennessey fit the bill. Unfortunately, Let Me Tell You About Alex falls wide of the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hurricane, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Tell You About Alex - Crazy Days and Nights on the Road with the Hurricane: Wild Days and Nights on the Road with the World's Greatest Snooker Player Alex 'Hurricance' Higgins (Kindle Edition)
It felt like John Virgo was actually telling you the story rather than it being a read. Not much we never already knew about the great man. But snippets of information that were good to know, funny and sometimes sad. Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alex Higgins, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Tell You About Alex - Crazy Days and Nights on the Road with the Hurricane: Wild Days and Nights on the Road with the World's Greatest Snooker Player Alex 'Hurricance' Higgins (Kindle Edition)
This was an entertaining read which gave an interesting picture of Alex Higgins. If you are a snooker fan it is well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A gread read., 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Tell You About Alex - Crazy Days and Nights on the Road with the Hurricane: Wild Days and Nights on the Road with the World's Greatest Snooker Player Alex 'Hurricance' Higgins (Kindle Edition)
A great read for any Alex Higgins fan, lots of stories about the man, some stories i have heard before some I've not. The book also includes a section where other snooker players give there opinions on Alex. All in all a great read, well done J.V.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Time, 6 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Let Me Tell You About Alex - Crazy Days and Nights on the Road with the Hurricane: Wild Days and Nights on the Road with the World's Greatest Snooker Player Alex 'Hurricance' Higgins (Kindle Edition)
I will add comments but also read D.Smith's review which touches on other things I would have said. The book in general is repetitive, with little in any chronological order making it a bit awkward to follow and there is a lot of rambling, a bit like one of Virgo's commentary's. There are actually very few 'incidents' involving Higgins, I have read more in other books but Virgo does an excellent job (hence 2 stars and not 1) in making it clear what an unpleasant character Higgins was. The theft of the £1 from the wheelchair bound fan and threatening to have a child shot for fidgeting in the front row were fairly typical of the man. But according to Virgo this was all okay because it 'was Alex'. At the end of the book Virgo claims that nothing Higgins did mattered, well try telling that to the many people he physically and mentally hurt. Virgo also illustrates very well how Higgins used everybody around him and had no real friends, so in fairness Virgo does an excellent job of telling the reader what Higgins was really like.
Overall a really poor effort, littered with mistakes as D.Smith has pointed out and is purely an attempt by Virgo to make a fast buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good insight, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Tell You About Alex - Crazy Days and Nights on the Road with the Hurricane: Wild Days and Nights on the Road with the World's Greatest Snooker Player Alex 'Hurricance' Higgins (Kindle Edition)
I liked the insight to behind the scenes of snooker. Disliked the way he sometimes told you what was coming up. I would have preferred him to tell as it was happening. Would recommend to any sport enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great insight into probably the greatest ever snooker character and the way John Virgo talks about this snooker great, he was admired both on and off the table but not without incidents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One Alex Higgins Book tells the same story as every other Alex Higgins Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just about worth £1.99., 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Tell You About Alex - Crazy Days and Nights on the Road with the Hurricane: Wild Days and Nights on the Road with the World's Greatest Snooker Player Alex 'Hurricance' Higgins (Kindle Edition)
Pretty poorly written and no new material. So many references to what was to come later in the book I felt like reading from back to front. Average player, average celebrity, average writer - just average really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews