Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Gok,s Biography
Haven't read a lot but what I have read has been great, love Gok, he's simply amazing, and love his shows. A must buy.
Published 16 months ago by Ms. D. Keogh

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
I was a bit disappointed with this book. It only really dealt with Gok's life from the time he began to appear on television. The same reference to his 'up bringing on a tough council estate' was repeated many times, but this was the part of his life which many readers would have found most interesting. I understand that he may wish to protect the privacy of his...
Published on 20 Jun. 2010 by Holiday Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 20 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: Gok Wan: The Biography (Paperback)
I was a bit disappointed with this book. It only really dealt with Gok's life from the time he began to appear on television. The same reference to his 'up bringing on a tough council estate' was repeated many times, but this was the part of his life which many readers would have found most interesting. I understand that he may wish to protect the privacy of his family, but if this is the case I wonder why he agreed to the book being written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gok Wan: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
I love Gok but this biography is repetitive and badly written. I wanted to know more about the person not be treated to rehashed summaries of episodes of how to look good naked. This author also seems to have an obsession with Trinny and Susannah who get as many mentions as Gok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nice guy, bad biography, 28 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Gok Wan: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
Nothing about his life only his career & running people down.

Not good for his image.

Sorry Gok you deserve better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter drivel, 21 July 2009
This review is from: Gok Wan: The Biography (Hardcover)
Total and utter rubbish, full of pointless and unrelated archive material presumably spewed and regurgitated by Ms Herbert in past articles (the nonsense on Linda Barker and 'Changing Rooms' was a particular highlight).
Full of basic grammatical errors and spelling mistakes it reads like a 1st year undergrad Media Studies essay. On second thoughts, that is maybe a bit too unkind to Media Studies students.....

If you are really interested in Gok you'll gain a better insight from Wikipedia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice guy Gok, 7 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gok Wan: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
An easy read with interesting case notes. The problem was the amount of highly repetitive facts. Still worth reading though.
t.v.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gok,s Biography, 26 Oct. 2013
By 
Ms. D. Keogh "miss keogh" (watford herts uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gok Wan: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
Haven't read a lot but what I have read has been great, love Gok, he's simply amazing, and love his shows. A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 20 Sept. 2013
By 
R. Moore "Ros Moore" (Wellingborough England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Gok Wan: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
I must admit I was a Gok addict for "How to look good Naked"and have enjoyed his later programme since.
But I do feel that writing a biography of a young man is just too soon, but that is just my opinion.
If you like his style and the man, then get the book.
Ros.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gok Wan Experience, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gok Wan: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
It was more of Gok Wan Experience circling around the same story through out the book rather than a Biograohy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars harley lover, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gok Wan: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy the book and do think it is worth reading. My complaint was it said the same thing over and over. Example, Gok knew only too well being a mixed race over weight child from a tough council estate. This was written more times than I care to remember
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MR GOK WAN, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gok Wan: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
THIS WAS A VERY INTERESTING READ. I THOUGHT MR G. ALWAYS COMES ACROSS AS A KIND
CARING PERSON AND I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED WITH BIOGRAPHY ALTHOUGH THERE WAS SOME CHAPTERS THAT REPEATED SAME INFORMATION ESPECIALLY ABOUT HOW MUCH WEIGHT HE LOST AND THAT HE WAS BULLIED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gok Wan: The Biography
Gok Wan: The Biography by Emily Herbert
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews