Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BILL NICHOLSON FOOTBALL`PERFECTIONEST
A Wonderful and must have book for all spurs loyal fans really enjoyable,make a great present,a book i will read again and again,many thanks.
Published on 6 Nov 2011 by brutas

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately, it's a matter of fact...
As a supporter who was 'there' when Bill Nicholson's `Super Spurs' were carrying all before them in the early 1960s, I am obviously very interested in that era and have many of the books written to mark the achievements of, arguably, Britain's greatest club side.
As it is now nearly 50 years since the double was won I am aware that this provides a great publishing...
Published on 4 Aug 2010 by Michael J Margetts


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately, it's a matter of fact..., 4 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a supporter who was 'there' when Bill Nicholson's `Super Spurs' were carrying all before them in the early 1960s, I am obviously very interested in that era and have many of the books written to mark the achievements of, arguably, Britain's greatest club side.
As it is now nearly 50 years since the double was won I am aware that this provides a great publishing opportunity and I was particularly keen to obtain a copy of this book by Brian Scovell.
Although it centres on painting a portrait of Bill Nicholson - the man as well as the manager - and to a certain extent succeeds, it is let down by a litany of factual errors and sloppy proof reading.
I give a few examples. In the second picture section the caption refers to Terry Dixon rather than Dyson and a picture captioned: `The Spurs dressing room at half time in the 1967 Cup Final' features Danny Blanchflower talking to Cliff Jones. Anyone who know anything about Spurs knows that Blanchflower had hung up his boots three years earlier.
In the text talking about the second leg of Spurs first European cup tie against Gornik at White Hart Lane it says: `Pohl... soon made the aggregate 5-2'. This is nonsense. Spurs were 4-2 down from the first leg but within 20 minutes had levelled the scores at 4-4 and although Pohl did score possibly the best goal of the match, Spurs were than heading towards an 8-1 victory.
Another glaring error is the assertion that in the 3rd round of the FA Cup in the double season Spurs `scraped through 3-2 against Charlton at The Valley. The match was actually at White Hart Lane.
I could go on but suffice to say that a potentially excellent book is spoiled by lack of proper research. And it is a great pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars should be reclassified as fiction, 4 Mar 2011
how can a writer of 24 books get so much wrong with dates and facts, had to put the book down well before the end , couldnt take anymore , didnt anyone read it through before getting it published ?
my advice to anyone thinking of buying this book is to try the charity shops , they'll pay you to take one away with you, yep , its that bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars awfl book, 16 Dec 2010
While Bill Nic was a perfectionist, the author clearly wasnt
Did you know Man walked on the moon in 1961, no nor did I!
Derby County won the European Cup, news to me
Clyde beat Celtic in the Scottish Cup Final, wish they had, but they didnt

Throughot the book there is inaccurate info.
While a lot of the anecdotes may be true, unfortunately glaring mistakes leave you unsure.

Do not waste your money on this book.
Sadly my son did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BILL NICHOLSON FOOTBALL`PERFECTIONEST, 6 Nov 2011
A Wonderful and must have book for all spurs loyal fans really enjoyable,make a great present,a book i will read again and again,many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bill Nick, one of the greats, not so the book, 7 July 2011
As an ardent and life-long Spurs fan I enjoyed reading this book, as it gave a pretty good insight into Bill and football at the time. However, the book isn't written particularly well, as it keeps jumping out of sequence, going off at a tangent and then a couple of pages later, returns to the story. Other than that, it made for good reminiscing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 10 Jun 2011
It was disappointing that a book to honour the life of the great Bill Nicholson who was such a perfectionist in everything he did should have so many errors and imperfections.

It was frustrating to read the basic factual errors in a book written by a distinguished football writer. I had expected better and Bill Nicholson deserved so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but with factual mistakes/typos, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Nicholson: Football's Perfectionist (Kindle Edition)
This is good interesting book, but to me is spoilt with factual errors or typos. For instance talking about the 67 FA Cup Final, it mentions that Bobby Smith had taken injections all week to play - funny that as he had left and retired years earlier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Tottenham Hotspur, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Nicholson: Football's Perfectionist (Kindle Edition)
Every Tottenham supporter should read this book, on the greatest man ever to manage our football club.A truly dedicated Spurs man the likes we will never see again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Hero, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Nicholson: Football's Perfectionist (Kindle Edition)
Ive not had this long but i couldn't put it down. This man is a legend and my all time hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Was Simply: 'Mr Tottenham Hotspur', 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Nicholson: Football's Perfectionist (Kindle Edition)
Bill Nicholson was 'Mr Tottenham Hotspur.' No manager has got near to matching his list of achievements at White Hart Lane, and it's doubtful they ever will. The Glory, Glory Years are captured here in this biography, and I found it an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews