Customer Reviews


233 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (70)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An indictment of the Jeremy Kyle society
I bought this book without reading the other reviews, because the subject interested me. Having read the reviews, I am compelled to write my own. The book is being criticised for not being about Shannon; ok, a couple of points. Firstly, read the title - it isn't about Shannon as much as it is about how she was betrayed from birth. By definition it is therefore going...
Published 14 months ago by NotJustACook

versus
36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Betrayal Continues.
This book is made up of newspaper reporting, some research was done regarding the area, but other than that it was just like reading a daily Red Top. The author was not impartial and very critical of Karen, rightly so, but why name the book after Shannon? This poor child has lost everything in her life, no matter how good or bad it was, and she will be hunted down by...
Published on 23 Jan 2012 by Ms. D. M. Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Betrayal Continues., 23 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is made up of newspaper reporting, some research was done regarding the area, but other than that it was just like reading a daily Red Top. The author was not impartial and very critical of Karen, rightly so, but why name the book after Shannon? This poor child has lost everything in her life, no matter how good or bad it was, and she will be hunted down by the media for the rest of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new here, 28 Dec 2011
As other reviewers have said this isnt a book about shannon matthews.The author herself admits as much in the final chapter,therefore the title is misleading to the reader. It is a collection of facts and events surrounding the case,all of which are well known from uk news coverage already...If youre looking for new insight into shannon or any of the characters involved in this awful saga you wont find it in this book.I could see it being useful or interesting to those completely unfamiliar with the case but sadly the title states the obvious then does nothing to substantiate it any more than any of the tabloids did. Decidedly average offering at best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


351 of 372 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible, 27 Sep 2010
I was bought this by a relative, who said it was brilliant. In my opinion, it isn't. Firstly, the subject of the book is still only a child, and really should not be intruded upon by the press anymore than she already has been. Secondly, it is sensationalist throughout: 'Britain's cruellest mother' being one of the very first phrases in the book. Really? Worse than Baby P's mother? Are we recounting facts, or using hyperbole to create even more anguish and drama? Thirdly, pretty much everything the author writes is regurgitated from info already in the public domain, ie from widely circulated news stories. Nothing much new here. And fourthly, the author adopts a superior Daily Mail-esque tone of outrage thoughout, yet is not above profiting from retelling the harrowing tale of a very dysfunctional family. Worse still, the book is not narrated by the person who actually went through this experience (like 3096 Days, for example), nor has it been written a respectful number of years after the deaths of all those involved. Oh no- this book is about a family which still is alive, and a child who I reckon we can safely assume is not yet over her ordeal. It smacks of the most hideous kind of intrusive, greedy journalism: you know, the kind of hack that takes photos of grieving people or camps outside the doorsteps of the bereaved. Horrible stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An indictment of the Jeremy Kyle society, 23 Sep 2013
I bought this book without reading the other reviews, because the subject interested me. Having read the reviews, I am compelled to write my own. The book is being criticised for not being about Shannon; ok, a couple of points. Firstly, read the title - it isn't about Shannon as much as it is about how she was betrayed from birth. By definition it is therefore going to look at why she was betrayed from birth, and the main reason was the family she was born into. Ergo, it is going to focus on her mother. Secondly, there is naturally going to be a very limited amount of information about Shannon herself - she is a small child (or was when the book was written) and was therefore subject to certain protections in the legal process; there is only limited information about her available, and quite right too, she deserves to retain that protection surely? I do agree that it perhaps suffers from not having the benefit of being written by somebody with more personal involvement in the case at the time. But, I found it to be rather fascinating. It drills home the sad sad facts; here was a woman who not only orchestrated the abduction of her own child for financial gain, but happily milked the sympathy and support of good people, and greedily ripped open aid envelopes sent to her to go and spend the cash on more alcohol from the shop. Here is a little girl sat upstairs discussing with her sibling whether they think they will get fed that night or not, whilst the adults of the house sit downstairs getting drunk. The book does have a judgemental feel to it, but not half as much as it should. I actually thought the author was very reserved and offers insufficient condemnation really. I would recommend this book, it does cover the whole story, and it opens you eyes as to what a perversely lucky escape Shannon ended up having by being taken into care and a new life at the conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not waste your hard earned money on this drivel, 16 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If your favourite programme in the whole world is 'Jeremy Kyle' this may be the book for you. If you find your life is not complete with a cliche every few hundred words you are about to enter the pearly gates of heaven. If you enjoy really really bad journalism which is one sided and poorly written and full of shocking insincere sentimental garbage you will probably read this book regularly over the years. If none of the above applies/you have a life/you like just a hint of intelligent writing in your books I am afraid to say you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sensationalist pap, 20 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't really know how accurate an account this book is but it is very poorly written, the author is judgemental and even though the book is called Shannon, the focus is all on the Mother, Karen. This book is really only suitable for readers of the Sun and Daily Mail newspapers. Shame you can't pulp ebooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where is Shannon?, 29 Nov 2011
By 
Miss W. Merrymoon "Willow Merrymoon" (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I read this book I didn't really learn anything that I hadn't heard before, but reading it all in sequence, seeing the events unfold, witnessing the unbelievable cold-heartedness of this woman, is shocking. I got very upset reading it. What I found most interesting about it was that although the title is 'Shannon - Betrayed From Birth' - the focus of the book is the mother. In the book it talks about Shannon being the forgotten child, overlooked, neglected, and in a bizarre way, she is to quite a degree overlooked here, a mirroring of Shannon's life. As a mother myself, as a human being, I will never understand how any parent can be so evil, callous, uncaring and completely without conscience. A sickening yet riveting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big shock, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shannon - Betrayed From Birth (Kindle Edition)
This was a real shock to how a mother could do this to her child. I was glued to this story from the first to the last page.how wonderful how the community came together in the search for Shannon. I was really interested how the police dealt with all the changes from day to day in the time of Shannon's disappearance to suspecting her mother at an early stage and keeping her under close observation in press interviews. I would like to think Shannon will have a good life with people who will care for her and show her affection and love her very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply unbelievable, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shannon - Betrayed From Birth (Kindle Edition)
Of course most people were aware of the case of missing Shannon Matthews. Most were duped into feeling totally heartbroken for everyone involved especially her mother. So, i did not really think i would find out anything different from this book but was still interested. However this gives a great insight into the hard work of police and family and friends involved but also the daily life of Karen Matthews. I found this book totally addictive and read it all over the space of one day and a night. Truly heartbreaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shannon - Betrayed From Birth (Kindle Edition)
Found it hard to put down.I don't always write reviews ,but just thought I had to here.I actually live in Dewsbury moor ,just 3 streets away from where they lived ,although I didn't know the family I would just like to point out that all Dewsbury folk are not the same ,and all Dewsbury moor I sent the same . I have 2kids nd have been married to my husband for 33years .I don't live in a council house ,I live in a beautiful 200 year old cottage ,so most of the residents who live on the moor are nothing like Karen Mathews and most of the houses are nice and well looked after . I would also like to point out that there sent any Lisbon barley car ,the couple that there were are shut down now and the area is an Asian community.some of the areas mentioned in the book have the wrong names also.so just wanted to say that Dewsbury is not such a bad place to live ,we have some beautiful parks ,and lots of great big old mansion houses ,and don't forget we live in the beautiful Bronte area ,just around the corner.proud to be a Dewsbury an that family could have lived anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shannon - Betrayed From Birth
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews