Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Insight Into a Great Man
I love Arsene Wenger. I love what he's done with my beloved Arsenal, love the football we've produced (through good and not so good years) so it was a real pleasure for me to read about this usually very private man's life. I've enjoyed this book immensely, and can't wait until it is updated sometime in the (hopefully) near future, Good luck Arsene, the real Arsenal fans...
Published 16 months ago by Sess

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Professor
I'm not an Arsenal supporter, I'm not ever a Londoner; I am, however, a football fan and a massive Arsene Wenger fan at that. From reading this book, it is blatantly apparent that Wenger has changed the shape of football in England. His implementation towards diet at the time was unheard of, especially considering the club's drink culture, is a forward step and has...
Published on 12 July 2010 by Teddy Ludford


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Professor, 12 July 2010
I'm not an Arsenal supporter, I'm not ever a Londoner; I am, however, a football fan and a massive Arsene Wenger fan at that. From reading this book, it is blatantly apparent that Wenger has changed the shape of football in England. His implementation towards diet at the time was unheard of, especially considering the club's drink culture, is a forward step and has enhanced many premiership footballers' careers today.
The author, Zavier Rivoire, is somebody who I've always enjoyed listening to, whether on the radio or on the television. He is also, like Wenger, a French man, and is probably one of a very few journalists to ever get close to Mr. Wenger. The book is a hugely interesting insight into Wenger's childhood, and also illustrates Wenger's hugely successful pre-Arsenal career, of which isn't always made common knowledge by the British media. It's also a very well researched book, in which Rivoire has used a vast amount of people from all over the world that includes ex footballers and international journalists. Rivoire depicts Wenger as a highly intellectual person often referring to Wenger's economics degree which he obtained as a young man. This in itself separates Wenger from the stereotype of the dumb footballer, and highlights Wenger as a lonesome, but deep thinking man.
In an era where young footballers are seemingly quick to write their memoirs, it is perhaps ironic that Wenger has claimed that he is too young to write his autobiography. Therefore, whilst we wait for a book in Wenger's own hand writing, be sure to check out this adequate, but informative substitute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Insight Into a Great Man, 12 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arsene Wenger: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
I love Arsene Wenger. I love what he's done with my beloved Arsenal, love the football we've produced (through good and not so good years) so it was a real pleasure for me to read about this usually very private man's life. I've enjoyed this book immensely, and can't wait until it is updated sometime in the (hopefully) near future, Good luck Arsene, the real Arsenal fans will always be behind you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Wenger, 13 Aug. 2011
This book is a great reflection of a great football manager. It just doesn't tell you about Mr. Wenger's achievements with different football clubs, but also his ways of getting best out of an ordinary player. This book gives deep insight into Arsene's ideology. Even though Arsenal haven't been able to clinch a trophy in last six seasons, but I feel that what he has achieved with such a tight budget, any manager would take bow to Mr. Arsene Wenger. It really is a must read book to any football fanatic fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A THOUGHTGFUL BIOGRAPHY, 28 Jun. 2013
I am not an Arsenal supporter, but enjoy reading books about football. This is a very good and thoughtful biography of the Arsenal manager-Arsene Wenger- It provides an insight into the personality of the man, as much as insights are allowed by this very private man. The format of the book is not to give blow by blow accounts of all of his seasons, but a considered view of his rise up the football management ladder. His attention to detail over all aspects of footballers lives is interesting, and thought-provoking.
Overall if you want to read a book about what makes Arsene Wenger tick, then this is certainly the book for you, and even more so if you are an Arsenal supporter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arsene Wenger The Biography, 20 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arsene Wenger: The Biography (Kindle Edition)
Xavier Rivoire, gets right to the heart of his fellow Frenchman, and Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger in this well written biography. If your not an Arsenal fan, but are interested in how managers work, this book is as good as any on the Gunners boss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book, 16 April 2008
This is a great book to read especially if you are a fan of Arsene Wenger. You will get to read about the amazing life that he has had as a footballer and as a manager and it is amazong to read about how hard he has worked to get there. I would reccomend it any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WELL WORTH A READ FOR ANY FOOTBALL FAN, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
INTERESTING BIOGRAPHY AND WELL WORTH A READ TO UNDERSTAND THE MAN AND HIS THOUGHTS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arsene Wenger the Great. Underrated and an unfairly criticized manager!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arsenal Wenger The Biography, 13 Nov. 2014
By 
VICTOR (WALTON-ON-THE-NAZE,ESSEX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pleased with the whole transaction from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book got for my husband who is an arsenal fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arsene Wenger: The Biography
£6.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews